Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Shop now Shop now Learn more

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 October 2014
Mine's hopeless. The thing has defeated almost every attempt to get it to record anything. It's actually recorded on one occasion only. Does not record from a program set using the incredibly slow to update EPG most of the time, does not wake up from standby most of the time. If I program it to do both (wake up on one timer and record on another), it's a toss up whether it'll wake up at all, expecting it to wake up AND record seems to be too much of a stretch.
It seems to use one error message for everything, leaving you totally in the dark. It claims settings have been changed when they either haven't (based on the lack of recordings) or simply fails to give you any information to explain why things go wrong when they inevitably do.
The interface is clunky and awkward. It's totally unforgiving...everything has to be done in exactly the right order but it gives you no clue what that order might be. Just pressing the record button while watching something seems to work...programming it to record is a frustrating hit and miss exercise.
Even worse, it kills the antenna signal. Turn the unit off and the signal dies completely, put it on standby and 50% of the time the signal gets so faint the TV gives up on it.
I'll keep persevering with it but so far it's been a complete waste of my time. Not impressed at all.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2013
Bought this for use abroad when renting apartments which may or may not have digital tv. Simple to install all you need is scart lead and if you are recording and an SD card. It will only record using the one tuner so can't record and watch another station but it is more than adequate for our needs. Records in the future or record now so no need to miss programmes when on your hols.
I've had no problems whatsoever and am surprised at how easy the instructions are to use
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2014
for the price, you cant really go wrong.

Its got a rubbish EPG and I cant get a movie from my laptop onto my TV using a USB stick with this (even when I change the file to the correct format), but it's still pretty good.

I didnt try recording onto a USB to replay on my laptop... Im not a caveman- why would I want to do that?

If I could afford it, id definitely chose a more expensive model, for a nicer interface.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2013
It works perfectly! Most of complaints I see in the reviews are due to lack of interest in learning how to operate a simple TV box.
For example, to watch a recording in full screen all you have to do is press the button "USB", select what you want to see with the "UP" and "DOWN" arrows and press "OK", is that hard people???

Yesterday I programed it to record England vs Chile, and it did!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2011
This Freeview Recorder was obtained as a replacement for the same model returned due to a slight fault. This replacement is working perfectly and does exactly what it was bought for. The returns and replacement process was very quick and easy - couldn't be better.
A good product at a good price with excellent customer service.
11 comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2014
This receiver can be used in series with a digital television giving the ability to view one programme whilst recording another. The record function to a memory stick or SD card produces a mpeg file which can be played back directly or easily edited by many video editing programmes such as Pinnacle or MS Moviemaker. In effect you have most of the functionality of a digital video recorder for £20.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2014
Considering the price, this is a bargain!
Who needs multiple GBs of recordable hard drive on a Freeview box when you can just stick it on a USB stick or SD card and then even have the choice of watching on the box or your laptop?
Who needs a hulking great heavy box taking up a whole shelf when this titchy li'l fella could stand alongside your DVDs without being noticed?
Who needs a fully functional EPG when this tells you what's on (after a little waiting)? Ok, so the one provided isn't great, but you can just go online and see a complete set of listings at Radiotimes.com easily enough.
Who needs proper instructions? Just press all the buttons once, then remember what happened each time.
Sure it would be nice to hook it up to my amp, but I can just hook up my tv to my amp instead. Or turn up the volume.
Need I repeat...THIS IS A BARGAIN?! Well, it IS!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2014
First the good news, it works, but not as expected.
1. it's cheap
2. the recordings are quite good
3. setup is fairly striaghtforward
4. the scheduler works ok from standby
5. the recordings are in .mpg format and therefore playable/editable on a PC
6. there are 8 timers
Now the bad news
1. you can only schedule recording to a memory card not to a USB pen drive
It is easier to use the timer/wakeup screens than the EPG (takes to long to populate) to schedule recordings
2. what you schedule doesn't always record
ie the box starts on the right channel then switches to another or records only 5mins or not at all

I have 2 of these and both exhibit the same problems so I really can't recommend them.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2013
Some-one once said that great things come in little packages, and far as this item is concerned it really lives up to its billing.
Ease of use, what it delivers, and what you can do with it, along with its dependability, makes it fantastic. I would and have recommended it to others.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2014
At £18 this compact unit is comparably priced with slightly larger units in the UK that operate as receivers only - however it is fair to say that this unit is cheap for a reason !

Picture quality does appear to be compromised (I was certainly aware of some pixellation on received broadcasts that was imperceptible on other receiving equipment) at I did find setting the timer to record programmes extremely fiddly.

In short - as a gadget to enable watching and recording of received material, it does the job okay but if you are looking for something that does the job better and easier, look at spending some more money on something else !
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 67 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)