Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to love, 9 Sep 2011
By 
Michael Cater (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Portamento (Audio CD)
The Drums' classification as `surfer pop' has always been pretty confusing. It's based almost entirely on `Let's Go Surfing', the breakthrough hit that through its name alone has put them in a box. The stigma also has roots in the trend towards subjects of sunshine and the beach evoked in the relatively new-fangled chillwave genre. Whilst some of the dynamics of that genre are present in the music here (the hazy, washed out, reverb heavy vibe), and musically the band do owe a debt to The Beach Boys, lyrically and melodically they evoke The Smiths and New Order more than the carefree 60s surf acts that they are more often compared with.

If their first album had at least some relevance to idyllic days spent catching a wave on golden sandy beaches, this doesn't concern itself with that kind of imagery at all. Instead, it focuses on angst, often juvenile and always romantic. This may sound unpromising, but since it's underpinned by some gorgeous melodies and the easy, innocent, wistful voice of the lead singer, the result is actually remarkably affecting. When he sings "I believe that when we die we die/so let me love you tonight" you are entranced rather than cynical. When he cries in high falsetto that "I'd like to buy you something/but I don't have any money", you feel for him rather than desiring him to man up.

Confession and self loathing is equally in vogue as the `blissed out' sounds of chillwave that influence this record. Most of the best evokers of these emotions have been in Hip Hop/RnB (The Weeknd, Drake, Kanye West), but here vulnerable looking indie poppers regain their claim to teenage angst, and most pleasingly do it in the format of the three minute indie pop song, where the light music forms a beautiful paradox to the heavy words. It's a remarkably consistent record, and in an age where we are repeatedly told that the album as a format is dead, maintains a cohesive, emotional sound that works far better as a whole than as separate songs appearing on your Ipod shuffle. I don't think they'll ever release a better album; this encapsulates their sound perfectly, and gets better on every repeated play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surf guitars /Northern English grace...., 10 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Portamento (Audio CD)
No...the Drums arent from England, but large sections of their second LP sound like they hail from Manchester not Noo Yawk. All the elements of their debut are here too, the lively surf guitar riffs and cake-tin drums but with a pulsing,goth-influenced bass guitar sound added on.

Its full of longing,of love affairs gone bad and impossible,impossible youth. The line-up changes confuse, the drummer is now the guitarist, the guitarist now plays synths but hey, it all may be mis-information.

Enjoy the sweet,sweet sound of The Drums....following on from the Summertime EP and their debut from last year
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Beautiful Album, 11 Dec 2011
This review is from: Portamento (Audio CD)
I was a bit worried about hearing their new album, mostly because I loved 'The Drums' so much, and I find that subsequent albums are rarely as good as the first ones. But I was most definitely NOT DISAPPOINTED. It's more serious (less beachy) than the first album, but it still retains all of the qualities that make The Drums so good; I think it's absolutely perfect. I haven't listened to an album that flowed along so well before (apart from maybe their self-titled album!). It's fantastic, and I literally can't get enough of it. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is what is needed today, 10 Sep 2011
This review is from: Portamento (Audio CD)
This album may not be all tastes especially those who loved the bouncy 80s indie pop of the first album. It is very different from the first album. It's darker and more contemplative than the first. The cover kind of gives that away. This record still harks back to the 80s but veers more to Joy Division and The Smiths area than Orange Juice.

the album flows as all albums should and so few do these days. It should tell a story from start to end. At the start things are a little positive 'You are a pretty thing but you're full of fear. Well, not here, no never here'. By the end things are grim 'so do you remember the old times, those were the only times. I don't know how it ended'.

Amidst all this the songs still motor along in typical Drums fashion. I love all the songs but the stand out ones for me are:

'Days' - very New Order about working so hard for someone and getting nothing back.
'Money'- could come from last album but lyrically a bit darker.
'Hard to Love' and 'I Don't Know How to Love' can be put together as the heart break songs.
'If He Likes It Let Him Do It' -cold!

The highlight of the album is 'I Need a Doctor'. Being taken in by someone who ultimately hurts you. All happy stuff!!

To sum up, completely different from first album but a bit more mature also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Why change a winning formula...., 8 Sep 2011
Put simply if you liked the first album then you'll like this, if you didn't then you wont be turned into a Drums fan by listening to Portamento! I personally love both albums this one being perhaps a little more melancholic than their debut...

Standout Tracks for me: 'What you Were', 'I Dont Know How To Love' and the single 'Money'. But as a whole a top album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 23 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Portamento (Audio CD)
I love the style and sound of The Drums

Catchy but basic songs work so perfectly songs like Money and Days are so catchy with great groove based bass lines and great sounding drums and vocals i enjoy every song on the album

Well done to The drums for making a amazing album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars portamento, 19 Dec 2013
This review is from: Portamento (Audio CD)
Really good fantastic group I have bought this bands first 2albums 3 times now not lending them too anyone this time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pop - Tastic, 31 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Portamento (Audio CD)
Each song is a short blast of Beach Boys-esq pop music. This is a great follow up to their debut album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars the drums, 26 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Portamento (Audio CD)
an underrated american band that sound a bit like the smiths,aztec camera,orange juice etc,fans of jangly guitar indie pop/rock should check them out
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!!!!, 5 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Portamento (Audio CD)
The Drums always lives up to expectation, this is no exception...just brilliant. I bought this for my husband but we both love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Portamento
Portamento by The Drums (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews