Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best new British Band since the Answer (part 2)
This album came up as a suggestion alongside the new Black Spiders album and as I'd already called that lot "The best new band since..." I didn't know what to do here because by god this lot are good. Relentless energy filled proper old fashioned rock with a singer who can probably blow up hot water bottles with the sort of lung power he shows here. Although the songs are...
Published on 11 April 2011 by Big Jim

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The Treatment CD
A good rock album that is very well produced, that is OK, but not brilliant.

Obviously and very young band, so perhaps they need a little while to become great.
Published on 9 Feb 2012 by guitarmangler


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best new British Band since the Answer (part 2), 11 April 2011
By 
Big Jim "Big Jim" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Might Hurt (Audio CD)
This album came up as a suggestion alongside the new Black Spiders album and as I'd already called that lot "The best new band since..." I didn't know what to do here because by god this lot are good. Relentless energy filled proper old fashioned rock with a singer who can probably blow up hot water bottles with the sort of lung power he shows here. Although the songs are in a traditional vein there are enough melodic quirks and powerful playing to give them a new youthful sheen. It says much that my ever so hip 13 year old son likes this album as much as his ageing dad so the band have the advantage of crossing the generations, sometimes sounding like Sweet or Slade on speed or occasionally pummelling the eardrums like AC/DC at their best. This album is a treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best new British band since the Answer (part 2), 12 April 2011
By 
Big Jim "Big Jim" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Might Hurt (MP3 Download)
This album came up as a suggestion alongside the new Black Spiders album and as I'd already called that lot "The best new band since..." I didn't know what to do here because by god this lot are good. Relentless energy filled proper old fashioned rock with a singer who can probably blow up hot water bottles with the sort of lung power he shows here. Although the songs are in a traditional vein there are enough melodic quirks and powerful playing to give them a new youthful sheen. It says much that my ever so hip 13 year old son likes this album as much as his ageing dad so the band have the advantage of crossing the generations, sometimes sounding like Sweet or Slade on speed or occasionally pummelling the eardrums like AC/DC at their best. This album is a treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars True British Rock, 15 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Might Hurt (Audio CD)
A great British rock album containing classic riffs and guitar solos. This is the kind of album that the likes of Thin Lizzy or Saxon would have been proud to produce! This album has similarities with the new set of traditional British rock bands that are emerging such as Heavens Basement and Jettblack.

This album is a must for those with long hair, facial hair and who like drinking a good pint!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Been Here Before, 23 Jun 2011
By 
Mr. R. Harper "StThrobber" (Cardiff, Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: This Might Hurt (Audio CD)
Anyone who has listened to Glass Mountain or Grand Hotel by Roadstar might be forgiven for thinking that this is the same band. They seem to play the same riffs and the vocals are very reminiscent of Richie Heavenz. Given that the band's mentor is the same Laurie Mansworth who managed and mentored Roadstar that won't come as any great surprise. A quick search of Youtube and there's even a Treatment version of Ready To Go from Grand Hotel.

That said, that doesn't make this a bad album, far from it. In fact it's a damned pretty good, hard rock album with good songs with good hooks,but Shake The Mountain and Nothing To Lose in particular could both have been recorded by Roadstar and few would tell the difference.

I wish this band well, they certainly have the talent and ability, but I can't escape the similarities with what has come before and I think they need to develop their own sound
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A five star rocking debut., 7 Mar 2011
By 
Mr. R. Pope "riproaringrock.co.uk" (Tring, Herts. UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: This Might Hurt (Audio CD)
Who would miss a free gig? I had the absolute pleasure of seeing The Treatment along with three other great bands on their recent Powerage Records tour which was a generous free entry thanks to the record company. On the back of The Treatment's appearance, I purchased this CD. Live, I found the evening's showcased songs "Departed", "The Doctor", "Just Tell Me Why", "Shake The Mountain" and the sing along anthem "Nothing To Lose But Our Minds" immediate and most memorable. Back home and in the car, the album delivers the same buzz throughout the twelve songs and I love it. This really is an impressive debut. The pace of the songs is varied but never slows completely and kept me interested all the way through it's forty two minutes. Vocalist Matt Jones hugely impresses and has power in droves with a broad range. This band is stadium material in my opinion and this is headbanging hard rock music make no mistake. In conclusion, I would recommend this CD highly and I can't wait to see if they can surpass their first outing. I strongly suspect that within a short period of time I will queuing around the block (and paying) to see them along with thousands of others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Debut!, 16 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Might Hurt (Audio CD)
This album is great...and if you want to check the bands first full album outing this is for you! The Doctor is probably the stand out track. These guys do really cut it live...was very fortunate to see them at the O2 Islington Academy recently..they are destined to be HUGE!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My new favourite band, 22 Dec 2013
This review is from: This Might Hurt (Audio CD)
I first saw these guys supporting Slash back in February and fell in love immediately. The singer reminds me of Bon Scott. I think they are the best new band since Guns n Roses! I bought this album at the gig and have seen them three more times this year. Every song on the album is good which is a rarity, usually there's always a couple of songs you skip over on an album, but not this one! I've just pre ordered their 2nd album & cannot wait. I've already heard a few songs off of it live and it sounds like it's going to be just as good, if not better than This Might Hurt. If you like your Rock; Guns n Roses, Airbourne, AC/DC, Motley Crue etc BUY THIS!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Better than the NHS., 10 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Might Hurt (Audio CD)
A great new talent in ROCK will go see them in December supporting Airbourne another great new talent from Aus
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 18 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Might Hurt (Audio CD)
How good are this band, lets hope they go all the way. Even better live than on this top cd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Class, 23 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Might Hurt (Audio CD)
Wicked cd, from a band with tons of potential!! High quality songs from a brill young band, worth every penny!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

This Might Hurt
This Might Hurt by The Treatment (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews