Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgic recipes
This reproduction of a wartime recipe book is both nostalgic and useful. In today's credit crunch world many of the recipes are ideal for cash strapped families because they provide a balanced diet from low cost ingredients. The recipes are easy to follow and can be adapted where necessary. The book also includes several advertisements/recipes from some well known names...
Published on 25 May 2009 by C. FULLER

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars wartime recipes
comprehensive guide for young and old into wartime foods and rationing. I was looking for recipes for a WI competition for war time tea.As there were loads of titles to choose from pure luck that I picked this book. There is a lot of information about foods availiable and methods used on how to enrich bland foods.The book was in excellent condition and I will include it...
Published on 15 Mar 2010 by C. Bamford


Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgic recipes, 25 May 2009
By 
C. FULLER (Brixham, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This reproduction of a wartime recipe book is both nostalgic and useful. In today's credit crunch world many of the recipes are ideal for cash strapped families because they provide a balanced diet from low cost ingredients. The recipes are easy to follow and can be adapted where necessary. The book also includes several advertisements/recipes from some well known names such as Weetabix. The wipe clean coating keeps the book clean.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars wartime recipes, 15 Mar 2010
By 
C. Bamford (derbyshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
comprehensive guide for young and old into wartime foods and rationing. I was looking for recipes for a WI competition for war time tea.As there were loads of titles to choose from pure luck that I picked this book. There is a lot of information about foods availiable and methods used on how to enrich bland foods.The book was in excellent condition and I will include it in my competition display.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars we'll Eat Again, 3 May 2010
By 
David J. Delancie (Croydon, Surrey. UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My Grand mother had an original volume of this cook book. Sadly on her death in 1976 they were disposed of and became lost.

Not only was there a certain nostalgia value in obtaining this volume and its companion fascimle. In these times of austerity the recipes remain relevant today for those of us on very restricted budgets. As a proffesional Chef its amazing how much of modern dishes classified as traditional were created during the rationing period (1940-1958)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good social document, 22 Jan 2014
By 
Skylady (West Midlands) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An interesting little book with lots of reproduced recipes and ideas. Not sure many would be very practical today but nevertheless an interesting addition to your bookshelf if you are interested in how Britain survived WW2 on coupons and limited resources.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value., 17 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I ordered this for my wife who collects all kinds of recipe books. They must be ok cos I'm Still alive and kicking!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 13 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Fare: A Book of Wartime Recipes (Daily Telegraph) (Kindle Edition)
So many ideas n odd combinations that work. Glad I can read about it rather than having to be that inventive
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews