Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars On the crest of a wave...
This new 3 CD set is really on the crest of a wave of musical change. The guitar was now front and centre and with artists such as Duane Eddy leading the way the late 1950s and early 1960s were to become a point of change musically. Who could ever forget the Shadows "Man of Mystery" the theme for the Merton Park film studio's Edgar Wallace film series that was a big hit...
Published on 12 Aug 2011 by C. FULLER

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a bad CD
Some excellent music on here, some not so excellent, great in the background while driving - which i do a lot.
Published 10 months ago by Tim Britton


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars On the crest of a wave..., 12 Aug 2011
By 
C. FULLER (Brixham, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Surf's Comin' [REISSUED & UPDATED] (Audio CD)
This new 3 CD set is really on the crest of a wave of musical change. The guitar was now front and centre and with artists such as Duane Eddy leading the way the late 1950s and early 1960s were to become a point of change musically. Who could ever forget the Shadows "Man of Mystery" the theme for the Merton Park film studio's Edgar Wallace film series that was a big hit for them or indeed Bert Weedon's "Guitar Boogie Shuffle". This collection has many familiar numbers and performers and with a total running time of over 130 minutes and 60 tracks and good sound quality this is a summer treat for those who remember and enjoyed those days. Nicely packaged with a surf set picture and interesting liner notes the slim line packaging makes for easy storage and the price won't hit the wallet either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surf 'n other stuff, 2 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Surf's Comin' [REISSUED & UPDATED] (Audio CD)
3 cd's packed with long forgotten "surf" gems. 75% of the selected tunes are pretty good, both sound quality and songs. The rest of the collection is so/so, Nevertheless a great bargain and worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good compilation of surf instrumentals, 22 Nov 2012
By 
Mike S (Llanidloes, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Surf's Comin' [REISSUED & UPDATED] (Audio CD)
Been on the lookout for a good collection of late-50s and early-60s surf instrumentals (eg The Ventures' Walk Don't Run). Had the CD Revenge of the Surf Instrumentals few years back, which is great but very short and now deleted, so used copies tend to be expensive. Frustrated to find so many of the collections aren't by original artists. Very pleased to come across this triple-album of 60 tracks, all by original artists and digitally remastered for good sound quality. This really is the best compilation of surf instrumentals out there at the moment, at a good price. A few glaring omissions, such as The Chantays' Pipeline and The Surfaris' Wipeout. And some artists (eg Dick Dale) aren't represented by their best known tracks. Conversely, this is a good introduction to lesser-known tracks from the golden age of twangy, guitar-based surf rock'n'roll. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shazam!, 15 Feb 2012
By 
retrofan (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Surf's Comin' [REISSUED & UPDATED] (Audio CD)
Great 3 disc cd filled with some classic tunes.

I challenge you to not be uplifted by the sheer vibrancy and youthful energy of the music on here! Stand out tracks (for me)include 'Walk Don't Run', 'Apache', 'Slinky!', 'Sandstorm' and probably too many more to mention though most of the tracks here are more than worth a listen. Good value for the price I paid and quality stuff. 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic collection for those who are new to the genre, 2 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Surf's Comin' [REISSUED & UPDATED] (Audio CD)
I searched high and low for a decent collection of surf guitar tracks etc and this has not disappointed me at all.

I know many of these songs but it is great having them all across 3 Cd's.

The first disc is the strongest in my opinion as it has Rumble, Apache, Walk don't run and have guitar will travel among other great songs.

The last disc however has my personal favourite called Werewolf by The Frantics, really cool track and a good one to learn on the guitar.

I agree with other reviews that there is an obvious lack of dick dale on this collection and they do throw in some Rockabilly tracks too but I am not complaining as I love rockabilly as well.

It is amazing value and is great for people who are fairly new to this genre and want to have a good retrospective of this brilliant style of music.

Now go and by a surf green guitar a fender amp and some tight shorts :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not a bad CD, 30 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Surf's Comin' [REISSUED & UPDATED] (Audio CD)
Some excellent music on here, some not so excellent, great in the background while driving - which i do a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good buy, 21 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Surf's Comin' [REISSUED & UPDATED] (Audio CD)
Lots of good rare tracks but many very common tracks but for the very reasonable price it was worth it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Surfs Comin, 24 Aug 2013
By 
Quentin M. Sayer (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Surf's Comin' [REISSUED & UPDATED] (Audio CD)
What great CD, fine tunes and many that I h not heard previously. Well worth buying for those who like surfin mu
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A cash in title, 12 May 2012
This review is from: Surf's Comin' [REISSUED & UPDATED] (Audio CD)
While surf was hardly coming via Bert Weedon's cover of the Virtues' Guitar Boogie Shuffle the only thing wrong with this collection is the title.
However a better bet if they needed to include so much British music would have been "Ginchy" which was actually covered by the Ventures
Not sure what they're trying to prove with all the U K instrumentals as 120 of them have been issued on 2 Castle Doubles called Twang and Strung Out.
As surf is American music descended from American instrumentals its only British resence is through covers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 29 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Surf's Comin' [REISSUED & UPDATED] (Audio CD)
Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Surf's Comin' [REISSUED & UPDATED]
Surf's Comin' [REISSUED & UPDATED] by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews