Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No brainer for any VCP, 11 Oct 2011
I've read both this and the vSphere 4.1 original version. Whilst quite a lot of content is the same, it is still very much worth reading to understand how some components of HA have been completely re-written.

A must have for any VCP.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So you think you know HA, DRS and also SDRS, 10 Aug 2011
This review is from: VMware vSphere 5 Clustering Technical Deepdive (Kindle Edition)
The book is available in Black and White, Colour and also for the Kindle. I opted for the full fat colour version which I ordered from the USA as it wasn't available in the UK. The full colour version doesn't disappoint due to the sheer amount of diagrams used to explain some of the concepts.

Chapters 1 through 9 go through vSphere High Availability (HA) and also go in depth over the changes in HA with vSphere 5. No longer do we have the concept of primary and secondary nodes and the issues that can arise in the event of losing all primary nodes. vSphere 5 HA was completely re-written and uses FDM (Fault Domain Manager) which has the concept of master and slave nodes within a cluster. The book also goes in depth about the new HA datastore heartbeat which can be used in the event of loss of the management network. HA is one of those features that people take for granted since it can pretty much be configured with a few clicks and "just works". These chapters go into the inner workings of HA and are a must for anyone designing vSphere environments.

Chapters 10 through 19 go in depth, and I mean really in depth, in the changes to Distributed Resource Scheduler DRS within vSphere 5. Once again, DRS is one of those technologies than can be enabled with a few clicks and pretty much forgotten about. These chapters explain every inch of DRS and how it goes about making the decisions that ultimately affect where a VM is migrated or a host is powered down to save power consumption. Some of the concepts can be quite difficult to follow but nearly all discussions are followed up with flow diagrams that further explain the theory. I found myself having a read some sections a couple of times to let the information sink in and then the flow diagrams reinforced it.

Chapters 20 through to 26 explain about the new vSphere Storage DRS (SDRS). This is a new feature in vSphere 5 that allows monitoring of datastores for disk space and disk latency and either make recommendations or, in automatic mode, perform the actual recommendation. SDRS will ensure all datastores are load balanced for disk IO and space as best it can whilst also taking into consideration any affinity or anti affinity rules you have. The chapters explain all setting (including advanced) that you have at your disposal and how certain decisions can affect others.

Once again, the guys have produced an excellent technical resource that just shows that HA, DRS and SDRS are extremely useful and advanced features of vSphere that all production environments should utilize.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, Clear, Concise book for any VMware admin, 16 July 2011
This review is from: VMware vSphere 5 Clustering Technical Deepdive (Kindle Edition)
I purchased this book to get up to speed with the latest changes with regards to clustering in vSphere 5. The book is very well written, clear and concise. One of the best aspects to the book are the supporting diagrams that really help you grasp the discussed concepts.

Duncan and Frank are well known bloggers in the VMware community and are very open for any further questions or discussions you may have whilst or after reading the book.

I highly recommend anyone who administors or install VMware vSphere on a daily basis reads this book to ensure they understand what's going on under the hood of what initially may seem some very simple technology.

Barry Coombs - VMware vExpert - virtualisedreality.com
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An essential book for those virtualisation admins, 26 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: VMware vSphere 5 Clustering Technical Deepdive (Kindle Edition)
This is the 3rd book by Frank and Duncan I've bought and they never disappoint in providing a really helpful perspective on the why and wherefore's of VMware HA.

Excellent value for money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 13 April 2013
This review is from: VMware vSphere 5 Clustering Technical Deepdive (Kindle Edition)
Well written and informative whilst making things sound much easier than they often sound thanks very much for the effort that has gone into this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Technical Resource, 31 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I cannot recommend this book enough, if you are thinking of doing a VS implementation this should be one of the two books you should buy, the other being VMware VSphere Design. Once you have read both of these cover to cover you will be ready to do your implementation. The book is hard going but that is just due to the shear amount of information being conveyed and the level of detail that is gone into.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Top notch book, 16 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A fantastic book covering vSphere 5 in great detail. This book is a must for any administrator or designer involved with vSphere 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best from the best, 20 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: VMware vSphere 5 Clustering Technical Deepdive (Kindle Edition)
I purchased this book not once but twice as due to it coming in both paperback and kindle version I used my paperback for quick reference whilst doing my VCP5 upgrade preparations and am currently using the kindle version for my more in depth VCAP5 preparations. This book is written by two of the biggest names in virtualisation and they haven't disappointed by going from the basics for those just learning about HA and DRS,what has changed from vSphere 4 and even VI3 and in remarkable detail for those of us who have been using the technology for years and are looking for those advanced configurations and understanding to take our knowledge to that next level for customer deliveries and the VCAP and VCDX accreditations.

The cost of the book compared to the value makes it a steal as you will be referring back to it constantly and after having read it will have a new in depth understanding of it all which will enable you to make the best decisions for your company/customers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What to know HA, DRS and SDRS inside out, forwards and backwards then this is the book for you., 6 May 2012
This book will tell you all you need to know about HA, DRS and SDRS and how each of these features interact and with one another. Some of the topics and formulas in this book are difficult to grasp with just the written explanations so the authors have created many, many diagrams and this in my opinion is where they excel. The diagrams throughout the book are amazing but some are particularly outstanding, for example the HA timeline clocks on pages 54-55 and the reservations and limits diagram on page 190 are simply poster worthy.

An excellent book from two of the most respected bloggers in the VMware community. I can easily recommend this book to anyone who works with vSphere 5.

@jfrmilner [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews