Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Superb, for Kindle 3, but very hit and miss accessibility to Italian texts on Kindle 4
READ BELOW * FOR COMMENT RE KINDLE 4 suitability
This must be the third Italian-English Kindle dictionary I have looked at and confess to being even more impressed with this than with the Merriam Webster, which I thought was good, even at nearly £5. However, this is MUCH bigger, and consequently contains a great many more entries and more complex/subtler definitions...
Published on 22 Aug. 2011 by S. J. Williams

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A little Cumbersome
I love the fact the my Kindle knows of its own accord that I'm reading an Italian book and automatically selects the correct dictionary.

But ... it's a little cumbersome. If you click on a word that is a part of another word it takes you to a definition of that part (e.g: "volta" = "second-person singular imperative of voltare". You then have to click the...
Published on 28 Jan. 2012 by technophobe


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars complicated, 3 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Electronic Italian Dictionary (Electronic Dictionaries Vol. 2) (Italian Edition) (Kindle Edition)
Maybe I am being dozy but found this dictionary quite tricky to use however having an italian
book on my Kindle it was very useful so no complaints really.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A boon for language learners, 9 Sept. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Electronic Italian Dictionary (Electronic Dictionaries Vol. 2) (Italian Edition) (Kindle Edition)
The prompt lookup makes reading a foreign language much less of an efforty than it would otherwise be. Contrary to some comments, the dictionary works perfectly on a Kindle Touch (I imagine it is cumbersome on other Kindles), and gives definitions of the verb for most (but not all) conjugated forms. The exceptions are indeed annoying, eg. plurals of past participles are simply recorded as 'plural of X'. The word 'anche' is certainly present.

I'd love to see the idea carried through: to truly compendious dictionaries which gave the right definition every time, including etymologies and articulating a word when you looked it up, fixing its pronunciation in your mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not for the iPad Kindle?, 24 Oct. 2012
By 
I. Sanderson (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Electronic Italian Dictionary (Electronic Dictionaries Vol. 2) (Italian Edition) (Kindle Edition)
Bought this for the iPad, but seemed to have little functionality - no contents page or search facilities, so pretty unusable. Perhaps an instructions section might be helpful if the advertised features are in fact available on the iPad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great help!, 5 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Electronic Italian Dictionary (Electronic Dictionaries Vol. 2) (Italian Edition) (Kindle Edition)
For the price this is a very good, if quite simple, dictionary. Works well on Kindle. Enables me to read Italian texts very quickly now, with great ease - and my understanding of the language has improved dramatically.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars ... enjoyable rather than a chore - so quick & easy to look up a word without distracting from your ..., 29 Dec. 2014
By 
M. E. WILLIAMSON (Suffolk, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Electronic Italian Dictionary (Electronic Dictionaries Vol. 2) (Italian Edition) (Kindle Edition)
Makes reading Italian novels on the Kindle enjoyable rather than a chore - so quick & easy to look up a word without distracting from your reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 31 Oct. 2014
This review is from: An Electronic Italian Dictionary (Electronic Dictionaries Vol. 2) (Italian Edition) (Kindle Edition)
This dictionary did not find basic words I was looking for. I wouldn't recommend it to people with rudimentary Italian.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mostly OK, 9 Aug. 2011
This review is from: An Electronic Italian Dictionary (Electronic Dictionaries Vol. 2) (Italian Edition) (Kindle Edition)
This dictionary is quite large and so contains most common words. It was easy to make it my default dictionary so that I can now position the cursor on a word and find the translation. However, it has one disappointingly kludgy feature.

With verbs and other words derived from verbs, it will only give the translation for the infinitive of the verb. Thus, if you have a verbal word that is not the infinitive (e.g. 1st person, present indicative) you are told what the infinitive is and then have to scroll through page after page of lists of the possible inflexions of the verb to get to the infinitive - and thus the meaning. It's OK but not much quicker than using a printed dictionary.

Apart from that, it's good value for the £[].
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 28 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Electronic Italian Dictionary (Electronic Dictionaries Vol. 2) (Italian Edition) (Kindle Edition)
Great as a dictionary but doesn't seem to function as a primary dictionary on my kindle
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A useful but faulty tool, 11 Mar. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Electronic Italian Dictionary (Electronic Dictionaries Vol. 2) (Italian Edition) (Kindle Edition)
It seems to me that a Kindle has minor advantages over normal paper books in English, but in the area of reading foreign texts it's head and shoulders above the paper equivalent because you can instantly translate a word leading to a much faster and more satisfying experience.
I have used this dictionary to read Italian Easy Reader: Omicidio alla moda (Italian Edition) to my huge satisfaction and now I am reading Italian Easy Reader: L'amore ritorna e ti uccide. (Italian Edition). I do wish the dictionary was a little better. Even simple words like "anche" which means "also" are missing. I can see that translating every single variation of every verb might make the dictionary slow but if you come across a word like "staremo" (meaning we will stay)it doesn't give you even a little hint. Some words, for instance "labbra" are insufficiently translated; in this case as "labia" rather than the more obvious "lips". Sometimes the translated word is missing the first letter. I'd pay more for a better dictionary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews