Customer Reviews


426 Reviews
5 star:
 (322)
4 star:
 (77)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great recipes but lacking a decent contents page
A great book full of well known recipes, most of which I will eventually try. A bargain for £5. Unfortunately, the contents page is useless with just six section pages (e.g 'show-off food', birthday treats' etc). Decided I wouldnt use the book much if I had to browse through every page to find inspiration or to find a recipe a second time so spent ages creating a proper...
Published 11 months ago by D. Wells

versus
31 of 38 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Check before you bake
A friend and I both tried the Sticky date Cake recipe. Having spent on ingredients we were both disappointed to realize there is a miss print on this page. Our cakes were burnt through as the book gives a cooking time of 2 and a half hours. Checking on the web site showed it only needed 1 and 3 quarter hours. An expensive mistake. I only hope the rest of the book is more...
Published on 2 Feb 2010 by Joe Stanley


‹ Previous | 1 243 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great recipes but lacking a decent contents page, 3 Jan 2014
A great book full of well known recipes, most of which I will eventually try. A bargain for £5. Unfortunately, the contents page is useless with just six section pages (e.g 'show-off food', birthday treats' etc). Decided I wouldnt use the book much if I had to browse through every page to find inspiration or to find a recipe a second time so spent ages creating a proper contents page. Hopefully, some others will find it useful:-

Beer Battered Fish 10
The Best Chips Ever 11
Minced Meat Plate Pie 14
Cheese Pie 16
Chilli Con Carne 19
Beany Mince 19
Rumpy Pumpy Soup 20
Yellow Split Pea And Ham Soup 20
Tandoori Chicken Samosas 22
Traditional Samosas 26
Veggie Samosas 27
Mince & Dumplings 29
Boiled Leek And Onion Pudding 31
Steak And Kidney Pudding 32
Crumpets 36
Lemon Drizzle Cake 39
Butterfly Cakes 40
Mrs Miller's Empire Biscuits 40
Bran Loaf 41
Rocky Road 41
Millionaire's Shortbread 41
Fougasse A L'anchois 45
Cheese Nibbles 46
Coffee Kisses 46
Lemon, Ginger And Blueberry Flan 48
A New Look At Scones 49
Chicken In Brandy 52
Mustard Mash 52
Lemon Souffle 54
Proper Prawn Cocktail 57
Foolproof Mayonnaise 57
Sult 59
Kringel 60
Roosa-Manna 63
Whole Poached Salmon 64
Coronation Chicken 66
Baked Alaska 68
Honey And Marmalade Roasted Gammon 70
Quick Dill Pickled Cabbage 71
Apple Compote 71
Lill's Pretzels 74
Guinea Fowl With Red Chilli 76
Yam Balls 77
Meat And Potato Pie 81
Piccalilli 82
Tomato Chutney 82
Dave's Mam's Killer Fishcakes 84
Spicy Roasted Chicken 86
Curried Salmon 88
Harjinder's Pakoras 90
Mint Chutney 90
Puris 91
Yoghurt Boondi 91
Kedgeree 91
Chicken Curry 94
Rhoda's Chicken Curry 97
Pan Haggerty 98
Green Bean Soup 100
Portuguese Fish And Chips 103
Traditional Rice Pudding 104
Portuguese Rice Pudding 105
Balinese Rice Pudding 105
Potted Shrimps 108
Melba Toast 108
Spaghetti Alla Carbonara 110
Mutton Curry With Sauce 112
Curried Potatoes 113
Sesame Chutney 113
Summer Berry Trifle 116
Curried Mutton 118
Sky Juice 119
Saturday Soup 122
Cottage Pie 127
Stuffed Vine Leaves 128
Basticho 132
Very Special Chocolate Mousse Trio 134
Sausage Plait 136
Manchester Tart 139
Snow Queen 140
Chocolate Sauce 140
Welsh Griddle Cakes 143
Muttar Paneer 144
Mushroom Risotto 148
Roast Beef And Yorkshire Pudding 150
Yorkshire Pudding 151
Toad In The Hole 151
Best Ever Roast Potatoes 154
Horseradish Sauce 154
Apple And Blackberry Crumble 159
Home-Made Custard 159
Lemon Meringue Pie 160
Texas Cornbread 162
Southern Cornbread 162
Pork Bbq Tibs And Boston Baked Beans 165
Buttermilk Pie 166
Key Lime Pie 169
Bread And Butter Pudding 170
Smoked Eel And Pancetta Salad 172
Turbot With Shrimp Sauce 175
Roast Saddle Of Venison 176
Game Chips 177
Seak And Al Pie 180
Perfect Cauliflower Cheese 183
Rum Babas 184
Spotted Dick 186
Sweet And Sour Pork Hong Kong Style 188
Sticky Ginger And Soy Chicken Wings 192
Auntie Taz's Chaat Masala Mix 192
Spinach, Carrot And Potato Pakaoras 193
Chana Chaat 193
Scotch Eggs 196
Nargis Kebabs 196
Courgette Fritters 199
Victoria Sandwich 201
Yummy Biscuits 201
Game Pie 202
Hot Chicken Salad 205
Maryland Chicken 206
Sticky Date Pudding 208
Blackberry And Apple Pie 213
Treacle Tart 214
Chicken And Vegetable Stir Fry 217
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


198 of 212 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yes, mum does know best, 14 Jan 2010
I started watching this series on the TV last week and frantically searched the web for the recipes featured - but to no avail. As soon as I saw this book for pre-sale I ordered it immediately and eagerly awaited its arrival.

The book has recently been received and I am very impressed with its content; easy to follow recipes which are not full of strange ingredients you wouldn't find in an "ordinary" kitchen and best of all meals which can remind you of your childhood and are a pleasure to both cook and eat.

Not only that but other foods which different cultures eat and are a great addition to meals which you ordinarily cook. The pictures alone have me salivating and quoting Si "oooohh look at that, man".

I have bought a couple of previous books by The Hariy Bikers and I have not bothered making many of the recipes, however, this is not the case with this book, I know I will return to this time and time again for hearty, family friendly, delicious meals.

Edit made 25/01/10
Urgent note to anyone purchasing this book, once you start dishing out biscuits to friends and family, you will find that you are inundated with requests for more - this has proved to be costly but I am now a family favourite! Beware!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Food for All, 8 Mar 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book was purchased after watching the series on TV, and it has not disappointed, in fact it has exceeded expectations.
The recipes are all good honest food, that are just as the title suggests "Mums Know Best" we have tried 3 already, which is unknown with all the previous cookbooks that my wife has accumulated over the years.
We would recommend this cookbook to anyone, absolutely FIRST CLASS
Try the Cottage Pie !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars HAIRY BIKERS BEST BOOK YET, 5 Mar 2010
By 
After watching the series on tv just had to buy this book. I have tried quite a few of the recipes and every one was a winner. The recipe for shortcrust pastry is well worth a try. It's really lovely
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Hairy Biker book yet!, 15 Jan 2010
For me this is easily the best Hairies book yet. Full of family recipes, both from Britain and further afield. A great tie in book for a fabulous TV series.

The recipes are very do-able, and great for family cooking, although it'd be a shame not to share them with friends too!

A facinating sort of history of home cooking, from Mums in this country for Mums (go on then, Dads too) everywhere. I find is really interesting to see recipes and food that other people have as their traditional family food, and the recipes that carry on down through the generations.

Both Dave and Si have very good palates, both for the simple and the complex, this coupled with their inimitable style makes this one a winner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a Fab Cook Book, 9 Mar 2010
By 
J. Wood "Joanne" (Redcar, Cleveland U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I recently bought the hairy bikers mums know best cook book after watching the tv series and I have to say I am very impressed with the content. My boyfriend and I made vegetable pakoras on Saturday with the Ghurka Muttton curry and it was delicious I also made the berovian love sponge cake in the book too I did see somebody comment about how they forgot to put measurements in the cook book for this recipie but you justw eigh your eggs and however much your eggs weigh you weigh the same amount for butter sugar and flour so very simple recipie all in all a great book and hope they make another mums know best series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blast from the past, 21 Jan 2010
By 
William Avery - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you saw the series and know you want the recipes, this is a well put together book with excellent photographs, clear decent size print, and a robust binding suitable for the kitchen. If you are not familiar with the series, be aware that one man's "comfort food", which is what many of these recipes are, is another man's stodge. Since many of the recipes were collected from mothers and grandmothers, the repertoire of traditional English food presented here is full of things that will stick to your ribs, and probably your hips, such as Sausage Plait and Treacle Tart.

However, a substantial portion of the recipes are not traditional English, but South Asian ("Indian"), US, Estonian, Portuguese and so on. These are likely to be the ones of most interest to experienced UK cooks, and I'm looking forward to trying some of them out. Sadly there are no Polish recipes: I do enjoy Polish food.

Most of the recipes are for quantities to feed six or eight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 5 Mar 2010
By 
D. M. Nicholson (Oxfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I love this book! Loved the series, then bought the book, and I remain very impressed with the content.

So far I've made the Empire biscuits, the mince and onion plate pie and the lemon meringue pie. All were fabulous, easy to follow recipes - although I would suggest a little more cornflour in the filling of the lemon meringue pie as mine didn't set quite as well as I'd hoped...still tasted gorgeous though!

I've got plans to make loads more - in particular the spicier food; samosas, curries and the like.

In my opinion, definitely one to have on your shelf!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 61 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Back to basics cookery with fun, 17 Jan 2010
By 
M. Kirkland "Mo" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
As one of the 'VIP mums' featured in the first programme (cheese pie,rumpy pumpy soup and chilli) I bought the book for my 3 children,partly as a reminder of a two great days with the boys but also that they would see my family recipes written down for the first time! I am delighted with the book,easy recipes,easy to follow. I hope it inspires many people to 'go back to basics'and put the 'F' back into cooking....FUN!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 38 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Check before you bake, 2 Feb 2010
A friend and I both tried the Sticky date Cake recipe. Having spent on ingredients we were both disappointed to realize there is a miss print on this page. Our cakes were burnt through as the book gives a cooking time of 2 and a half hours. Checking on the web site showed it only needed 1 and 3 quarter hours. An expensive mistake. I only hope the rest of the book is more carefully proof read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 243 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews