Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Angels With Dirty Faces
Okay, so take your classic fantasy world, but imagine for a moment that the elves (or Terrarchs, as they are called here), rather than being benevolent forest-dwelling figures, instead conquered humanity with dragons and sorcery after fleeing their own world. Now advance that world a thousand years, to the point where the overlords with the pointed ears are fighting a...
Published on 26 Nov 2011 by Temple Phoenix

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars good book
This book was, in my opinion, ok.
The basic premise of the storyline held my imagination but I found it did not hold my interest. There were times I could leave it for days or even read an entire book before coming back to this one.

this was a book that was not for me but overall it was well written and enjoyable in the end.
Published 21 months ago by steven williams


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Angels With Dirty Faces, 26 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death's Angels (Volume One of the Terrarch Chronicles) (Kindle Edition)
Okay, so take your classic fantasy world, but imagine for a moment that the elves (or Terrarchs, as they are called here), rather than being benevolent forest-dwelling figures, instead conquered humanity with dragons and sorcery after fleeing their own world. Now advance that world a thousand years, to the point where the overlords with the pointed ears are fighting a protracted civil was using human armies wielding flintlock pistols and rifles.

Straight away, you might gather that King has thrown a few fresh ideas into the genre, and the result is both refreshing and exciting. This story, if I can compare it to anything, reads like a military saga in the Glen Cook/Steven Erikson mould, but written with the pace and flair of Robert E. Howard.

Our main protagonist is Rik, an ex-thief and part-Terrarch halfbreed, as we follow him and his fellow soldiers into battle against their masters' enemies. A mission against a renegade sorcerer leads him into the possession of a set of grimoires, and while his squadmates only see them as a source of profit, he is tempted by the dark secrets they hold...

For you see, in this benighted world, those seeking to overthrow the Terrarch do so by threatening to unleash the Lovecraftian gods and demons that ruled the planet in ancient times. Magic brings madness and corruption, and every soldier wears an Elder Sign for protection.

Rik is well-drawn, neither a shining paragon of virtue nor an outright antihero, just a young man trying his best to get by in a bleak world. The nearest thing we get to a romance is a faltering, clumsy relationship between him and a prostitute, and his friends include the mercenary Weasel and the dull-witted, violent Barbarian.

Our second POV character is Lieutenant Sardec, Rik's commanding officer, an arrogant Terrarch who disdains humans, and Rik in particular for his mixed blood. His is a much less sympathetic but just as interesting viewpoint, showing us some of the political machinations of the immortal race, especially during Sardec's interactions with the ancient, beautiful and magically puissant Lady Asea.

The story builds to a thrilling finale as the characters confront an unholy threat, dark powers are unleashed. This is a wonderfully gritty take on the fantasy genre, and one that I thoroughly enjoyed. More please!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!!, 23 Oct 2011
By 
M. Baikie - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death's Angels (Volume One of the Terrarch Chronicles) (Kindle Edition)
It would very easy to say this is an excellent story combining the best bits of Lovecraft's mythos and Cornwell's Sharpe book series. This would however be very poor service to Mr King's superb writing and storytelling.

Anyone who likes their fantasy liberally sprinkled with rip-roaring action, wit, strong characters and plot should download this amazing tale and the sequels without hesitation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Armies in Darkness, 9 July 2011
By 
Michael Mooney "mrbadexample" (Glasgow) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death's Angels (Volume One of the Terrarch Chronicles) (Kindle Edition)
I'm delighted to see this on Kindle, especially since there are other Terrarch chronicles to follow (hopefully soon!). This background of 19th Century military mixed with battle magic suits Bill's writing to a tee. It has enough difference in setting from the standard medieval fantasy background to be fresh, and plays fair with fantasy staples such as elves, and young innocents picked for a high destiny. With Bill's usual sardonic slant to events, of course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sword, Sorcery and Gunpowder, 31 Jan 2012
By 
Paul T. (West Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death's Angels (Volume One of the Terrarch Chronicles) (Kindle Edition)
A good fantasy story, with a lot of the traditional fantasy elements (elves, barbarians, evil wizards, demons, monsters, etc.) mixed in with gunpowder! The cultural and historical background is very well developed and well communicated, giving the whole story a solid grounding. The characters are well drawn and authentic, and the conclusion manages to be satisfying whilst also leaving plenty of scope for further adventures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best books I've read all year!, 30 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death's Angels (Volume One of the Terrarch Chronicles) (Kindle Edition)
If you're like me and waiting for all the 'next in the series' to come out from the usual authors and have been scouring reviews and Internet sites trying to find a new author to add to the ranks, try this! This is classic adult fantasy and a brilliant, fast paced fun read that had me glued from start to finish.. It's sort of a Glen Cook Black Company (who if you have not read by the way, started the whole dark adult 'real life' fantasy genra and was the inspiration behind Erikson and more) meets Sharpe kinda book.

I can't recommend this enough and it's an astonishing bargain.... it is far, far superior to most of the books you pay over a fiver for and tramples over a lot of the hyped 2012 debuts that I put down after a hundred pages. I don't normally write reviews but having never heard of William King (and I've read almost every fantasy author of note) and the books are so cheap, you sort of feel compelled to write something and shout out to all your fellow readers how good this guy is. Just look at the stars and the ratings - This is one author to watch and this guy goes in my read anything he does category! Oh and don't be put of by the cover, it's a bit naf and needs an update, but the story and pace is oh so good.

So whilst you're waiting for Martin, Lynch, Lloyd, Erikson, Abercrombie, Sanderson etc. etc's next installments, give this a try as you'll not be disappointed.... and you'll have a new one to add to the wish list and frustratingly wait for their next book too.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Terrarch Chronicles, 12 Dec 2011
This review is from: Death's Angels (Volume One of the Terrarch Chronicles) (Kindle Edition)
The first three books in the series are excellent. Not only has King managed to create a world with some truly novel elements, he also also managed to populate it with characters who are refreshingly multidimensional. The evolution of Lieutenant Sardec's character across the first three books is particularly convincing. The last book in the series is, by contrast,weak. Judged on its own merits (it is a fast paced zombie hack and slash) it is fine, but as the conclusion to a smart and original series it is a real disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Death's Angels, 9 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death's Angels (Volume One of the Terrarch Chronicles) (Kindle Edition)
I have to say that I really enjoyed this book, really good easy read with a slightly different take on the heroes perspective of the story.

The hero isn't the fairest one or the most skilled warrior, he's ultimately just a normal guy (as normal as a half elf can be in a world that still plays on prejudice and stereotypes), and has to come into his own as the story progresses. His faithful companions are well presented for what they are which essentially is a bunch of ruffians trying to do the best that they can amidst the chaos of this world.

It is a nice lengthy read and it has done enough to convince me to follow these characters and see where it goes, but I'm sure t will be entertaining all the way through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A thoroughly enjoyable read, 9 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death's Angels (Volume One of the Terrarch Chronicles) (Kindle Edition)
Very well written with great characters. Really enjoyed reading this book and would definitely recommend to all that enjoy fantasy fiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars very good but a slow start, 25 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death's Angels (Volume One of the Terrarch Chronicles) (Kindle Edition)
It took me a couple of restarts over about 6 months to finally get into this book... then I couldn't put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A freebie worth its weight in gold..., 29 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death's Angels (Volume One of the Terrarch Chronicles) (Kindle Edition)
I understand why authors let their first volume of a set go for free. It's a great way of drawing readers in and the readers seem to like the 'try before you buy' approach. I'm one of those readers but so often have been left with a feeling of 'meh' at the end of volume one and not inclined to go further. Not this time. This was great reading -a world carefully crafted, characters you ended up feeling for, lines of wit, action that lived in your imagination, the whole thing an experience I thoroughly enjoyed. I can't wait to read the next ones and will be downloading as soon as I can. It is good to find an author that makes me feel so positive! Thank you Mr King!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews