Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars141
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£4.29
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 September 2011
This is a departure from David Baldacci's normal style and content. However it demonstrates that he is capable of producing a fine and gentle storyline combining pathos,family trials and tribulations and an underlying love story that tugs at the heart strings.It is a book that is uplifting and hard to put down.It draws the reader into a fantasy world with such skill that you almost feel a part of it.One can almost smell the sea and the images of the stunning coast line in which it is set. More of the same please David although don't neglect Sean King and Michelle Maxwell and of course the Camel Club.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2014
got this as a holiday read but it was too toshy even as a book for the sunlounger. unbelievable plot, one dimensional characters, schmaltz from start to finish. avoid.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2013
As a theme not what I would say "original", I.e.father left to bring up his children on his own. However the new perspective Baldacci introduces to this theme is spot on, it really makes you sit back and think 'blimey, imagine that happening'.
Usual depth of characters created, so drawing you into their lives.
Typically, Baldacci maintains the normal 'will it, wont it' disposition as Jack is reminded often that the reality is there is no cure...say no more!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2012
I certainly did. I've read all of David Baldacci's books and am a great fan. I picked up a copy of Wish You Well, when on holiday in Sarasota - some kind person had left it in the "library" and couldn't put it down.

It was the same with "One Summer" - completely different to his usual books but I managed to read in in 24 hours -which is really unusual for me.

Just as an aside -be careful reading some of the reviws on here - there are some "spoilers" !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2013
Can not understand how this book has any good reviews, its so cheesy and predictable and unbelievable.
Chapters are only a few pages long, nothing is explained how he miraculously gets over his fatal illness, he moves to a lovely seaside town but everyone seems to get attacked there! walks into the first restaurant, beautiful lady there, who happens to invite him over to quote for a job.... bingo she has a son the same age also into music like his daughter is..... she gets attacked along the beach.... bingo he happens to be walking along and saves her ...... the dad has spent months trying to get the lighthouse to work but cant, his daughter gets swept to sea, so he rushes back up to the lighthouse, manages to instantly fix it, shine the light, see his daughter, run back down the steps and rescue her from the sea.... she's dead...... no sign of life.... OMG shes now recovered. and they all live happily ever after.
rubbish
22 comments|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2014
This book was a welcome distraction, pleasant and inoffensive. Well worth a read, it's a great Saturday afternoon novel. The plot was predictable, but that doesn't mean it shouldn't be enjoyed at all.
The main character Jack, isn't tiresome like some leading characters, and he isn't sickly which is refreshing. I just felt like the story was wrapped up to early.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2013
The book which I had already read, was so different to all the other David Baldacci books, that I recommended it to a book club, some members who had never read one of his books said no more, but I tried to explain that they should read David's books as they are not so bland as this normally, But had to admit this was not a good book for a first introduction
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2014
I wondered at first if the basic situation was credible... and, yes, it is. Well-drawn characters, from the man who has to rebuiid his own life, and that of his family, to the teenage daughter, so troubled and confused by her mother's death, the grand-mother's interference, and the apparently strange behaviour of her father.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
"Arise for our help,
And redeem us for Your mercies' sake." -- Psalm 44:26 (NKJV)

Life can be filled with pain and emotional suffering . . . but sometimes things turn out differently than we expect. When that happens, will we take full advantage of any second chances that come our way? That's this novel's theme.

Before going further, be sure to realize that this book isn't a typical Baldacci thriller . . . in fact, it's not a thriller at all. It's a story about a family trying to knit itself together in a new way.

If you are looking for a thriller, look elsewhere . . . but don't complain that I didn't warn you if you decide to read this book expecting what you've always gotten from Mr. Baldacci. You won't find it here.

If you read the book, expect that you may feel like crying. It's a sad story.

If you are looking for lots of surprises in the story, that's not in the cards unless you don't read the jacket copy.

It's a book that carefully develops one character, Jack Armstrong, and his search for redemption through changing his relationship with his family.

Those who will like the book best will be those who would like to make up for any wrongs they have done to their families by turning over a new leaf.

Ultimately, it's an uplifting story.

The main drawback is that the plot felt artificial to me. As a result, I couldn't get as emotionally into the story as I usually do.

The main strength of the story is that it will cause you to think about how you can behave better with your family.
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2015
Not the usual Baldacci agent approach. A family in turmoil over the impending loss of a loved one. How the story twists and turns. How love is stretched to breaking point. The family in crisis is dragged into greater crisis. Baldacci keeps the plot twisting to the end
A good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£4.29

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.