Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully descriptive....
This well written historical novel tells the story of Frances Stuart, the beautiful ingénue who captured the heart of a king.When sixteen year old Frances arrives at the English court, her vulnerability and innocence acts as a magnet to a King who is well adept at getting what he wants from women, and yet he can't accept that this one women is beyond his reach...
Published on 20 Oct 2011 by jaffareadstoo

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Found the plot boring &
Not an era likely to excite me but i persevered. Found the plot boring & repetitive
Published 15 days ago by Layla Hughes


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully descriptive...., 20 Oct 2011
By 
jaffareadstoo (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Painted Lady (Paperback)
This well written historical novel tells the story of Frances Stuart, the beautiful ingénue who captured the heart of a king.When sixteen year old Frances arrives at the English court, her vulnerability and innocence acts as a magnet to a King who is well adept at getting what he wants from women, and yet he can't accept that this one women is beyond his reach. There was endless speculation at the time about "La Belle Stuart" and her relationship with the King, and the "have they, or haven't they" element to their romance added fuel to 17c gossip mongers.

Beautifully descriptive of the restoration period this book brings to life the glittering court of Charles II. The rivalry that existed between the king's mistresses is expertly captured, and yet it's refreshing to read a restoration romance that doesn't involve graphic descriptions of Charles II's sex life !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Found the plot boring &, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Painted Lady (Kindle Edition)
Not an era likely to excite me but i persevered. Found the plot boring & repetitive
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pulling back the curtains on a fascinating and determined restoration beauty, 8 Jan 2014
By 
J. E. Jones "Adanayah" (Wales UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Painted Lady (Paperback)
I've always been interested in This young lady. Frances Stewart. the woman who kept giving Charles II, a notorious and serial womaniser out of her bed. And everywhere else. The pressure brought to bear on her virtue must have been astonishing, but she stood absolutely rock solid firm against attacks coming at her from all sides. What a pity she's no longer in our coins. Personally, I'd probably have caved - if the price was right. It's sad though, that after her years of waiting for the man we have to accept that she really did love, she had such a short time with him, and never had the brood of happy children she'd wanted so badly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 13 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Painted Lady (Kindle Edition)
What a cracking book! Maeve Haran brings the life and times of Charles II alive. The writing is just so clever that you feel that you are there at court and in London. The pace never lets up and keeps you gripped to the end. Loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cool view into history, 28 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Painted Lady (Kindle Edition)
A highly enjoyable read. Maeve Haran takes you there in a most convincing manner. Looking forward to another historical day out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 29 Dec 2012
By 
Mrs. Nicola Hedges (Northampton,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Painted Lady (Kindle Edition)
Read this book over the Xmas holidays
You are constantly wondering if she will allow herself to be the kings mistress ,sad ending to the story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Good Read, 7 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Painted Lady (Paperback)
I was very pleased with this book as I found that the story was well written and well paced. This was the first time I have read a book by this author and I will be reading more of her books. I would definitely recommend this book for those who like historical fiction (based on fact.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars strong willed lady, 24 Oct 2011
By 
Mrs. E. Maher "elliemay" (blackpool, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Painted Lady (Paperback)
A true story of a strong willed woman who lived at court and was pursued by King Charles 2nd, but resisted his advances. The historical events of the plague and the great fire of London, and court life were very informative. Unfortunately the love story was bland, and a bit boring, no exciting episodes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Painted Lady
The Painted Lady by Maeve Haran
2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews