Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars thought provoking
Rachel Maddow outlines some thought-provoking trends in American military culture; as a Canadian looking in from the outside, this book changed some of my perceptions about the American military-machine. I highly recommend this book for people worldwide who are looking for a deeper understanding of the behemoth that is the American military. Maddow's style is engaging and...
Published on 3 July 2012 by Still suffering

versus
3 of 147 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Jeers------ she refuses to give any right wing institutions a full thumbs up
Look she wrote about how the US built so many missiles to compete with the USSR and she calls it like necessary but bizarre too. Huh? What was so bizzare about the US building lots of nukes to compete with the soviets?
Other problems abound in this bad left-wing book by this not nice lady.
Published on 22 Mar. 2012 by Man of truth


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars thought provoking, 3 July 2012
This review is from: Drift: The Unmooring of American Military Power (Kindle Edition)
Rachel Maddow outlines some thought-provoking trends in American military culture; as a Canadian looking in from the outside, this book changed some of my perceptions about the American military-machine. I highly recommend this book for people worldwide who are looking for a deeper understanding of the behemoth that is the American military. Maddow's style is engaging and smart, without being overly pretentious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing book on how separating military from civilian life has caused problems with US military power, 3 Jun. 2012
I read this book as I had nothing to do during the holiday - however I do recommend reading this as it has an interesting central idea: namely that the US has been moving to separate civilian life from 'martial life' which has caused problems in a wider range of US politics. Without going into too much detail it spends a bit of time coming from the US constitution how all wars should be fought with civilians to allow the people to know what they are fighting for (loosely paraphrased). It spends a bit of time showing how various legal manoeuvres have ensured that civilians are not involved in understanding what the military does any more so that they are not involved in what is presented as major policy issues.

It gives a summary of why this has happened, and it shows the rise of private military contractors. The methods that successive US presidents have used to unilaterally declare war, or even what it sounds like illegally or clandestinely conduct 'wars' is quite scary. The descriptions of the private contractors as worrying suggesting that the US can "outsource" the war without taking responsibility, and there is sections suggesting that these contractors are immune from laws, and seem to not actively help the military but also contribute to sexual slavery if not outright paedophilia.

I'm not sure what the only other current review that is 1 star is on about because it doesn't even seem to review the central thesis of this book. I would state that it is better to actually read the book (lend it from a library if you need to) than fall into the right wing/left wing trap.

The argument seems to be well written down, and seems to suggest that the US needs to connect their people again with the idea of war so that wars are waged for the right reasons and everyone is behind it rather than paying mercenaries to wage war by proxy.

I highly recommend this interesting book to read. It is at least thought provoking even if you do not agree with its idea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Eye opener, 24 Nov. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Many events pass by without much attention in the media. This is a major one. You see separate instances unfolding but you are not sufficiently focused to connect the dots.
Well, this book does that. The writer has a clear left wing bias. Regardless the facts she presents are undeniable. The book exposes the coming true of the worst fears of the founding fathers. I.e. an imperial power of the president to wage wars as if he were a king.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Writing style didn't turn me on but framing of content did, 12 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drift: The Unmooring of American Military Power (Kindle Edition)
Maddow writes like she would present her show. While the show's presentation style works, transferred to paper the writing style didn't sit well with me from the beginning. But I kept faith with the author's wandering wilfulness in the framing of content. It was only these, I think, that made the subject matter interesting enough (for me).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Drift, 15 Aug. 2013
By 
Ms. P. Brogan - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was bought as a present . Person it was bought for rated it a Five. I cannot say anything more . It was not for me
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 147 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Jeers------ she refuses to give any right wing institutions a full thumbs up, 22 Mar. 2012
Look she wrote about how the US built so many missiles to compete with the USSR and she calls it like necessary but bizarre too. Huh? What was so bizzare about the US building lots of nukes to compete with the soviets?
Other problems abound in this bad left-wing book by this not nice lady.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews