Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant
Brillant care kit, my gloss hunters were starting to go cloudy even after washing them. When buying this the gloss was returned and look brand new!
Published 24 months ago by NicoleP

versus
47 of 51 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Flawed and not the best care kit for your Hunter boots
I have experience cleaning around eight pairs of glossy Hunter boots and I purchased this kit as several were particularly badly affected with blooming and needed cleaning every two or three days which made them unsellable.

The oil based cleaner works quite well to restore the shine of the boots and it goes quite a long way, unfortunately the silicon...
Published on 7 April 2012 by cassie.girl


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

47 of 51 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Flawed and not the best care kit for your Hunter boots, 7 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hunter Rubber Care Kit Unisex Adult Travel Accessory (Apparel)
I have experience cleaning around eight pairs of glossy Hunter boots and I purchased this kit as several were particularly badly affected with blooming and needed cleaning every two or three days which made them unsellable.

The oil based cleaner works quite well to restore the shine of the boots and it goes quite a long way, unfortunately the silicon impregnated sponge doesn't do a very good job of sealing the surface, neither does it contain much silicon so it's soon gone. A real shame Hunter couldn't gett it right, the kit only kept them nice for a week at best. Fortunately I found a two stage polish by German manufacturer Rubber Doctor who specialise in rubber care and their kit virtually eliminated the blooming on my boots. Although comparable in price the international post makes it expensive, but it's cost effective as one rubber doctor treatment lasts for months on my personal pairs!

I would therefore suggest to buy the Hunter kit from Amazon only if your blooming is not too severe, but definitely make sure you get a treatment of some description. If you neglect them they will dry out, crack and leak. Neither try olive oil because of the acidity and NEVER try nail varnish remover which is another Internet suggestion. Car tyre shine is indistinguishable from Hunter's buffing oil, except it will swell the rubber visibly in minutes so don't be tempted to use this either. I very nearly wrecked one pair of boots trying to save money so save it for the wheels.

Because the boot buffer is available separately for half the kit's price, this could be another way to go as the silicon sponge is so pathetic and I was disappointed the buffing cloth was just an ordinary duster (with Hunter logo) rather than a micro fibre cloth.

Edit: I found a better alternative that's under a fiver and works just as well as Rubber Doctor plus you get 250ml's instead of 125ml so no need to skimp! Try a Google search for 'Fairfields Boot Buff' from LRleisure as these guys really know how to care for rubber gear. Please leave a comment here if you try it. (I have no connection, just a very satisfied customer!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 4 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brillant care kit, my gloss hunters were starting to go cloudy even after washing them. When buying this the gloss was returned and look brand new!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent product, 26 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I followed the instructions and my boots have come back to their original state. Really impressed with this cleaning product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Product, just not enough of it!, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I appreciate that the kit is designed for cleaning Waders or Wellingtons, but I was looking to use it to clean Latex Jeans and a latex shirt, which is why I consider it to be of insufficient volume!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rubber boot care kit, 29 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this for my daughter who go's horse riding, it is for her rubber stable boots. Follow the cleaning instructions and they come up a treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 23 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Super fast shipping and great product! Brand new in box as promised and the products worked perfectly for my Hunter boots, they look brand new after using the products.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 16 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A fantastic product, neatly boxed and fantastically effective. Shines rubber perfectly, brings a new lease of life to Hunter Wellies!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Back from the brink, 8 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Does the job perfectly and brought back to life a very old pair of Hunter wellies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 28 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Works well for my boots and see a change once I use the kit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Happy happy happy :-), 31 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very happy, my hunters look like i have just got them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews