Customer Reviews


72 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic collaboration
I was looking forward to this album, especially when I heard Otis. The album doesn't disappoint at all. So many great tracks. If you are a fan of either artist you will surely enjoy this!
Published on 21 Nov 2011 by picantogirl

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed
Not many good tunes
Expected the album to have better tracks was disappointed only a couple of good tracks also track list does not display
Published 21 months ago by Dawn Alderson


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic collaboration, 21 Nov 2011
By 
This review is from: Watch The Throne (Audio CD)
I was looking forward to this album, especially when I heard Otis. The album doesn't disappoint at all. So many great tracks. If you are a fan of either artist you will surely enjoy this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Damm did dey do dat, 4 May 2012
This review is from: Watch The Throne (Audio CD)
Ohhh To be honest this was better than expected from the first track I was hooked. When I say better than expected my expectations of jigga has not fell but thougt he may not have passion still. As for kanye well hands down one of the best to do it in this era that's for sheezy. As the album played through track 4 track I was nodding and enjoying the chemistry these two lads put down. A real good effort won't disappoint - peace
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitely lives up to the hype, 18 Aug 2011
By 
D. Diep - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Watch The Throne (Audio CD)
'Watch The Throne' is a dark, sinister album consisting of two of the biggest rap stars in the industry today, Kanye West and Jay-Z. The album starts off with 'Church In The Wild', a moody, bouncy track featuring a chilling chorus from upcoming r'n'b singer Frank Ocean. Already you can tell the production is luscious, expansive and larger-than-life. The next song, 'Lift Off' features Beyonce, mixing synth-heavy production with horns and trumpets, following with a chilled ending that leaves you wanting more. Thankfully track 3, 'Ni**as in Paris', brings back the fiery nature of the two rappers, with large beats and a brilliant breakdown. Kanye tells us that there is much more to come, "You are now watching the throne, don't let me into my zone...". Lead single 'Otis' is a fun throwback to Otis Redding, with a catchy piano melody and both rappers playing off each other. 'Gotta Have It' has excellent production with the Neptunes, and the beat is great. 'New Day' is a track I dislike but many people may like it. It has Aretha Franklin heavily autotuned in the background but IMO it's a bit too slow and dull. 'That's My B**ch' brings the momentum back up again, with Ely Jackson singing a very catchy chorus while you can feel heavy tribal drums pulsating. It's a highlight from the album. 'Welcome To The Jungle' has a great irregular beat that works well. 'Who Gon Stop Me' is a hard-hitting semi-dubstep rap track that definitely sounds great when you turn the bass up. 'Murder To Excellence' is another highlight from the album, and consists really of two songs, both outstanding. The background children chants in the first part sound great, with a dark subject matter and suitably added piano melody towards the middle of the first part of the song. The second part has a different production that sounds just as awesome. 'Made In America' features once again Frank Ocean, a bit soft on the chorus but it's a nice downtempo song. Doesn't really fit in with the album much though. 'Why I Love You' has a catchy chorus thanks to Mr Hudson, although the song doesn't feel that much like a rap song - more like a dance/club song when the chorus kicks in.

All in all an EXCELLENT rap album that anyone who enjoys hip-hop should add to their collection!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First-rate hip hop from the leading heavy-weights, 26 Aug 2011
This review is from: Watch The Throne (Audio CD)
Right now Kanye West is in a similar place to where Dr Dre was in the late 80s and early 90s, when Dre was churning out great albums by NWA, Above the Law and the D.O.C. In the time that Dre has been seeking elusive perfection in forever polishing Detox (will it ever see the light of day?), Kanye has built a whole career, from his early moments of genius on Jay's Blueprint to their current Watch the Throne project. I don't know if the two have ever met, but master-producer Dre could learn something from Kanye's easier, more collaborative approach. Kanye's production fingerprints are all over Watch the Throne, but he happily works with a whole host of other producers, including the unsung hero Mike Dean, who did so much of the underlying work on My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy.

As Chuck D said many years ago: 'All the critics you can hang 'em, I'll hold the rope'. And the critics have been out in their hordes for this one, waiting for the masters of the game to slip. Well, much of what has been written about this is nonsense. This is by no means a perfect record, but which is? (Nothing is perfect in this world Dre, so just drop that Detox and be done with it bro.) Whether it will survive as a hip-hop classic remains to be seen, but for now let's just enjoy some of the great moments on Watch the Throne. Of the 12 tracks on the album proper, most are very good, and a handful brilliant. The weaker moments come with the stabs at commerciality (the Beyonce featuring Life Off and the silly That's My Bitch, and even Otis wears on repeated listening). Some of the strongest tracks are bunched together in the album's great climax, beginning with the astonishing Who Gon Stop Me, where Jay chases the crazy heavy-synth beats; the brilliant 'nah, nah, nah' Swizz Beats hook of Murder to Excellence and its segue into an equally intriguing beat by No ID; the Frank Ocean beautifully crooned Made in America, and the full-blooded roar of Why I Love You. Elsewhere, the Neptunes produced Gotta Have It is a standout, as is the moving RZA-handled New Day, and the enigmatic No Church in the Wild, with its great performance from Frank Ocean.

Kanye's talents have always been in the production department and - although he raised his lyrical game in his last solo album - his rapping here is often disappointing, sounding over-confident and sometimes lazy (success can have its downsides, as 'Ye well knows). Jay, though, kllls it throughout. Kanye is at the top of the production game, and Jay is at the top of his lyrical game, with keen and urgent delivery on every track.

So, forget the haters, the cheap commerciality (dull r'n'b choruses etc.) of much of today's rap output, and enjoy a pioneering real hip hop album, 'cos these boys ain't vacating the throne for some time to come...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Album!, 14 Sep 2011
By 
Keith Mcneill (EDINBURGH) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Watch The Throne (Audio CD)
Its not often that i listen to an album start to finish repeatedly....this album is amazing...from the production to the lyrical content, Kanye and Jay bounce off each other well...each song is completely different from the last, so many styles to keep you hooked, you will not get bored of this album, trust me!
BUY IT!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Such an album, 19 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Watch The Throne (Audio CD)
Got to get this album. It's just sick. Postage yadda yadda yadda was fine. But anyhow, get this album! Worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 2 Giants of the rap world collaborating on an album, the listener is the winner for it, 11 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Watch The Throne (Audio CD)
Kanye and Jay Z collaboration on this album was pure genius. I have not stopped listening to this album since purchasing it.

They bring the talent that make them successful individually to this project and we the listener are the winner for their effort.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic album cheapest price, 2 May 2012
This review is from: Watch The Throne (Audio CD)
If u love kanye or jay z u will love this album. Not one bad song. Also at this price was an absolute steal thanks amazonite!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WTT Album, 21 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Watch The Throne (Audio CD)
Can't stop listening to the album is very good and makes a change from just hearing the singles on the radio etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING!!, 9 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Watch The Throne (Audio CD)
This album is so amazing i suggest you buy it as soon as you can before you are disowned as a music fan!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Watch The Throne
Watch The Throne by Kanye West (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews