Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An exceptional read! One of the 10 best novels I have read.
CHOIRING OF THE TREES resonates with memorable aspects. Harrington develops the setting of this story in masterful detail, capturing the essence of life in a remote, turn-of-the-century Ozark community called Stay More, Arkansas. Rich with lore and colloquial expressions, this novel is particularly poignant as regional fiction, but excellent literature by anyone's...
Published on 30 July 1998

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Life, Lies & Love
Very well written book of a Spector of life in Arkansas in the early 1900's. Enjoyable reading, even if the chapters seem to be quite long.
Published on 16 Sept. 2012 by Lambchop


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An exceptional read! One of the 10 best novels I have read., 30 July 1998
By A Customer
CHOIRING OF THE TREES resonates with memorable aspects. Harrington develops the setting of this story in masterful detail, capturing the essence of life in a remote, turn-of-the-century Ozark community called Stay More, Arkansas. Rich with lore and colloquial expressions, this novel is particularly poignant as regional fiction, but excellent literature by anyone's standard. The story includes a few actual people from Arkansas history and it graphically portrays the brutality of the Arkansas prison system as it was prior to World War I. CHOIRING. . . is an interesting exploration of justice as well as a touching love story, but most importantly, it is a compelling read. Harrington develops convincing and lovable characters who are hard to abandon when the story is finished, and remarkably, he accomplishes all of this in the voice of a female narrator.
In January, I read bestselling COLD MOUNTAIN by Charles Frazier, and I admired it greatly. CHOIRING OF THE TREE! S, also an odyssey, is in my estimation even better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars provocative,chilling repeat meetings with the electric chair, 20 April 1998
By A Customer
This novel is intricate and unforgettable. The now common phrase Dead Man Walking does not begin to capture the tense, sensitive life of an unfairly doomed man and a woman who takes such chances to love him. Challenges all our ideas about bearing fair witness, justice, and goes on for years. Rich character development, rich writing. A rare find.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A stunningly good story, 12 Aug. 2012
By 
Ignite (East Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Choiring Of The Trees (Stay More series) (Kindle Edition)
This is a stunningly good story - based on a true one - of Nail Chism, an innocent man condemned to death almost 100 years ago. It takes place in Arkansas and the tale of his incarceration, his run-ins with and last minute reprieves from 'Old Sparky' and the absolutley unbelieveable cruelty of the prison guards is completely gripping. The whole town of Stay More from which Nail originates, knows he is innocent and furthermore knows who is guilty. It's a story of Judges, Sherrifs and a Governor all in one another's pockets and all out for their own politial futures. It takes place before women had the vote, yet it is the persistence of the women, one in particular, artist and newspaper reporter Viridis Monday, which refuses to be beaten. On so many occasions I felt their frustration and anger when they tried to make a case for Nail's innocence.

Some of the story is told in the sort of Ozark Mountain dialect which would have been used back then by those with little formal education. To the British ear it takes but a little getting used to and brings the characters very much to life. I loved the characters involved; some were simple country people, some college educated and some thought they were cleverer than they really were. All came together to weave a memorable tapestry of a story. It was harsh, cruel but it was also very beautiful. It's a story I wouldn't have missed for the world. Excellent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A slow burner, 28 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Choiring Of The Trees (Stay More series) (Kindle Edition)
It took me a long time to really get into this book, partly because some of the speech is written how the character spoke it rather than using conventional English. Despite this, as I read on it added to the charm and the ambience of the story.

The narrative is very descriptive, although at first I kept having to remind myself which character was which! What got me into the book though was the repeated descriptions of the sounds that the trees made, and the beautiful nature.

Worth a read if you are determined to stick to the story in hand!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific!, 7 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Choiring Of The Trees (Stay More series) (Kindle Edition)
Having read this, I am now on the lookout for all other books by this author. An amazing find and yet another reason why I have not written a novel myself! If you cannot write like this, you really shouldn't waste anyone else's time. Cannot recommend this highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Choiring of the Trees, 7 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Choiring Of The Trees (Stay More series) (Kindle Edition)
This is an excellent read. It's very reminiscent of The Green Mile or The Shawshank Redemption, that type of plot. The writing is very good and some of the descriptions of the prison violence are gruelling. I recommend it strongly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully written, the story of Nail Chism hooks you ..., 20 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Choiring Of The Trees (Stay More series) (Kindle Edition)
Beautifully written, the story of Nail Chism hooks you right from the start. I couldn't put this down and became totally immersed in the language, lives and scenery of the main characters. A great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars America as it probably was, 22 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Choiring Of The Trees (Stay More series) (Kindle Edition)
Bought this book having read previous reviews which intrigued me. I now intend to read more of Donald harington novels. New author that I really enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Life, Lies & Love, 16 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Choiring Of The Trees (Stay More series) (Kindle Edition)
Very well written book of a Spector of life in Arkansas in the early 1900's. Enjoyable reading, even if the chapters seem to be quite long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 7 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Choiring Of The Trees (Stay More series) (Kindle Edition)
Oh dear, sorry I couldn't be bothered with this book - far too dreary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews