Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Old school detective novel
I tend towards Sci-fi/fantasy, but read this as part of my book club and found it an enjoyable break from the norm. It's a detective novel based in modern-day Scotland, focusing on a young woman, Pat, travelling across the country trying to locate her missing brother and getting caught up in affairs of a crime ring.

The plot doesn't tend to get too bogged down,...
Published on 4 July 2012 by Animefan

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars What lies within
A little predictable and long winded. Characters a little ordinary. I like more suspense knew early on who the bad guys were.
Published on 1 Mar. 2013 by Susanne Breen


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Old school detective novel, 4 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What Lies Within (Kindle Edition)
I tend towards Sci-fi/fantasy, but read this as part of my book club and found it an enjoyable break from the norm. It's a detective novel based in modern-day Scotland, focusing on a young woman, Pat, travelling across the country trying to locate her missing brother and getting caught up in affairs of a crime ring.

The plot doesn't tend to get too bogged down, which keeps the pace quick moving, which is best for books in this genre.

Given that the main characters are regular civilians investigating a crime primarily due to being in the wrong place at the wrong time, I believe fans of old-style snooping hobby-detective stories such as those by Nicci French will enjoy this book the most.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping until the very end, 25 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What Lies Within (Kindle Edition)
Contrary to what you may be led to believe by the cover, this book, although having plenty of scenes set in a church, is barely religious at all. Instead, it touches on some hard-hitting subjects such as affairs, drugs, murder and sexuality.

The main character Pat is easily likeable - she is only young and very naive at the beginning of the book, but she soon grows into a strong and independent young women. When her brother goes missing, she takes it upon herself to find out what has happened to him and unearths a mountain of trouble and corruption as she goes.

I found the book to go at a steady pace, meaning you were never bored or distracted, and she had written the characters personalities very well - some really had me fooled! I was kept guessing right until the end about what was actually going on and I love the way the book ended, leaving you wanting more.I was more than a little suspicious of the DCI, suspicions which were left unfounded, but I enjoyed finding that out along the way.

All in all, this eBook is a fantastic read - especially if you are a big fan of crime fiction like me - the characters are likeable or despicable, depending on their role, the story is quick and edgy; fast-paced and interesting enough to make sure you don't want to put the book down. It focuses on typical 'crime' subjects such as affairs, drugs and of course murder; but the added addition of Pat's sexuality and what it means to the story keeps you gripped to the very end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Still Hoping for a Sequel, 15 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What Lies Within (Kindle Edition)
Really enjoyed this read. The story moved along very well and captured my attention early on. I particularly enjoyed the fact that the story was based in different locations in Scotland and in places that were a bit different from the norm. The plot was very good and the characters were well drawn and believable. I could imagine that the story and characters would transfer well to the screen - it seems just the right type of plot, with plenty of action and without too much 'love interest' to slow the story down. The fact that the main protagonists are brother and sister was an interesting change and I thought that their relationship was well observed. It's been a while since this one was published but I hope that there might still be a sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breathtakingly breathless!!!, 15 Jun. 2012
This review is from: What Lies Within (Kindle Edition)
There are some authors that have a way with words but Audrey Finch weaves a unique and incomparable web of words in her book "What Lies Within." I was totally hooked from the first page to the last. It is one of those book that you just can't put down, and if you do, you just have to pick it right back up again. The story is so amazing, well written and descriptive you just want to re-read it over and over again! I would highly recommend this to all my friends and to readers everywhere. This is a must read!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great read, 9 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What Lies Within (Kindle Edition)
I was hooked! It's been a struggle to find a lesbian themed book that's not just sex or pure cheese! This was my kind of thriller with a little gayness thrown in! Need more books like this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A really good page turner, 22 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What Lies Within (Kindle Edition)
Interesting locations and characters that you got to know and wanted to find out more about.
TV producers please take note-potentially a good new crime drama.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Do not buy this book, 26 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What Lies Within (Kindle Edition)
I tried to get into this book after reading previous reviews, I found myself flicking and skim reading hoping it would improve. I gave in half way through. Boring unbelievable plot and characters. Very disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars What lies within, 1 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What Lies Within (Kindle Edition)
A little predictable and long winded. Characters a little ordinary. I like more suspense knew early on who the bad guys were.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Not inspiring, 27 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What Lies Within (Kindle Edition)
The style of writing was very basic and as a result made the book so unchallenging and boring that I could not finish it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a great read, 31 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What Lies Within (Kindle Edition)
got this recommended off the amazon forum and it was superb with really likeable characters and a great storyline which i found hard to put down.well done audrey,how about a sequel?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

What Lies Within
What Lies Within by Audrey Finch
£1.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews