Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars soul foul, 7 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fatou (MP3 Download)
I love her voice and the beats. I feel chilled out and energized all at the same time by this beautiful collection of uplifting soul foul sounds that bring back to my motherland. I love it and keep sharing it. I want all to learn and know her. And buy her album. I am looking for more. I have fall in love with her talent and voice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fatou Diawara's promising debut, 18 May 2013
By 
The Guardian (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fatou (Audio CD)
This fine 2012 debut from Malian singer Fatoumata Diawara showcases her distinctive melodic voice singing her own songs in her native Bambara tongue with themes as serious as personal betrayal, the effect of wars in Africa, the plight of illegal African migrants in Europe, arranged marriage and female circumcision.

In addition to accompanying her own voice on simple acoustic guitar traditional western rock guitars, bass and drums are deployed alongside West African instruments like the kori, calabash and ngoni, so the result has a distinctive `world music' sound.

Most of the album was recorded at Livingston Studios in London and produced by Diawara and Nick Gold, and the quality of the mix is superb.

The album's main feature is Diawara's melodic voice and it has some beautiful, poignant moments. However it somehow lacks that indefinable quality (which for example Salif Keita has in spades) which really sets your hair on fire. It also needs to be said that at the by the end of the album the tracks are starting to sound very much the same, with little variation in dynamics. But there's no doubt about it: for a debut recording it's pretty impressive and knocks the spots off most `popular' music manufactured to feed the tastes of western audiences. Fatou is still young, an obviously talented natural singer and composer who seems - on the evidence of this collection - to have what it takes to develop into a significant force in world music. We should look forward to her follow-up album to see in which direction it grows.

The CD package is excellent with a 24-page booklet offering all the song lyrics in the original Bambara with translations in each case into French and English.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely voice, 20 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fatou (Audio CD)
If you like world music this is really nice. I saw a review of Malian music on the Guardian web site, and this appealed to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 12 April 2013
By 
Ms. S. Bagenal (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fatou (Audio CD)
I went to see her in London last month and ordered the CD. I was not disappointed and love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars so sweet, 24 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fatou (Audio CD)
lovely voice and music - calming and happy. Good to listen to after a long hard day when you need soothing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars lovely!, 24 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fatou (Audio CD)
It's just simply beautiful. I am really impressed with everything about this cd - production quality, voice, music and the way it makes me want to move! My 12 month old daughter loves it too! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic voice, 23 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fatou (Audio CD)
Heard this girl singing on BBC newsnight, thought she had the most amazing voice, i am enjoying listening to her
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars delightful, 22 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fatou (Audio CD)
I bought this on a recommendation from You tube.

Shame I understand NONE of the lyrics, but the relaxed tuneful and sooulful vibe is delightful.

Mike
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars five star no less, 18 Feb 2013
By 
burnthouse (Mabe Burnthouse, Cornwall UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fatou (MP3 Download)
If your looking for something to relax and unwind without the melancholy this is musically uplifting and joyful piece of work.
Great album... guitar and vocal work sublime... a great introduction to 'World Music' for the uninitiated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic album, 21 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fatou (Audio CD)
Best album i bought in 2012. No 'poor' tracks on this one. More melodic music from Mali. I bought this for my friend's husbands birthday and he loves it! So do i :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fatou
Fatou by Fatoumata Diawara (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews