Customer Reviews


412 Reviews
5 star:
 (335)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (28)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


920 of 969 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't be a fool
I must say despite the excellent design the content is a huge disappointment. Why? Well like most people who buy this boxset we have already seen them in their complete and unedited glory on the BBC and now UKGold. Wouldn't it be great to have the same episodes to play whenever we desired at home. Think again. Countless episodes are edited to such an extent that...
Published on 27 Sep 2007 by CrazyStreak

versus
211 of 223 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Heavily edited; little resembling original episodes.
Terribly disappointing. If something is advertised as "complete", it should be complete. But this is not. The heavy edits remain, even though the BBC could quite easily arrange for the original episodes to be released as they were originally screened on TV. My message to BBC: release the original episodes, uncut; or stop putting out heavily edited DVDs and then calling...
Published on 12 Aug 2011 by Gareth


‹ Previous | 1 2 342 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

91 of 100 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Thanks Steve From Warrington, 26 Oct 2007
Thanks to Steve from Warrington I have just saved myself near a £100.

I had no idea (and never even thought) that the episodes wouldn't have all the original music in them and figured they would be the same as on the BBC.

Thank you steve. There is no way I will buy this now.

P.S - Notice how your post rating a great comedy 2 stars got a string of helpful votes. 17 or 19 at present. Usually if you say a word out of place you get the "only 1 out of 23" found this helpful treatment. Gievn your stats, I would say a lot of people were shocked and saved a lot of money.

Are you listening BBC. Cheapos!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What a let down, 11 Oct 2011
By 
L. R. Everitt (Essex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Firstly I must say that this collection would have been a fantastic one but sadly due to the BBC once again it fails. I have been a massive fan of Only Fools & Horses since it first appeared on our screens in 1981 but must warn all buyers that so many scenes from most episodes have been edited out which ruined the enjoyment. The BBC has a history of doing this to all of their collections like The Top Gear American Special for instance. The royal flush Special has been totally wrecked as has The Jolly Boys Outing as has Miami Twice. I could go on but the list is endless sadly. When you have seen the complete episode on the BBC you hope to own the same instead you get a complete & utter let down. This review is about the collection & not the seller of this collection. Only Fools & Horses Is & will Always be a fantastic series & because of that worth owning despite the fact that most of the great scenes are missing & also episodes badly edited.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DVD cuts..., 28 Nov 2009
By 
Like many people I'm in two minds about buying this due to other reviewers *negative comments about the editing so I decided to look into it further and found if you search "Only Fools and Horses DVDs" into Wikapedia it gives you a full breakdown of each and every edit including any deleted texts. Apart from the episode "A Royal Flush" most edits seem to be related to musical scores and nothing too relevant removed. If you can live with them this could still be a great purchase. Hope this helps. Peace.

* Worth noting a lot of negative reviews for this boxset are from people responding to other reviewers negative comments along the lines of "thanks for saving me money" etc so they obviously haven't viewed the boxset themselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


62 of 68 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars New box, old discs - the 30th Anniversary Uncomplete, Edited Rip-off., 2 Aug 2011
This review is from: Only Fools and Horses - The Complete Collection [DVD] [1981] (DVD)
As a previous review has said, 2E have confirmed that this 30th Anniversary release is a repack of the current complete boxset.

When OFAH was originally released on VHS, the legal restrictions in place at that time required cuts to be made to some episodes before they could be cleared for home video release. Over the years, new agreements in place mean many of the cuts made are now no longer necessary. The 30th Anniversary would have been a great time to revise the boxset and restore the cut episodes as far as possible.

Unfortunately, although I suspect many OFAH fans would have bought a re-mastered, restored boxset even if they already had the previous release, 2E have decided to simply put the old, sub-standard discs in a new box, no doubt hoping that fans will buy the new release, only to discover that the discs are identical to the previous one.

But then, this is a BBC/2E release, so what do you expect?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


79 of 87 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Chopped to Bits... Again, 27 Oct 2011
This review is from: Only Fools and Horses - The Complete Collection [DVD] [1981] (DVD)
Another re-release with so many scenes edited out. When will a DVD company that cares about this series obtain the rights to release an uncut DVD? Fans of the show have been waiting for so long now.

5 Stars for the original TV series - 1 Star for the shoddy release. This is one of the greatest comedies of all time and it's an insult for it to be released like this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


149 of 165 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars There is a Better Way!, 24 Mar 2008
I'm an avid fan of OFAH. Honestly, you can't whack it! I've read the reviews and am very glad to have not purchased this particular boxed set because I would not enjoy watching the show knowing that scenes are missing.

I did some further research and discovered the legitimate complete series is available at the US Amazon website. It contains the unedited versions of every show plus The Making Of OFAH. Even better, it is almost half the price! It displays in NTSC and is set for region 1 as per the American set up, but that should make little difference nowadays. The box is certainly not as fancy as this version, but does that really matter? It also comes on 18 discs as opposed to this version, which is on 27 discs (apparently). So it is less fancy, but completely original!

Hope this helps!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An amazing comedy that is let down by such a poorly put together collection., 4 Sep 2011
By 
Sarah Wood (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I love Only Fools, grew up watching it with my Dad and still find it just as funny as I did then. John Sullivan was quite simply a genius and thats what makes this collection such a let down as it doesn't give Only Fools the justice it deserves.

If, like me, you have watched Only Fools on the BBC or the endless repeats on UK Gold then you will have seen these episodes in their full unedited glory. I brought this collection as I was moving to Uni and would no longer be able to see them on Gold, plus it would be nice to watch them minus the adverts. However its safe to say this collection is a disappointment.

Episodes are edited with footage missing or original music changed. Why? It ruins the flow of the episode and its saddening to see these changes. Also where are the rare specials and one offs such as Christmas Trees, Licensed to Drill, comic relief etc? Theses would of being welcome additions to this so called complete collection.

If you're really big fan of only fools fan then I'd consider buying this with caution, if you can it for around £30 then its worth it but for any more then I'd keep watching the repeats on Gold and hope for the day that Only Fools will get its true complete collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Only Fools and Horses - The Complete Collection, 28 Jan 2006
By 
John Corbett - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I love this show. I always have, and I always will. We all know the classic moments as they've been broadcast so many times before! Del falling through the bar. The chandelier episode. The episode when they become millionaires. The list of genuine belly-laugh moments spread over the 25 discs in this set is huge, not to mention the moving moments, the surprising depth reached with some of the emotional issues (Cassandra's miscarriage being particularly powerful) and the sheer genius of this milestone in TV comedy history, which managed to run successfully for 22 years (1981-2003). Even The Simpsons hasn't equalled that yet!
Anyway, what you get in this series is all the episodes from all 7 series spread over 9 discs (1 disc for series 1-5, and 2 discs each for series 6 and 7) along with 15 feature-length specials on 1 disc each, and a documentary on the final disc about the story behind the scenes of Only Fools and Horses over the years. I've got to say, this documentary is fascinating viewing, featuring interviews with all the main cast (aside from those who have sadly passed away over the years and who are sorely missed, as is clear from the documentary).
A word must be made about the packaging, which is incredible. You take out the main case from the sleeve, and it opens up like a photo album. The first page is a series of pictures. The second is an introduction, apparently written for Damien by Del, with annotations by Rodney. Subsequent pages contain 4 discs each, with a picture corresponding to the series. You have to see it to believe it, but it really does look like a photo album. As with any good photo album, going through each page takes you back through the memories and the lives of Del and Rodney. The case is very sturdy and well-designed, but also very large compared to most DVD cases, so don't expect to fit it on your shelf.
P>Altogether, this is a fantastic package of an amazing series at a bargain price. If you're a fan, buy it! You won't be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 2 seats, 3 wheels, its the same bloody boxset init!, 23 Aug 2011
By 
Michael Gibson "gibbotta" (swindon uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Only Fools and Horses - The Complete Collection [DVD] [1981] (DVD)
oh dear... unfortunately me ol' muckers BBC have done it again and will continue too do so. for the past decades we have loved and laughed the capers and scams of dell and rodney and the rest of the gang.. i mean to me john sulivan is what albert einstein was to the american's: a genious, completely different work but both alike in one way... They both make bombs? no L.O.L, actually They both caused a big reaction within media and the only differance is John Sulivan did good (and not make bombs).

Now BBC have basically (God rest his soul) pissed on John Sullivans grave with this butchered version of what we all love

this isnt only fool's and horses, this is,only fools did it again

R.I.P John Sullivan

and rest of the team who have passed

and thanks to the BBC and 2entertain, i shall say R.I.P too Only Fools because we will never see the originals again

only this edited garbage we have left to salvage from a pointless wreckage

this is the sort of boxset Del would sell ;)

thank you for reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't possibly be bad could it!!!, 17 Jan 2006
As far as the content goes I cannot complain, except for some editing (mentioned in a previous review). For example, I was annoyed with Miami Vice because when I first watched it, it was minus the canned laughter, but for some reason they shoved it on the DVD, I kind of liked the original version. That's no big deal though. So good to have the whole lot in one big box set, and my word is it one huge box. Don't think it's going to tuck neatly on to your DVD shelf as the box resembles a board game more than it does a DVD set. Well worth it for any fan of the series - 41 + hours of great stuff in a great box!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 342 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only Fools and Horses - The Complete Collection [DVD] [1981]
£35.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews