Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We're Not Likely to Hear its Like Again
"Wall of Sound: The Very Best of Phil Spector 1961-1966, (2011)" pretty well delivers what it promises: the best of the early work of Phil Spector, the famed eccentric American pop music composer/producer whose "wall of sound" style work was an integral part of the sound track of the early 1960s. Spector, of course, is now a convicted killer serving 19 years to life for...
Published on 16 Jan. 2013 by Stephanie De Pue

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
i really like this
Published 5 months ago by hannahmyst


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We're Not Likely to Hear its Like Again, 16 Jan. 2013
By 
Stephanie De Pue (Wilmington, NC USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
"Wall of Sound: The Very Best of Phil Spector 1961-1966, (2011)" pretty well delivers what it promises: the best of the early work of Phil Spector, the famed eccentric American pop music composer/producer whose "wall of sound" style work was an integral part of the sound track of the early 1960s. Spector, of course, is now a convicted killer serving 19 years to life for the murder of actress Lana Clarkson. However, the music technique which he invented back then basically involved backing up his contracted powerful-voiced rock singers, in his legendary Gold Star studio, with full orchestral sound: he called his productions `mini symphonies for teenagers.' This still-popular material has, of course, been sliced and diced many times, and has been widely available in other formats, under other titles. But it is significant that this remastered album was finally, apparently only released shortly after the end of long bitter litigation with his ex-wife Ronnie Spector, about this mad genius's material.

For sure, and it goes without saying, it's not easy to look at Phil Spector as simply a music producer these days. But the material deserves that we try. To me, it is some of the greatest material recorded then, and, as is the case with much of my very favorite music, I've got this album on vinyl, dating from its initial release. One thing to bear in mind in listening to this material is not to place too much credence in the listed performers: Spector always played fast and loose with his contract singers. Those songs listed as being by The Ronettes were undoubtedly voiced by Ronnie, but her backup singers were not necessarily the relatives of hers that made up The Ronettes. They might have been the wonderful foghorn-voiced Darlene Love, or Sonny and Cher, who began their careers with Spector. Similarly, those tracks attributed to The Crystals frequently had Love in the foreground, and her own backing group known as The Blossoms, or Sonny and Cher, in the background. And Bob B. Soxx and the Blue Jeans: well, that was Darlene Love and her mega voice, too. (I've read and reviewed, in fact own, Ronnie Spector's memoir Be My Baby: How I Survived Mascara, Miniskirts, and Madness, or My Life as a Fabulous Ronette, and Darlene Love's as well, My Name Is Love: The Darlene Love Story: neither one of them easy to find.) Anyway, here, nicely remastered, are not only Spector's greatest hits from this period, but also the Ronettes', Ronnie Spector's, the Crystals', and Darlene Love's.

You get "He's a Rebel," by The Crystals; "Da-Doo Ron Ron" by The Crystals; "Be My Baby" by The Ronettes; "Then He Kissed Me," by The Crystals; "Today I Met The Boy I'm Gonna Marry," by Darlene Love; "Baby I Love You," by The Ronettes; "He's Sure the Boy I Love," by The Crystals, "Zip-A-Dee-Doo-Dah" by Bob B. Soxx and The Blue Jeans; "Wait til' My Bobby Gets Home" by Darlene Love. Also "Walking in the Rain" by The Ronettes, "Uptown" by The Crystals, "Why Do Lovers Break Each Other's Hearts?" by Bob B. Soxx and The Blue Jeans; "Do I Love You" by The Ronettes; "A Fine, Fine Boy" by Darlene Love; "The Best Part of Breaking Up" by The Ronettes; "There's No Other Like My Baby," by The Crystals and "Not Too Young to Get Married" by Bob B. Soxx and The Blue Jeans.. And, for good measure, The Righteous Brothers'iconic "You've Lost that Loving Feeling," with backing by Darlene Love. Plus Ike and Tina Turner's immortal take of "River Deep, Mountain High." If you love this music, this is as good a way as any to get it. We're not likely to hear its like again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Blast From the Past, 2 Feb. 2015
By 
Thespionic "Thespionic" (West Country) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For most of us older generation, this album brings back all the memories of our childhood and those teenage years but this music has never aged and still sounds so fresh and with a wonderful clarity. The sound is instantly recognizable as `Spector'.
PhiI Spector was born in the Bronx from a Jewish family. His songs achieved 25 top 40 hits - he not only produced these but wrote several as well. Best known for his work with the Ronettes & Crystals, he also had major successes with his work for the Beatles. He has won just about every award possible - including the `Hall of Fame.'
These days of course, he's lost his speech, lost his hair and lost his liberty! Yet another victim of the rock & roll culture?
He is now75 and apparently very frail; he'll be 88 before he's offered parole - that event now seems very unlikely?
Enough of that! I just wanted to say what great songs he produced:
- Do Doo Ron Ron
- Be My Baby
- Then He Kissed Me
- Baby I Love You
- Why Do Lovers
- Do I Love You
Not to mentioned those stupendous classics from The Righteous Brothers & Ike & Tina Turner.
Phil may well be fading away in a Californian jail but his music is as vibrant as ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars wall of sound., 11 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
it makes a pleasant change to hear the old songs.one of the best songs on this d v d is ike and tina turners, "river deep and mountain high" its still a great song today,as are the others on the d v d ,
thanks,t j mason
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 23 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love this cd with great uplifting tracks. I would highly recommend it to anyone into. 60s music. It brings back happy memories
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars big nostalgia trip, 4 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I grew up with this music and was worried it would be re-mastered and ruined. No need - the wall of sound comes over magnificently despite modern technology.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Wall of Sound and the Alien, 16 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good. No more to say, apart from inside pics of Phil Spector make him look like an alien. ( which he was of course).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars all the tracks are classics and sound amazing., 26 April 2015
By 
Mr. M. P. Harney (Morayshire, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The man is a genius for his invention of the wall of sound, all the tracks are classics and sound amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific, 26 Mar. 2015
By 
Mrs. S. Walsh (LIVERPOOL ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just brilliant what a producer Phil Spector is/was .
Great tunes , well worth the money, buy it !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Memory Card, 25 Aug. 2014
By 
Tom Hannan (Stonehaven, Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wall Of Sound: The Very Best Of Phil Spector 1961-1966 (MP3 Download)
Absolutely brilliant - it fascinated me back in the 60s; still fascinated - a wall of sound indeed...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 Sept. 2014
By 
Mrs. P. Hamilton (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you love the Sound of Spector, this is for you; Great memories!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews