Customer Reviews


596 Reviews
5 star:
 (505)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (30)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


78 of 79 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An actual HONEST review! Listen up people! It's not that badly cut and perfectly worth £35!
A lot has been made of the cuts to the content of this DVD set and for a long time I resisted buying it as a result. However, I always found it a pain trying to catch repeats. £35 is not bad for over 41 hours of television and since I realized it's the best I'm going to get for now - I just thought "what the hell" and went ahead and bought it.

So let's...
Published 9 months ago by ChickenStu

versus
225 of 241 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Heavily edited; little resembling original episodes.
Terribly disappointing. If something is advertised as "complete", it should be complete. But this is not. The heavy edits remain, even though the BBC could quite easily arrange for the original episodes to be released as they were originally screened on TV. My message to BBC: release the original episodes, uncut; or stop putting out heavily edited DVDs and then calling...
Published on 12 Aug. 2011 by Gareth


‹ Previous | 1 260 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

78 of 79 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An actual HONEST review! Listen up people! It's not that badly cut and perfectly worth £35!, 21 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Only Fools and Horses - The Complete Collection [DVD] [1981] (DVD)
A lot has been made of the cuts to the content of this DVD set and for a long time I resisted buying it as a result. However, I always found it a pain trying to catch repeats. £35 is not bad for over 41 hours of television and since I realized it's the best I'm going to get for now - I just thought "what the hell" and went ahead and bought it.

So let's talk about the cuts: As far as I can tell the only episodes that have SERIOUSLY been actually cut are "The Jolly Boys Outing" and "Miami Twice". Other than those two I can't say I really noticed any others. Contrary to what has been written - bad language has NOT been cut and neither has some of the more cruder humour. It seems that a lot of people who've written reviews haven't actually watched the set.

I googled what cuts had been made to the DVD set - and watched a lot of the episodes expecting a cut to come up... and it didn't! I really wonder where a lot of this information has come from.

In most cases when the rights haven't been available for music - it has been replaced with a similar sounding bit of music (Jaws and The Omen are replaced with sinister cues that get the same point across) and original songs have been replaced with cover versions (for example the version of "Our House" at the end of "Time On Our Hands"). Yeah OK - it's not the ideal situation but it could have been a lot worse! The comedy is not lost.

Generally speaking from what I can tell a majority of the episodes are uncut and I can tell you categorically that the second series has absolutely no cuts whatsoever.

With this being the case I believe it's perfectly reasonable to purchase this item at the current knock down price.

The cuts still lose my review a star - but having said that you still see Granddad smashing the wrong chandelier, you still see Del falling through the bar, you still see Del and Rodney running through the streets dressed as Batman and Robin and hear Del's bad french, hear him calling Rodney a "plonker" and a "tart". Let's face it - that's what you are buying this set for isn't it? It's all there, present and correct and funnier than ever. As a plus - the packaging is beautiful.

If you've got £35 going spare it's worth it and a nice thing to have in the collection. Don't pay any more than that though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still a great series despite some editing, 18 Sept. 2014
By 
Mr Baz - See all my reviews
(#1 REVIEWER)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Only Fools and Horses - The Complete Collection [DVD] [1981] (DVD)
I got this as a gift and honestly I never tire of the series it always brings a smile to my face so being able to re-watch those classic episodes as often as I want is a real bonus.

On the editing and cutting there are some episodes that have in my view mistakenly been tampered with references to Princess Diana gone in one episode, some soundtracks from the original broadcast have been changed (evidently due to licensing restrictions for the DVD release) in most cases this doesn't make a huge difference but expert Only Fools and Horses fans will notice the changes.

Miami Twice has had quite a few cuts though as has A Royal Flush some lines are gone and laughter tracks added, and the Jolly Boy's outing has sadly had an entire sequence removed in the nightclub when the song "Just the Way You Are" was being performed this does impact the episode quite significantly in my view. In other area some episodes have had no cuts at all so it's not likely to ruin the experience. There is a complete list of edits and cuts via Wikipedia if you wish to investigate this more

Onto the series despite this negative points above remains a true British comedy classic in every sense of the word. Rarely has a series been aired that connects with the public following the struggles of the Trotters, their misguided efforts and dealings. But always in a way which evokes fondness for both the talented cast and script. it is fair to say some episodes are stronger than others, a few of my favourite ones:

"A Touch of Glass": This episode is one of the classic comedy moments when grandad hits the wrong chandelier causing it to crash to the floor broken and smashed, I still remember the room erupting in laughter after this.

"Heroes and Villains": Having Del and Rodney dressed up as super heroes and turning up to a fancy dress party that became a funeral gathering.

"A Losing Streak": The classic Del v Boycie poker game where for once Del comes out on top!

"Time on Our Hands": Seeing the Trotters finally make it big and become millionaires can't be forgotten even if some feel the series only truly returned to form when they end up broke again

"Yuppie Love" Featuring the unforgettable Del Boy scene where he leans on the bar door that's open and falls straight through it one of the top comedy moments ever.

There are too many good moments to mention, but now owning this set well despite some of the editing on some of the episodes really is required for any comedy fan. This never gets old it just continues to raise the smiles even many years later.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


946 of 1,005 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't be a fool, 27 Sept. 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I must say despite the excellent design the content is a huge disappointment. Why? Well like most people who buy this boxset we have already seen them in their complete and unedited glory on the BBC and now UKGold. Wouldn't it be great to have the same episodes to play whenever we desired at home. Think again. Countless episodes are edited to such an extent that dialogue has been cut, scenes have been deleted and musical scores altered. So much so that avid fools fans will watch with annoyance. The fact the BBC couldn't pay for the rights to play the original background music within scenes is criminal, they must have made millions from the Only Fools franchise.

If you have the time tape the episodes off UKGold. I still wait for the genuine complete collection.

*Update* In memory of John Sullivan, I've now re-rated this from 2 stars to 5. A comedy that will provide laughter to generations of people to come, what a legacy to leave. I just hope that should any tribute episodes be released in the future then they take onboard some of the editing issues, and ensure they are released the way John Sullivan wrote them, that would be the perfect epitaph.

**An updated er update** And so now almost five years after the first 'complete collection' was released, we now have a second 'complete collection', both of which are sadly 'incomplete'. To mark the 30th anniversary of the first broadcast of 'Only Fools' you'd have thought some effort would have been put into adding some extra morsels to tempt those who bought the first complete collection into forking out for the second. But no. In all that time, the maestros behind the BBC DVD releases, instead of mastering the musical copyright issues and other matters concerned with the infamous Fools edits, they were more concerned with what new shiny box to put the SAME DVDs in, to release to the great British public to mark this seminal moment.

Our greatest British sitcom deserved better. Do we really have to wait for the 40th anniversary complete collection, to see any signs of what the great British BBC licence fee payer paid for. A TRULY COMPLETE COLLECTON.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


225 of 241 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Heavily edited; little resembling original episodes., 12 Aug. 2011
By 
Gareth "Gareth" (London, England.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Only Fools and Horses - The Complete Collection [DVD] [1981] (DVD)
Terribly disappointing. If something is advertised as "complete", it should be complete. But this is not. The heavy edits remain, even though the BBC could quite easily arrange for the original episodes to be released as they were originally screened on TV. My message to BBC: release the original episodes, uncut; or stop putting out heavily edited DVDs and then calling them "complete".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Many episodes have been edited, some are missing, 4 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Only Fools and Horses - The Complete Collection [DVD] [1981] (DVD)
The episode, Series two, episode 8 'Christmas Trees' is missing completely from the set. As well as this on the box it states clearly that episodes have been edited for 'contractual reasons', and once you start watching the episodes you can see it.

It is probably the best of the available sets of Only Fools and Horses there is currently available but it would have been much better without the edits and the missing episode is a real issue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


101 of 109 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor release, cheap editing spoiling classic comedy, 15 Mar. 2008
By 
A J Taylor (Cambridge, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
It is astonishingly poor of the BBC to treat fans in this way. Cut down stories, poor editing, replacing the music. Not worthy of a great series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Five stars for the show...one star for the BBC and the do-gooder, pc brigade, 10 Dec. 2011
By 
Jason Miller (South Shields, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Only Fools and Horses - The Complete Collection [DVD] [1981] (DVD)
The greatest comedy show that this country has ever produced should rightly receive the royal treatment when it comes to DVD. Packaging cannot be faulted, the shows in their original guise (with the exception of the perhaps ill advised christmas specials where the Trotters lose everything) are simply magic. Instead, what do we get? Political correctness gone mad. Sadly, because some people with no sense of humour whatsoever may be offended the BBC have seen fit in their infinite wisdom to butcher the classics. It's laughable to be honest how the minority seem to always spoil the enjoyment of the majority. Example...there's that classic line when Mickey Pearce and Del are in the Nags head and Mickey starts talking about his aikido night classes and Del sniffs him and says the following...'can you smell that...what is that? sheep is it? It's cows..no, no I know what it is...it's Bull****'. One of the funniest lines ever butchered because some do-gooder liberal takes offence. This isn't isolated. It's sadly prevalent throughout the boxed set. For that reason the Boxed Set deserves a 1 star. The show is five stars and should remain so based on the original content. This is what we pay our TV licence money for. Shame on the BBC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


150 of 164 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy it!!!, 15 May 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
So disappointing, huge cuts, laughter tracks added, just ruined it for me. So annoyed while watching late one night went to the US site and bought the whole thing again, some edits still , not all the original music, but the Royal Flush seems pretty much intact which was decimated in this version. etc. Just beware you will need an NTSC player.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


63 of 69 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars New box, old discs - the 30th Anniversary Uncomplete, Edited Rip-off., 2 Aug. 2011
This review is from: Only Fools and Horses - The Complete Collection [DVD] [1981] (DVD)
As a previous review has said, 2E have confirmed that this 30th Anniversary release is a repack of the current complete boxset.

When OFAH was originally released on VHS, the legal restrictions in place at that time required cuts to be made to some episodes before they could be cleared for home video release. Over the years, new agreements in place mean many of the cuts made are now no longer necessary. The 30th Anniversary would have been a great time to revise the boxset and restore the cut episodes as far as possible.

Unfortunately, although I suspect many OFAH fans would have bought a re-mastered, restored boxset even if they already had the previous release, 2E have decided to simply put the old, sub-standard discs in a new box, no doubt hoping that fans will buy the new release, only to discover that the discs are identical to the previous one.

But then, this is a BBC/2E release, so what do you expect?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


190 of 209 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5* for only fools 0* for the box set, 4 Oct. 2007
By 
SHANN "SHANN" (England, London) - See all my reviews
I only give this 5* because Only Fools is a great British classic. As a previous reviewer says correctly it is incredibly frustrating that they churn out these box sets at christmas with half the decent stuff missing. The musical scores are not all there, scenes and dialogue frustratingly deleted. How much is it to ask for a truly complete box set, especially with how much it costs. I've already got all the dvds individually - whats the point of now buying this unless there is genuinly something new. I would also (although this will probably never happen) love to have Red Dwarf calibre extras. Those who buy the red dwarf series will know what I mean when you get an incredible amount of behind the scenes and other extras which are worth the money in themselves. Its a shame that the BBC is again trying to churn out another boxset with a different cover to milk this great franchise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 260 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only Fools and Horses - The Complete Collection [DVD] [1981]
£43.07
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews