Customer Reviews


361 Reviews
5 star:
 (293)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (26)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


900 of 946 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't be a fool
I must say despite the excellent design the content is a huge disappointment. Why? Well like most people who buy this boxset we have already seen them in their complete and unedited glory on the BBC and now UKGold. Wouldn't it be great to have the same episodes to play whenever we desired at home. Think again. Countless episodes are edited to such an extent that...
Published on 27 Sep 2007 by CrazyStreak

versus
195 of 206 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Heavily edited; little resembling original episodes.
Terribly disappointing. If something is advertised as "complete", it should be complete. But this is not. The heavy edits remain, even though the BBC could quite easily arrange for the original episodes to be released as they were originally screened on TV. My message to BBC: release the original episodes, uncut; or stop putting out heavily edited DVDs and then calling...
Published on 12 Aug 2011 by Gareth


‹ Previous | 1 237 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

900 of 946 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't be a fool, 27 Sep 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I must say despite the excellent design the content is a huge disappointment. Why? Well like most people who buy this boxset we have already seen them in their complete and unedited glory on the BBC and now UKGold. Wouldn't it be great to have the same episodes to play whenever we desired at home. Think again. Countless episodes are edited to such an extent that dialogue has been cut, scenes have been deleted and musical scores altered. So much so that avid fools fans will watch with annoyance. The fact the BBC couldn't pay for the rights to play the original background music within scenes is criminal, they must have made millions from the Only Fools franchise.

If you have the time tape the episodes off UKGold. I still wait for the genuine complete collection.

*Update* In memory of John Sullivan, I've now re-rated this from 2 stars to 5. A comedy that will provide laughter to generations of people to come, what a legacy to leave. I just hope that should any tribute episodes be released in the future then they take onboard some of the editing issues, and ensure they are released the way John Sullivan wrote them, that would be the perfect epitaph.

**An updated er update** And so now almost five years after the first 'complete collection' was released, we now have a second 'complete collection', both of which are sadly 'incomplete'. To mark the 30th anniversary of the first broadcast of 'Only Fools' you'd have thought some effort would have been put into adding some extra morsels to tempt those who bought the first complete collection into forking out for the second. But no. In all that time, the maestros behind the BBC DVD releases, instead of mastering the musical copyright issues and other matters concerned with the infamous Fools edits, they were more concerned with what new shiny box to put the SAME DVDs in, to release to the great British public to mark this seminal moment.

Our greatest British sitcom deserved better. Do we really have to wait for the 40th anniversary complete collection, to see any signs of what the great British BBC licence fee payer paid for. A TRULY COMPLETE COLLECTON.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


195 of 206 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Heavily edited; little resembling original episodes., 12 Aug 2011
By 
Gareth "Gareth" (London, England.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Only Fools and Horses - The Complete Collection [DVD] [1981] (DVD)
Terribly disappointing. If something is advertised as "complete", it should be complete. But this is not. The heavy edits remain, even though the BBC could quite easily arrange for the original episodes to be released as they were originally screened on TV. My message to BBC: release the original episodes, uncut; or stop putting out heavily edited DVDs and then calling them "complete".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


88 of 94 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor release, cheap editing spoiling classic comedy, 15 Mar 2008
By 
A J Taylor (Cambridge, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
It is astonishingly poor of the BBC to treat fans in this way. Cut down stories, poor editing, replacing the music. Not worthy of a great series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


186 of 203 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5* for only fools 0* for the box set, 4 Oct 2007
By 
SHANN "SHANN" (England, London) - See all my reviews
I only give this 5* because Only Fools is a great British classic. As a previous reviewer says correctly it is incredibly frustrating that they churn out these box sets at christmas with half the decent stuff missing. The musical scores are not all there, scenes and dialogue frustratingly deleted. How much is it to ask for a truly complete box set, especially with how much it costs. I've already got all the dvds individually - whats the point of now buying this unless there is genuinly something new. I would also (although this will probably never happen) love to have Red Dwarf calibre extras. Those who buy the red dwarf series will know what I mean when you get an incredible amount of behind the scenes and other extras which are worth the money in themselves. Its a shame that the BBC is again trying to churn out another boxset with a different cover to milk this great franchise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


69 of 75 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars only fools and horses 30th anniversary box set, 7 Aug 2011
This review is from: Only Fools and Horses - The Complete Collection [DVD] [1981] (DVD)
Only Fools and Horses - Complete Anniversary Box Set [DVD] here we have another so called COMPLETE only fools and horses boxset collection, how on earth 2entertain can call this collection COMPLETE is beyond me when it is anything but,the same old edited to death collection but this time in new packaging, i think when it comes right down to it 2entertain are just too damn lazy to do any work on a new complete fully restored unedited boxset with extras, shame on the bbc and 2entertain on your treatment of only fools, to any one intending on buying this don't save your money. i hope that one day NETWORK get the rights to this series and will bring out a complete unedited collection with extras, they would show more respect than 2entertain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


188 of 206 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Buyer Beware, 31 Jan 2009
As other reviewers have already stated, this is cut to ribbons and, as such, I would say it's pretty much a waste of money.

I'd just like to add, though, that the reviewer who states that the US version is not cut is completely wrong. I regret that I believed his review and bought the US one only to find that it is NOT complete. So, to anyone who is considering wasting money on the US box set, I just wanted to warn you before you part with your cash. Buyer beware!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


144 of 158 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy it!!!, 15 May 2008
So disappointing, huge cuts, laughter tracks added, just ruined it for me. So annoyed while watching late one night went to the US site and bought the whole thing again, some edits still , not all the original music, but the Royal Flush seems pretty much intact which was decimated in this version. etc. Just beware you will need an NTSC player.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Many episodes have been edited, some are missing, 4 Jan 2012
This review is from: Only Fools and Horses - The Complete Collection [DVD] [1981] (DVD)
The episode, Series two, episode 8 'Christmas Trees' is missing completely from the set. As well as this on the box it states clearly that episodes have been edited for 'contractual reasons', and once you start watching the episodes you can see it.

It is probably the best of the available sets of Only Fools and Horses there is currently available but it would have been much better without the edits and the missing episode is a real issue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What a let down, 11 Oct 2011
By 
L. R. Everitt (Essex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Firstly I must say that this collection would have been a fantastic one but sadly due to the BBC once again it fails. I have been a massive fan of Only Fools & Horses since it first appeared on our screens in 1981 but must warn all buyers that so many scenes from most episodes have been edited out which ruined the enjoyment. The BBC has a history of doing this to all of their collections like The Top Gear American Special for instance. The royal flush Special has been totally wrecked as has The Jolly Boys Outing as has Miami Twice. I could go on but the list is endless sadly. When you have seen the complete episode on the BBC you hope to own the same instead you get a complete & utter let down. This review is about the collection & not the seller of this collection. Only Fools & Horses Is & will Always be a fantastic series & because of that worth owning despite the fact that most of the great scenes are missing & also episodes badly edited.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


62 of 68 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars New box, old discs - the 30th Anniversary Uncomplete, Edited Rip-off., 2 Aug 2011
This review is from: Only Fools and Horses - The Complete Collection [DVD] [1981] (DVD)
As a previous review has said, 2E have confirmed that this 30th Anniversary release is a repack of the current complete boxset.

When OFAH was originally released on VHS, the legal restrictions in place at that time required cuts to be made to some episodes before they could be cleared for home video release. Over the years, new agreements in place mean many of the cuts made are now no longer necessary. The 30th Anniversary would have been a great time to revise the boxset and restore the cut episodes as far as possible.

Unfortunately, although I suspect many OFAH fans would have bought a re-mastered, restored boxset even if they already had the previous release, 2E have decided to simply put the old, sub-standard discs in a new box, no doubt hoping that fans will buy the new release, only to discover that the discs are identical to the previous one.

But then, this is a BBC/2E release, so what do you expect?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 237 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb5cecfc0)

This product

Only Fools and Horses - The Complete Collection [DVD] [1981]
35.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews