Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Petula Clark
Excellent collection going back to the early days of Sailor and through the excellent Hatch / Trent years. Petula Clark is very underrated. Only obvious track missing is YA YA Twist a cover of the Lee Dorsey classic.
Published on 26 April 2012 by Boring Old Fart

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star
Great
Published 3 months ago by Karl


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Petula Clark, 26 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent collection going back to the early days of Sailor and through the excellent Hatch / Trent years. Petula Clark is very underrated. Only obvious track missing is YA YA Twist a cover of the Lee Dorsey classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great singer, 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Remember hearing these songs in my youth, Petula has a lovely voice, songs are very catchy and timeless. Great cd to play in car.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Manchester memories., 13 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
How well I remember when Downtown was first released that I travelled up to Manchester to see Leeds United play at Old Trafford.
It was in the days before M5 and M6 were built so the trip from London was hard work. On getting into the ground the fog came down and was accentuated by the trains on the neighbouring railway line. It seemed that the match might well be abandoned because of the weather conditions but the crowd were kept happy with Petula's voice ringing out above the ground and massive cries of "Downtown" echoing out from every section of the crowd. I rather think Leeds may have won but it is not that that I remember. Far better was the music and the singer. It made the return journey bearable. Eat your heart out Beyoncé and Lady Gaga. Neither of you could ever have made that impression on me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ultimate Collection Of A Performer, 20 Feb. 2013
By 
ACB(swansea) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Petula Clark is a singer, artist, actress and personality. She stands head and shoulders with her contempories. Her elegance and off the record private life epitomise her career. Versatile and fluently delivering her songs as a chantreuse. 'Downtown' encapsulates her catalogue of songs given and sung to the highest level. Many of these were 'hits' but the other numbers are just as much a personal statement of her gift. 'If I Only Had Time', 'It Don't Matter to Me' and 'Beautiful' are additions to Petula's repertoire of her golden hits 'I Couldn't Live Without Your Love' and the others that make this remarkable and I look forward to her new release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Memories of Old., 13 May 2014
By 
Dr. J. Z. Blankenstein "Lightkeeper" (Wiltshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this having heard Petula interviewed on R4 recently about a remake of "Downtown" (which I think is better than the original, great when you consider she's now 80 years old!). All her early good stuff is here. This lady could sing and good songwriting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Downtown: The Collection, 8 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love this CD. Petula Clark is a great singer so I knew that I would enjoy listening to this CD as a lot of her hit songs from the 1960s are featured on it. I can still remember some of the words so I can sing along.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 21 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This album by Pet Clark is probably the best I have every bought, but maybe I am slightly biased, I'm old and nostalgic, and also remember her as a child actress.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 12 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Some fantastic songs from a woman with the most beautiful voice. I bought this simply for "Downtown" but there are a lot of other gems on here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this CD, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love Pet Clark. Hadn't heard her for years and then heard her as background music in a restaurant and took me back to my childhood. Love this CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice one Pet, 27 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Some great, timeless numbers on here from Petula Clark. A real worthwhile journey down memory lane. Great value and would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Downtown: The Collection
Downtown: The Collection by Petula Clark
Buy MP3 Album£5.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews