Customer Reviews


567 Reviews
5 star:
 (382)
4 star:
 (135)
3 star:
 (32)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


292 of 298 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Kashmir Shawl by Rosie Thomas
Fans of Rosie Thomas will love this well researched novel, with its vibrant tastes of a bygone life in India, it's breathtaking descriptions evoking rich visual images of life in the heights of Kashmir, a rich valley spreading ahead, and the comparisons of parallel lives both in the Welsh mountains and the highlands of Switzerland. Yet within this background unfolds the...
Published on 14 Aug 2011 by Ismay1012

versus
20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Predictable.
Two interweaving narratives, one set 70 years ago in India with the main protagonist, Welsh missionary wife, Nerys Watkins. The other, set in the present, tells the story of Mair, the grand daughter of Nerys.
Not at all difficult to follow and some of the descriptions capture, the sights, sounds and smells of India. BUT there were too many descriptions which did...
Published 21 months ago by Hilary


‹ Previous | 1 257 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

292 of 298 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Kashmir Shawl by Rosie Thomas, 14 Aug 2011
By 
Ismay1012 - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Kashmir Shawl (Paperback)
Fans of Rosie Thomas will love this well researched novel, with its vibrant tastes of a bygone life in India, it's breathtaking descriptions evoking rich visual images of life in the heights of Kashmir, a rich valley spreading ahead, and the comparisons of parallel lives both in the Welsh mountains and the highlands of Switzerland. Yet within this background unfolds the story of a quest to discover the truth about the life of Mair's grandmother, the wife of a Welsh missionary, who 70 years previously had been called to a frugal life helping the poor in these northern regions of India, and in particular her quest to discover the story of the valuable, priceless Kashmir Shawl.

The two stories are intertwined throughout the book - the story of Mair's grandmother Nerys and of Mair's quest- her research through personal letters, use of technology and finally by following in her mother's footsteps and meeting locals in Kashmir who may be able to assist her. Slowly the pieces link together, times gone by when, during the war years a baby is born as the result of an adulterous affair, lives are tragically lost. Mair travels through three countries in two continents before she has unravelled her grandmother's story and can travel back to India to disclose what she has discovered and complete the circle.

This story is meticulous in its historical and geographical research and also reveals a tender story of first love, loyalty, bravery, treachery, determination and hope. It's a real page-turner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


121 of 124 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great novel to lose yourself in, 11 Oct 2011
By 
elsie purdon "reads too much" (dorset uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Kashmir Shawl (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I really enjoyed this book . Its one of those book's you can relax and sink into, curled up in an armchair or indeed anywhere.
Most of the story takes place in Kashmir . This part of the world has the Himalayas as the most stunning backdrop and is where both timelines in the novel unfold as we discover the reason why Mair's grandmother had the most beautiful and valuable shawl hidden away and no-one in the family knew anything about it.
Back in 1941 we meet Nerys (grandma) as she and her husband Evan run a mission and school in remote parts of northern India and bordering Tibet. Nery's life is about to change and she is the core of the book.

I found myself totally lost in their world and always felt jolted when the story moved to current times. I prefer the older time line, it was a romantic, fascinating time and I loved the little details of Srinagar life. More so the village of Kanihama where the shawl was made. the lives of those villagers became very real to me, we are also reading the beginnings of the troubles that are of course still going on. So its not all romantic, there is a good piece of real life too.
I really think that Rosie Thomas has done great research and created a world I could really believe in. Also I liked reading the three friends pulling together and showing the positive side of female friendship, in a time when women were seen as decorative but actually were as strong as steel.
The modern day timeline has its own dramas and is also interesting though my heart is till in the 1940"s.
A great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spellbinding, 9 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Kashmir Shawl (Paperback)
This is one of the most engaging books l have read. It covers 2 different family members, one a welsh newlywed from before the war situated in India and one from today,The story situated in India is descriptive and emotionally charged with dangerous friendships and innocence. Today story with the granddaughter gets you totally involved as she tries to unravel the story of a hidden shawl discovered after her grandmothers death. If you love a good story, a mixture of love intrigue and friendship can all be found in this novel, this one is an absolute must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


92 of 102 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 8 Aug 2011
This review is from: The Kashmir Shawl (Paperback)
This is vintage Rosie Thomas and her best book since 'The Sun at Midnight'! In fact, it piqued my interest so much that I was even moved to google Kashmir to find out more about the area and to see pictures of the things and places that were described in the novel. A really cracking story about characters who became so real to me by the end of the book, that I almost want to keep in touch with them when I'd finished reading it - as is so often the case with Rosie Thomas's writing. I was torn between wanting to gobble this book up as quickly as possible and wanting to ration my reading in order to savour it for as long as possible, but, in actual fact, once I'd started it, I simply couldn't put it down. A really fantastic read and bonus points for enabling me to become much better informed about Kashmir, an area that is now on my travel wishlist!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!, 29 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Kashmir Shawl (Kindle Edition)
I absolutely loved this book and read it from beginning to end during a flight from Singapore to London. The descriptions of India are so vivid and real and the whole story floats along beautifully, being both gripping and heartrending.
I thoroughly recommend this and am now going to read more by this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rosie Thomas back to her best!, 18 Aug 2011
This review is from: The Kashmir Shawl (Kindle Edition)
I have read all of Rosie Thomas' books and enjoyed some more than others, however The Kashmir Shawl is a really excellent read which I thoroughly enjoyed - well-researched, beautifully written and with an interesting, original plotline which keeps you hanging without being overly complex. Much better than her last offering Lovers & Newcomers (although I enjoyed that too) - this is more along Iris & Ruby lines and all the better for it. Thank you Rosie - hope the next one is well underway?! ;-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Predictable., 19 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Kashmir Shawl (Paperback)
Two interweaving narratives, one set 70 years ago in India with the main protagonist, Welsh missionary wife, Nerys Watkins. The other, set in the present, tells the story of Mair, the grand daughter of Nerys.
Not at all difficult to follow and some of the descriptions capture, the sights, sounds and smells of India. BUT there were too many descriptions which did not enhance the story. I also found it difficult to relate to either of the two main characters. Nerys, seems to flit from almost puritanical wife to brazen lover and I couldn't fathom cicus performer Mair at all. The natures and personalities of Myrtle, Caroline and Rainer were depicted much more clearly.
Two thirds of the way through i was beginning to yawn, as there were far too many "coincidences" and the final outcome too predicatable.
I did finish the book but just wish the end had come a bit sooner!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 34 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Kashmir shawl - dull, 31 May 2012
By 
JM (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Kashmir Shawl (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I was really looking forward to reading this book after seeing a lot of glowing reviews. However I was left feeling somewhat disappointed. Instead of the heartwarming story I was hoping to become engrossed in, what I found was more of a guide book to India with a bit of a story thrown in.
The story starts off with Mair and her siblings in present day Wales, clearing out their father's things after his death. Amongst them they discover a beautiful shawl that belonged to their maternal grandmother with a lock of hair hidden it. Mair decides she will trace her grandparents' footsteps to India where they lived in the 1940s.
We are then transported to the times of her grandmother Nerys. This is a tale of three friends who lived in India and spent much of their lives together while their husbands were away. There are dramas in their lives which have repurcussions down the years.
Sadly for me neither the story nor the characters ever came to life, I found the descriptions of India rather excessive and the story was dull. I'm obviously in the minority here as lots of other readers have loved it but although I am a big fan of these types of dual narrative books over different time periods, regrettably this was one of my least favourites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A really well-woven tale..., 15 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Kashmir Shawl (Kindle Edition)
The Kashmir Shawl is a truly moving story set over two time scales which draws the reader into the lives of the characters. It painted a vivid image of a part of India I knew little about. The events linking the characters may have been a little contrived but it made an involving and interesting read which I enjoyed to the very last page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good Rosie Thomas, but not the best, 27 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Kashmir Shawl (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this story. In fact it's two in parallel, grand daughter's and grand mother's. The grand mother part brought to life bits of the old Raj in Srinagar and I enjoyed that a lot. The grand daughter's part felt a bit more disjointed and seemed to peeter out, perhaps much like real life, that lives often have great excitement in mid life, but then goes much more quiet. All the same, I liked it and would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 257 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Kashmir Shawl
The Kashmir Shawl by Rosie Thomas
£1.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews