Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars77
3.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 July 2013
Good product but be sure to read instructions re putting kitchen roll plug in spike to reduce flow a litre bottle will last about a week-10days.
0Comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2014
They work well after some trial and error. The water flow seems dependent on how well you stuff the spike and the quality of kitchen towel you use. [ Three squares of good quality seemed to do the trick] The spikes do not fit all bottles well even with the adaptors but a goodly application of sealant seemed to work.
A 2litre bottle seems to last the week quite well.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2014
We were very disappointed with this product, we followed all the advice and tips about stuffing the spikes with kitchen roll but after many trials with different amounts of paper we have given up as the water either flowed out too quickly or sat there for days and went green and stagnant.Good idea but it doesn't work !
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2014
This product is great. If you read the instructions and pack with kitchen towel it works. Will be buying more.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2014
Even using paper towel as described in other reviews, flow rate was so fast pots were flooded within an hour of putting in spikes.
11 comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2015
Trick here is to make a very small hole in the bottom of the bottle otherwise you will get a vacuum and the water may stop and bottle collapse. Use two kitchen towels folded and press in top. Fill bottle with water with top screwed on and turn upside down. Alter paper towel density until it drips slowly, make a small hole in the base of bottle. Press in soil and make a little larger just so the soil is not preventing the water to seep out.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2015
Six weeks on I'm still struggling with these. I have not given up entirely but I find the water is either discharged in seconds or not at all. The problem seems to be that the nozzle gets clogged with soil with the weight of the water causing compaction - it's a clay soil. I've been a keen gardener since the 1970s and currently have three allotments (!) and am a confident and knowledgeable especially in growing fruit & veg; I am also a patient person but day after day trying to get these things to work in a cold frame full of aubergines is beginning to seem like a waste of time, although I have not given up yet. Limited range of water bottles fit the screw thread - so far only 50cl sizes seem to work - San Pellegrino and Vittel are OK.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2013
What a great idea, all you need to do is fill up any plastic bottle and screw the spike on the end the turn upside own and it gradually waters your plants, all ou need o do is fill the bottle up when it empty
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2014
Not thrilled very hard to adjust . Quite frankly it woukd be easier to stand tbere with a h ose pipe. Wouldn't buy them again very disappointed.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2015
Extremely hard to judge how much kitchen roll to put in to regulate the flow of water, given it up as a bad job .
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 3 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)