Customer Reviews


176 Reviews
5 star:
 (96)
4 star:
 (55)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


51 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There's Hope for the prequel yet!
Ben Hope is back in this action-packed novella by Scott Mariani. When an old comrade dies in a mysterious plane crash Hope starts to investigate in his typical work hard/play hard style. The tension and pace mount as Mariani leads you along another gritty adventure as information supplied by his friend's daughter leads to a cover-up and conspiracy involving international...
Published on 19 July 2011 by Andy

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as it might have been
Seems to have been written as a "filler". Poor finish leaving one rather flat, especially after all that action. Pity
Published 11 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

51 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There's Hope for the prequel yet!, 19 July 2011
This review is from: Passenger 13 (Ben Hope eBook originals) (Kindle Edition)
Ben Hope is back in this action-packed novella by Scott Mariani. When an old comrade dies in a mysterious plane crash Hope starts to investigate in his typical work hard/play hard style. The tension and pace mount as Mariani leads you along another gritty adventure as information supplied by his friend's daughter leads to a cover-up and conspiracy involving international terrorism. This prequel fills in gaps in Hope's background that addicted readers like me will love as we get to know him better. I was a bit dubious, prequels having been a bit over-used of late, but I'm pleased to say that my reservations were unfounded - this is another great thriller in its own right and a great way to introduce new readers to the character. The writing is as snappy and fast-paced as the predecessors - read it this morning and now can't wait for the next in the series. Hurry up Scott! Eh-hem, I mean, Mr. Mariani!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How it all began, 13 July 2011
By 
Kate (Oxford, Oxon United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Passenger 13 (Ben Hope eBook originals) (Kindle Edition)
As a big fan of the Ben Hope series of books, I was aware this prequel eBook (a stop gap before the publication of Ben Hope 7) was on the way but wasn't sure when. I am very glad it is now here and snapped it up!

This short novel (can easily be read in one or two sittings) is set a few years before the first Hope novel The Alchemist's Secret (Ben Hope 1). The archaeological/historical element is removed and instead we have a tight and focused thriller. SAS soldier Hope is on medical leave from Iraq, having taken a bullet. The leave is interrupted by the news that his former comrade, Nick Chapman, has killed himself. Even worse is the news that he did it by crashing onto a reef a small passenger jet that he was piloting, incinerating everyone on board. Chapman had shown signs of depression before and so it's not treated as suspicious but when his frightened daughter meets with Ben after the funeral and plays back a secret message from her father, recorded on the plane to her voice mail, it's clear that something else sinister happened on that plane. Something that other people will kill to keep quiet. Ben soon finds himself in the Caribbean on their trail.

Set against a background of international terrorism and conspiracy, this is as well written as one would expect from Scott Mariani. It is different from the later Hope series (considerably shorter, no historical element) but if those books made you want to know more about this charismatic, hard living, hard drinking and often solitary hero, then this book just does the trick. If you're new to Ben Hope, this would be a great place to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How Hope began!, 20 July 2011
This review is from: Passenger 13 (Ben Hope eBook originals) (Kindle Edition)
This is a great prequel to the rest of the series, which I enjoyed just as much as this. I can't get enough of the dashing and daring Ben Hope for some reason. The action is intense and the plot thickens as Hope uncovers a shadowy conspiracy after the death of his friend. Up close and personal! Can't wait for the next one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A gripping story, 27 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Passenger 13 (Ben Hope eBook originals) (Kindle Edition)
Great story line and compelling reading. Appeals to conspiracy theorist in each of us. Would recommend it for any discerning reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good prequel, 20 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Passenger 13 (Ben Hope eBook originals) (Kindle Edition)
Well I haven't finished reading the main books in this series but found reading the prequel gives a bit more insight into Ben Hope's character. Looking forward to the next one. If you are enjoying the main books you'll enjoy this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good, 4 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Passenger 13 (Ben Hope eBook originals) (Kindle Edition)
It's good to know where Ben hope started but ending could have been just a bit longer for what laid ahead
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fast & Furious, 11 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Passenger 13 (Ben Hope eBook originals) (Kindle Edition)
Ben hope is a great character and makes you wish you had a protector like him in your real life! This book is real easy to read and get into, plus
keeps you enthralled through out. Can't wait for the next one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Action, adventure and intrigue abound (0.5), 6 Dec 2012
By 
Juliet Foster "Life's better in Red" (Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Passenger 13 (Ben Hope eBook originals) (Kindle Edition)
I'm wondering if I can claim some sort of compensation from Mr Mariani for the number of dinners I've burned because I picked up one of his books for `five minutes' while things were cooking. They greatly accelerate the passage of time whilst simultaneously diverting the attention from, say, the smell of smoke from the kitchen.

Passenger 13, e-book prequel, no less absorbing and action packed as the, count them, seven books in the Ben Hope series and requiring no prior reading of said books to pick up. If you have read any of the others, neither does it spoil any of those.

Now, it is a prequel, so Ben's a bit younger and a little bit greener than readers of those seven books are used to. But that's the thing about Ben - he learns fast, acts fast and adapts fast. Almost as fast as he drinks his single malt in fact, which I'm fairly sure he was weaned on.

Yes, we see the traps coming but as ever it's not about the getting caught, it's about the getting out again otherwise we'd not see them either and our Ben is nothing if not resourceful. Fans of the series know that Mariani isn't afraid to make the root of the mystery as shady and far reaching as we dare believe. Passenger 13 gives food for thought that will make the day of any conspiracy theorist out there.

It's interesting to see what happened before The Alchemist's Secret and just what drove Hope to follow his own path. You might know it would be no simple matter!

Another rip-roaring Mariani mayhem-fest. I burned not only dinner but also dessert!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Welll written and kept the suspence until the end, 19 July 2012
By 
Edward Topping (Lincs, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Passenger 13 (Ben Hope eBook originals) (Kindle Edition)
A really good book, easily read and well written. A twist at the end kept you interested all the way intil th last page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Slim volume, 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Passenger 13 (Ben Hope eBook originals) (Kindle Edition)
This is the sort of tale for a journey of a couple of hours. That's all it will take to read it through. Compared to the regular Ben Hope hostage-expert books which are more carefully plotted I found it rather formulaic in the sense that scenes of extreme violence seem to appear at regular intervals. To get the story galloping along the author rides roughly over likely hoods and employs some fairly unlikely coincidences. That said, I enjoyed the book and will probably by more of these Ben Hope ebooks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews