Customer Reviews


100 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (39)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


53 of 54 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A solid bit of kit!
This is a quality product with ceramic plates. It heats up really rapidly 20-30 seconds with a flashing blue light indicating its heating up and being constant when ready for use. There is dial inside the device to vary the temperature. A brief 4 page instruction booklet (English only) recommends lower temp settings for finer hair. The product has a small storage...
Published on 20 Aug 2011 by Sue H

versus
15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't create any curls, let alone 3 different types!
Having seen the long and ridiculous adverts for the Remington Stylist Multi-Style on TV I loved the idea, but expected that the actual product would be nothing like as good as it seemed. However, I've been looking for something to make my hair more exciting and I found numerous good reviews online (including lots on Amazon) so decided to stop being so skeptical and try...
Published on 16 Nov 2011 by Sarah


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

53 of 54 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A solid bit of kit!, 20 Aug 2011
By 
Sue H "Sunshine Suzzy" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Remington S6600 Stylist Multi Style Advanced Ceramic Styler (Personal Care)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a quality product with ceramic plates. It heats up really rapidly 20-30 seconds with a flashing blue light indicating its heating up and being constant when ready for use. There is dial inside the device to vary the temperature. A brief 4 page instruction booklet (English only) recommends lower temp settings for finer hair. The product has a small storage bag.

The product is quite heavy weighing in at around 300g, and has a relatively strong spring which keeps it in the open postion as shown in the photo. The product can be locked closed when not in use. The cable freely swivels at the base. Its only recommended to leave the product on for 30 mins, however it shuts down after 60 mins if no buttons are pressed. (A power socket with an auto cut off would be a useful addition when styling in a hurry.) To straighten the hair it is slimply sandwiched between the plates and slowly drawn through. Very good results were obtained on naturally straight long hair of 12+inches. A very good degree of straightening was obtained on very curly mid length (6inch) hair. The outside black plastic part of the flat irons (curl bars) can be moved out from the main body of the product to increase the width and help with styling curls. Here the hair is positioned close to the scalp the product turned through 180Deg and then slowly drawn through the irons. There are three positions for the curl bar making the head progressively wider. These are recomoneded for small, medium and large loose curls.

Why does it not get 5 stars: The models in the instructions have dark hair on a dark back ground so it tricky to tell what is meant by small, medium etc. Curls were easy to produce with a little practice on long hair, not so easy on shorter hair. The pink outside parts of the product are metal and get very hot during use. It would be helpful if the outside tips were covered in plastic to allow the end to be supported during use. The black plastic curl bars dont get hot, it is not recommeded and they can't easily be moved once the product it hot. Hence you can't easily style two different curl widths with out cooling the product. Small is subjective however I would not recommend the product if you want small ringlet type curls of approximately a fingers width. The other downsides are the temperature wheel. The product booklet recommends 150-180Deg for fine hair, up to 200-210 Deg C for thick hair, however the temperature is not related to the temp wheel which is marked 'L' (one assumes low?) then 5 to 30. There is no tick mark on the body near the wheel so its not clear where the wheels should be for the lowest and highest temps. The product instructions do not really help in this respect.
I would not recomend the procuct for any one with a weak grip due to the weight and spring strength esp if curls rather than straightening is required. Once you have gripped the hair between the irons you need to be able to hold the device comfortably until the hair lenth has been treated. If you change your grip to get comfortable its likely the hair will pop out and you'll have to staet again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Correct Temperature Settings, 24 Feb 2012
This review is from: Remington S6600 Stylist Multi Style Advanced Ceramic Styler (Personal Care)
As previous reviewers have said the temp settings on this product are unclear so I emailed Remmington. They replied within 24hrs stating that they are in the process of updating the information booklet due to lack of information but have emailed me the correct settings:

L = 150C
5 = 160C
10 = 170C
15 = 180C
20 = 190C
25 = 200C
30 = 210C

Hope that helps anyone looking to buy these.

I havent yet had a chance to try using it to curl most of my hair but the adjustable size curl guides are perfect for curling my heavy fringe in a 40s / 50's type style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stylish Stylist Multi Style Styler, 24 Aug 2011
By 
OEJ - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Remington S6600 Stylist Multi Style Advanced Ceramic Styler (Personal Care)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
According to someone whose opinion I trust and who has used this product in my home - she is a professional hairdresser and stylist - the maximum temperature that should be applied using stylers such as the S6600 is 180 degrees. The thing is, one of its main claims to fame (i.e. selling points) is its ability to go up to 210 degrees. This should be treated with caution, as application at such a temperature could damage the hair, not to mention cause intense pain! Her summary of this product was that it does the job well, but needs to be handled with great care and she would not recommend giving it to a child to use as there would be a real danger of injury. This is a product better suited to professionals, she said, or at least best used by a responsible adult. The three style settings are good, and the product heats up quickly - in about 15 to 20 seconds.

A useful safety feature is an automatic switch-off after 60 minutes, although I would have liked this to have been 30 minutes if not less.

The main message is yes, it's very good and it does the job but needs to be handled with care at all times. The adjustable temperature setting would be more useful if it displayed actual temperature rather than the '0 to 30' display that it does. I'm left to assume that 0 equates to 150 degrees and 30 equates to 210 degrees; the recommended maximum of 180 degrees would therefore convert to the halfway-point, or '15'.

The power cable is 8 feet (245cm) in length.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Smooth to use but ambiguous technical features, 13 Sep 2011
By 
Doha (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Remington S6600 Stylist Multi Style Advanced Ceramic Styler (Personal Care)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I found these straighteners a dream to use for actual straightening (although I'm frightened by the thought that I am basically destroying my hair for vanity's sake), but I do have some strong concerns about a few features, as detailed below:

Pros:
- They heat up in almost no time at all
- Swivelly base means you don't end up with tangled wires and strangle yourself (although they do, in fact, give you enough wire to hang yourself with)
- Comes with a brilliantly useful heatproof carry-pouch
- Lightweight (my old ones weigh a ton) and therefore travel-easy
- Smoooooth ceramic plates (I think those are pretty standard these days, though, right?)

Cons:
- The temperature settings are ambiguous: the manual says it has thirty settings, and provides a temperature guide for different hair-types. However, it fails to match the temperature to a setting, making it a matter of guesswork, i.e. if fine hair = 110 degrees, what is the corresponding setting? 2? 20? 30?
- Further, there are no markings around the dial to indicate where exactly your setting is being set - again, confusing. If I set it *so*, is it on 1 or 15 or 30, or another number altogether?
- A simple LCD display showing the temperature would solve both of problems detailed above. I think the '30 settings' thing is a gimmick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have!!! :), 27 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Remington S6600 Stylist Multi Style Advanced Ceramic Styler (Personal Care)
This Remington multi style is what I've been looking for my whole life. It is so amazing, I couldn't have asked for more. It straightens my hair poker straight and curls my hair amazingly and lasts for days. It's great for casually going out or even going to a party. I am so pleased with this purchase and definitely recommend this to anyone looking for a fabulous straightener/curler.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't create any curls, let alone 3 different types!, 16 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Remington S6600 Stylist Multi Style Advanced Ceramic Styler (Personal Care)
Having seen the long and ridiculous adverts for the Remington Stylist Multi-Style on TV I loved the idea, but expected that the actual product would be nothing like as good as it seemed. However, I've been looking for something to make my hair more exciting and I found numerous good reviews online (including lots on Amazon) so decided to stop being so skeptical and try it out. I wish I had remained skeptical. Yes it straightens, but if I just wanted straighteners I would have bought a pair. This product does not curl! The very best I could get out of it after a good hour's worth of attempts was a slight wave, and only when used on the supposed 'tight curl' setting. The looser curl setting did absolutely nothing. I have very manageable hair in terms of length and thickness and while it is straight when blow dried, it can go into waves/curls when I let it dry naturally and give it a bit of scrunching! The fact that this appliance couldn't even do that is shocking! The complete absence of results was enough to turn me off but the styler is also difficult to use, as to turn the barrel as she does in the ad (I watched them online to make sure I wasn't just using the wrong technique) you have to put your fingers on the pink metal part and black extendable part, both of which heat up nearly as much as the plates. So while trying to rotate the styler you are also trying to avoid putting your finger on metal that is heating up to 210 degrees. Adding to the already risky situation, the two plates themselves are very unstable and slip from side to side when you are trying to rotate the styler, my fingers almost ended up between the plates several times. I am extremely disappointed in this product and wouldn't even recommend it to anyone as a straighter on principle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very handy, 29 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Remington S6600 Stylist Multi Style Advanced Ceramic Styler (Personal Care)
These tongs look good, heat up quickly and are easy to use. The cord is a good length and swivels easily preventing the need for contortionist movement first thing in the morning. My hair is very fine and seems undamaged by almost daily use of this styler.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Remington S6600 Styler, 5 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Remington S6600 Stylist Multi Style Advanced Ceramic Styler (Personal Care)
I found this Remington styler rather cumbersome and heavy after using a much lighter styler, but having got used to it I am happy with it. The ability to alter the blade position to create different hair styles is very useful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars its perfect and easy to use, 3 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Remington S6600 Stylist Multi Style Advanced Ceramic Styler (Personal Care)
i like the color element :) and the video of the product is very helpfull, that's why i choose it and feel happy to use it...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars styler., 8 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Remington S6600 Stylist Multi Style Advanced Ceramic Styler (Personal Care)
bought this for my daughter, it took her a while to work it out, but she rearly likes it she needs to practice doing the curls..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews