Customer Reviews


438 Reviews
5 star:
 (360)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (28)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An actual HONEST review! Listen up people! It's not that badly cut and perfectly worth £35!
A lot has been made of the cuts to the content of this DVD set and for a long time I resisted buying it as a result. However, I always found it a pain trying to catch repeats. £35 is not bad for over 41 hours of television and since I realized it's the best I'm going to get for now - I just thought "what the hell" and went ahead and bought it.

So let's...
Published 2 months ago by ChickenStu

versus
214 of 227 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Heavily edited; little resembling original episodes.
Terribly disappointing. If something is advertised as "complete", it should be complete. But this is not. The heavy edits remain, even though the BBC could quite easily arrange for the original episodes to be released as they were originally screened on TV. My message to BBC: release the original episodes, uncut; or stop putting out heavily edited DVDs and then calling...
Published on 12 Aug 2011 by Gareth


‹ Previous | 1 244 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An actual HONEST review! Listen up people! It's not that badly cut and perfectly worth £35!, 21 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Only Fools and Horses - The Complete Collection [DVD] [1981] (DVD)
A lot has been made of the cuts to the content of this DVD set and for a long time I resisted buying it as a result. However, I always found it a pain trying to catch repeats. £35 is not bad for over 41 hours of television and since I realized it's the best I'm going to get for now - I just thought "what the hell" and went ahead and bought it.

So let's talk about the cuts: As far as I can tell the only episodes that have SERIOUSLY been actually cut are "The Jolly Boys Outing" and "Miami Twice". Other than those two I can't say I really noticed any others. Contrary to what has been written - bad language has NOT been cut and neither has some of the more cruder humour. It seems that a lot of people who've written reviews haven't actually watched the set.

I googled what cuts had been made to the DVD set - and watched a lot of the episodes expecting a cut to come up... and it didn't! I really wonder where a lot of this information has come from.

In most cases when the rights haven't been available for music - it has been replaced with a similar sounding bit of music (Jaws and The Omen are replaced with sinister cues that get the same point across) and original songs have been replaced with cover versions (for example the version of "Our House" at the end of "Time On Our Hands"). Yeah OK - it's not the ideal situation but it could have been a lot worse! The comedy is not lost.

Generally speaking from what I can tell a majority of the episodes are uncut and I can tell you categorically that the second series has absolutely no cuts whatsoever.

With this being the case I believe it's perfectly reasonable to purchase this item at the current knock down price.

The cuts still lose my review a star - but having said that you still see Granddad smashing the wrong chandelier, you still see Del falling through the bar, you still see Del and Rodney running through the streets dressed as Batman and Robin and hear Del's bad french, hear him calling Rodney a "plonker" and a "tart". Let's face it - that's what you are buying this set for isn't it? It's all there, present and correct and funnier than ever. As a plus - the packaging is beautiful.

If you've got £35 going spare it's worth it and a nice thing to have in the collection. Don't pay any more than that though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


924 of 975 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't be a fool, 27 Sep 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I must say despite the excellent design the content is a huge disappointment. Why? Well like most people who buy this boxset we have already seen them in their complete and unedited glory on the BBC and now UKGold. Wouldn't it be great to have the same episodes to play whenever we desired at home. Think again. Countless episodes are edited to such an extent that dialogue has been cut, scenes have been deleted and musical scores altered. So much so that avid fools fans will watch with annoyance. The fact the BBC couldn't pay for the rights to play the original background music within scenes is criminal, they must have made millions from the Only Fools franchise.

If you have the time tape the episodes off UKGold. I still wait for the genuine complete collection.

*Update* In memory of John Sullivan, I've now re-rated this from 2 stars to 5. A comedy that will provide laughter to generations of people to come, what a legacy to leave. I just hope that should any tribute episodes be released in the future then they take onboard some of the editing issues, and ensure they are released the way John Sullivan wrote them, that would be the perfect epitaph.

**An updated er update** And so now almost five years after the first 'complete collection' was released, we now have a second 'complete collection', both of which are sadly 'incomplete'. To mark the 30th anniversary of the first broadcast of 'Only Fools' you'd have thought some effort would have been put into adding some extra morsels to tempt those who bought the first complete collection into forking out for the second. But no. In all that time, the maestros behind the BBC DVD releases, instead of mastering the musical copyright issues and other matters concerned with the infamous Fools edits, they were more concerned with what new shiny box to put the SAME DVDs in, to release to the great British public to mark this seminal moment.

Our greatest British sitcom deserved better. Do we really have to wait for the 40th anniversary complete collection, to see any signs of what the great British BBC licence fee payer paid for. A TRULY COMPLETE COLLECTON.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


214 of 227 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Heavily edited; little resembling original episodes., 12 Aug 2011
By 
Gareth "Gareth" (London, England.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Only Fools and Horses - The Complete Collection [DVD] [1981] (DVD)
Terribly disappointing. If something is advertised as "complete", it should be complete. But this is not. The heavy edits remain, even though the BBC could quite easily arrange for the original episodes to be released as they were originally screened on TV. My message to BBC: release the original episodes, uncut; or stop putting out heavily edited DVDs and then calling them "complete".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Many episodes have been edited, some are missing, 4 Jan 2012
This review is from: Only Fools and Horses - The Complete Collection [DVD] [1981] (DVD)
The episode, Series two, episode 8 'Christmas Trees' is missing completely from the set. As well as this on the box it states clearly that episodes have been edited for 'contractual reasons', and once you start watching the episodes you can see it.

It is probably the best of the available sets of Only Fools and Horses there is currently available but it would have been much better without the edits and the missing episode is a real issue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


96 of 102 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor release, cheap editing spoiling classic comedy, 15 Mar 2008
By 
A J Taylor (Cambridge, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
It is astonishingly poor of the BBC to treat fans in this way. Cut down stories, poor editing, replacing the music. Not worthy of a great series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Five stars for the show...one star for the BBC and the do-gooder, pc brigade, 10 Dec 2011
By 
Jason Miller (South Shields, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Only Fools and Horses - The Complete Collection [DVD] [1981] (DVD)
The greatest comedy show that this country has ever produced should rightly receive the royal treatment when it comes to DVD. Packaging cannot be faulted, the shows in their original guise (with the exception of the perhaps ill advised christmas specials where the Trotters lose everything) are simply magic. Instead, what do we get? Political correctness gone mad. Sadly, because some people with no sense of humour whatsoever may be offended the BBC have seen fit in their infinite wisdom to butcher the classics. It's laughable to be honest how the minority seem to always spoil the enjoyment of the majority. Example...there's that classic line when Mickey Pearce and Del are in the Nags head and Mickey starts talking about his aikido night classes and Del sniffs him and says the following...'can you smell that...what is that? sheep is it? It's cows..no, no I know what it is...it's Bull****'. One of the funniest lines ever butchered because some do-gooder liberal takes offence. This isn't isolated. It's sadly prevalent throughout the boxed set. For that reason the Boxed Set deserves a 1 star. The show is five stars and should remain so based on the original content. This is what we pay our TV licence money for. Shame on the BBC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


194 of 212 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Buyer Beware, 31 Jan 2009
As other reviewers have already stated, this is cut to ribbons and, as such, I would say it's pretty much a waste of money.

I'd just like to add, though, that the reviewer who states that the US version is not cut is completely wrong. I regret that I believed his review and bought the US one only to find that it is NOT complete. So, to anyone who is considering wasting money on the US box set, I just wanted to warn you before you part with your cash. Buyer beware!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The trotters are trotting along the "trottoir", 15 Aug 2014
By 
This review is from: Only Fools and Horses - The Complete Collection [DVD] [1981] (DVD)
The first element I have to specify here is that it is a family series, i.e. a series the whole family can watch, and yet there are not many children in it, in fact there is only one, and he does not come straight away and he does not play the most important role anyway, even if he is called Damian, Damian Derrick Trotter, DDT for short, and the son of the devil as is well known. But this family series manages to have practically all along an older member of the family, a grand father at first and then a grand uncle till practically the end. These two older characters, played by two older actors is the truth in modern families: they finally depart when the second generation after them practically is beyond their mid-life crisis. It so happens that a generation is missing, the father and the mother, but that is necessary to have the type of relation we have between the two brothers, Derrick and Rodney Trotter.

The second thing is that we have here a comedy and only a comedy. They make fun of absolutely everything and nothing is serious even when it is dramatic and causes a lot of crying. It is a comedy and the real world outside is the real world outside, that means from the first episode to the last Christmas special twenty-two years have elapsed and you can easily see it with simple objects like the first microwave oven, the first portable telephone of the 1980s and then the slow evolution of these portable telephones, the first computer is a computer without a GUI that works with command lines and code and the last one is a laptop, and a small one at that. The world is changing along with the series, or vice versa if you prefer, and the events in the world are also reflected in the series: the fall of the USSR for example. At the same time these historical elements, or political elements, are not overwhelmingly present. They are only some kind of time bookmarks in the story for us to know where and when we are.

The second thing is that we are dealing with people who are at the bottom of society but who want to become millionaires one day. They are enterprising and they use all their mental and physical resources to achieve their objective. The means are simple: selling on the market, in the street. They are hawkers, street vendors. At the same time they deal behind the wings with everyone who wants a good deal on anything that is trendy at the time. They consider their business is their own responsibility and they will use all legal means and all illegal means to get their merchandise and then to sell it at a profit. They do not really make a fortune out of it but they are independent and they manage to live an eventful and comfortable, though not wealthy, life. Their main enemy is the police since they are always running from them and the theme of the police, what's more a rotten policeman, is vastly used. They live in a tower block in Peckham, hence in the county flats of the poor working people, a tower block called Nelson Mandela, quite a symbol in the period from 1981 to 2003. At the same time the opening credits are always the same, the closing credits too, and the songs of both, but also the background scene of the opening credits. The actors are aging, and some changing, but their presentation in the opening credits is always the same. And some elements never change, including of course the apartment and the three-wheel dirty yellow van.

The third element is that they are real people from Peckham, London, and they speak the language of the neighborhood, that is cockney, and cockney they do speak with the accent, the lexicon and the syntax, from the opening song to the closing song. If they are called Trotter it is because "only fools and HORSES" and "Stick a PONY in me pocket / I'll fetch the suitcase from the van" and most of the social life takes place in the local pub which is called of course THE NAGS HEAD. And the series is consistent about it. The only exception is in fact Cassandra, Rodney's wife, because she is from the middle class. Her parents are the same of course. In the same way, but maybe less clear cut, Rachel, Derrick's wife, because she is from "outside" and not from the inner circle of the Peckham boys that all the men in this series are. In the last Christmas special they get an old picture of the "boys" at school when Derrick was in his middle teens, and Rodney is officially not on the picture since he is quite younger, but in fact he is because someone who was the proper age at te time the picture was taken looks just like him at the age of 17 or so, and that's the big secret about Rodney's father that has been lurking around all along and that explains why the real father in the family, Derrick and Rodney's mother's husband, left the family shortly after Rodney's birth. That biological father of Rodney is a character of some sort and you'll have to watch the series to find out.

The last thing I will say is that the series is hilarious because it is British, and even because it is BBC. It is stuffed, filled, coated and heavily loaded with British humor, with puns and jokes, and I am sure you will not get them all, and it does not matter because the audience laughs for you and you know you have missed something. This humor has no limits and nothing is taboo, or nearly nothing is taboo, though they do not seem to make fun of religion that much and they do not practice political humor or satire. But all the rest is possible and they go quite beyond the traditional and limited themes of the desert island, marooned on a desert island, plumber's jokes, old spinster's jokes, adultery and homosexuality. They exploit situational humor tremendously and very creatively, and always with finesse, British finesse. Always associating the situation, the story being told, the language, the body language and references to cultural and contextual elements that we are supposed to know. There is a parody of a certain Elvis Presley that is absolutely murderous, with the dry sausage (of a very "reasonable" size) that the fake middle-age surrogate Elvis Presley gets out of his pants after his performance and his inability at pronouncing the letter R. Derrick and Rodney costumed as Batman and Robin running in the streets of Peckham at night is quite funny too. Grand uncle Albert and his stories as a veteran of the British Navy during most of his life and especially in World War II are a perfect funny illustration of the absolutely sane but excessive ranting and raving of the very old generation who try to educate the younger ones with their past.

For all those reason and at least several thousand more that's the comedy you will be able to watch night after night and probably re-watch over and over again. You have forty-one and a half hours of pleasure made eternal on twenty-six discs: that may last a good fortnight for the whole family in the evening.

Dr Jacques COULARDEAU
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


189 of 207 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5* for only fools 0* for the box set, 4 Oct 2007
By 
SHANN "SHANN" (England, London) - See all my reviews
I only give this 5* because Only Fools is a great British classic. As a previous reviewer says correctly it is incredibly frustrating that they churn out these box sets at christmas with half the decent stuff missing. The musical scores are not all there, scenes and dialogue frustratingly deleted. How much is it to ask for a truly complete box set, especially with how much it costs. I've already got all the dvds individually - whats the point of now buying this unless there is genuinly something new. I would also (although this will probably never happen) love to have Red Dwarf calibre extras. Those who buy the red dwarf series will know what I mean when you get an incredible amount of behind the scenes and other extras which are worth the money in themselves. Its a shame that the BBC is again trying to churn out another boxset with a different cover to milk this great franchise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


148 of 162 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy it!!!, 15 May 2008
So disappointing, huge cuts, laughter tracks added, just ruined it for me. So annoyed while watching late one night went to the US site and bought the whole thing again, some edits still , not all the original music, but the Royal Flush seems pretty much intact which was decimated in this version. etc. Just beware you will need an NTSC player.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 244 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only Fools and Horses - The Complete Collection [DVD] [1981]
£35.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews