Customer Reviews


211 Reviews
5 star:
 (119)
4 star:
 (65)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


52 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There's Hope for the prequel yet!
Ben Hope is back in this action-packed novella by Scott Mariani. When an old comrade dies in a mysterious plane crash Hope starts to investigate in his typical work hard/play hard style. The tension and pace mount as Mariani leads you along another gritty adventure as information supplied by his friend's daughter leads to a cover-up and conspiracy involving international...
Published on 19 July 2011 by Andy

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as it might have been
Seems to have been written as a "filler". Poor finish leaving one rather flat, especially after all that action. Pity
Published 20 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

52 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There's Hope for the prequel yet!, 19 July 2011
This review is from: Passenger 13 (Ben Hope eBook originals) (Kindle Edition)
Ben Hope is back in this action-packed novella by Scott Mariani. When an old comrade dies in a mysterious plane crash Hope starts to investigate in his typical work hard/play hard style. The tension and pace mount as Mariani leads you along another gritty adventure as information supplied by his friend's daughter leads to a cover-up and conspiracy involving international terrorism. This prequel fills in gaps in Hope's background that addicted readers like me will love as we get to know him better. I was a bit dubious, prequels having been a bit over-used of late, but I'm pleased to say that my reservations were unfounded - this is another great thriller in its own right and a great way to introduce new readers to the character. The writing is as snappy and fast-paced as the predecessors - read it this morning and now can't wait for the next in the series. Hurry up Scott! Eh-hem, I mean, Mr. Mariani!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How it all began, 13 July 2011
By 
Kate (Oxford, Oxon United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Passenger 13 (Ben Hope eBook originals) (Kindle Edition)
As a big fan of the Ben Hope series of books, I was aware this prequel eBook (a stop gap before the publication of Ben Hope 7) was on the way but wasn't sure when. I am very glad it is now here and snapped it up!

This short novel (can easily be read in one or two sittings) is set a few years before the first Hope novel The Alchemist's Secret (Ben Hope 1). The archaeological/historical element is removed and instead we have a tight and focused thriller. SAS soldier Hope is on medical leave from Iraq, having taken a bullet. The leave is interrupted by the news that his former comrade, Nick Chapman, has killed himself. Even worse is the news that he did it by crashing onto a reef a small passenger jet that he was piloting, incinerating everyone on board. Chapman had shown signs of depression before and so it's not treated as suspicious but when his frightened daughter meets with Ben after the funeral and plays back a secret message from her father, recorded on the plane to her voice mail, it's clear that something else sinister happened on that plane. Something that other people will kill to keep quiet. Ben soon finds himself in the Caribbean on their trail.

Set against a background of international terrorism and conspiracy, this is as well written as one would expect from Scott Mariani. It is different from the later Hope series (considerably shorter, no historical element) but if those books made you want to know more about this charismatic, hard living, hard drinking and often solitary hero, then this book just does the trick. If you're new to Ben Hope, this would be a great place to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How Hope began!, 20 July 2011
This review is from: Passenger 13 (Ben Hope eBook originals) (Kindle Edition)
This is a great prequel to the rest of the series, which I enjoyed just as much as this. I can't get enough of the dashing and daring Ben Hope for some reason. The action is intense and the plot thickens as Hope uncovers a shadowy conspiracy after the death of his friend. Up close and personal! Can't wait for the next one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a good action thriller, 3 Aug. 2011
By 
Parm (A bookshop near you) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Passenger 13 (Ben Hope eBook originals) (Kindle Edition)
I have not read anything by this author before, but i like a good action adventure thriller, at 49p i thought why not, a quick brain clean before the next serious read.
Have to say i was not disapointed, this was as i understand it a prequel to a longer running series and showed in that the character is well formed and is alive on the page already, the writing is fast / pacy and the book crammed with action and fun.

I can offer no better praise than im off to get book 1 of the series.

well worth a read for a fun

(Parm)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ben Hope Passenger 13, 16 Sept. 2011
This review is from: Passenger 13 (Ben Hope eBook originals) (Kindle Edition)
I was not aware of this book coming out but as a fan of the others I was really extatic that I had this to read on holiday. Unfortunatley I read the entire book by the time i got off the plane and now can't wait for the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cracking Read, 22 Aug. 2011
By 
Ms Elliott "MonsterReader" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Passenger 13 (Ben Hope eBook originals) (Kindle Edition)
This is the first Ben Hope book that I've read. Although it's quite short I thoroughly enjoyed the fast paced action packed read. Really looking forward to reading some more about Ben Hope.

Happy Reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, well written, 22 Sept. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Passenger 13 (Ben Hope eBook originals) (Kindle Edition)
first of Mariani's books i have read but immediately bought the first of the Hope series on completion! A great read amd storyline!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Finding the thirteenth, 12 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Passenger 13 (Ben Hope eBook originals) (Kindle Edition)
Big sweep of unfolding mystery, Ben Hope is still recovering from an injury when he learns of the death of a dear friend, and witnesses the killing of that friends daughter, he sets out to avenge the deaths, whilst investigating on Grand Cayman he stumbles upon a dark ops team that work for an international syndicate of big money and influence. His skills and strength carry him forward to a thrilling finale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars At Last , More Ben Hope! A prequel, 10 Aug. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Passenger 13 (Ben Hope eBook originals) (Kindle Edition)
Having read all of the Ben Hope Seties (1-6) I was very excited to see this release and bought it straight away.
I couldn't wait for my morning commute to work so that I could begin reading.
By day two I had finished and once again was not disappointed by this series of books.

Cannot wait for more!!!!

Hurry Scott!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant as usual!, 29 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Passenger 13 (Ben Hope eBook originals) (Kindle Edition)
I am a big fan of the Ben Hope series and have read them all to date or so I thought so was overjoyed to discover this to download whilst on holiday.

This is a prequel to the Ben Hope series so no need to worry you will be reading any spoilers to the series. Passenger 13 is excellently written, the usual page-turner expected from Scott Mariani. My only problem is that his books are so well writen, his style of writing flows so well that suddenly you have finished the book. Excellent read, can't wait for the next one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Passenger 13 (Ben Hope eBook originals)
£1.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews