Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Two gangland legends in candid and shocking conversation
This book was not what I expected.
Not an autobiography by any standard, it combines two Gangland legends and relates their tales and feelings in recorded conversations over a period of time. Fred comes across as his naturally amusing and vastly experienced self, with Tony cast as the knowledgeable listener throughout the first part of this book.
As events...
Published on 9 Jun 2002 by Mr. Roy Ellor

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Getting it straight
My first kindle book just finished , interesting gangster book, told in there own words , Tony seams in awe of Freddie
Published 17 months ago by wayne


Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Two gangland legends in candid and shocking conversation, 9 Jun 2002
By 
Mr. Roy Ellor "Roy Ellor" (Salford, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book was not what I expected.
Not an autobiography by any standard, it combines two Gangland legends and relates their tales and feelings in recorded conversations over a period of time. Fred comes across as his naturally amusing and vastly experienced self, with Tony cast as the knowledgeable listener throughout the first part of this book.
As events unfold in real time during this recorded period, we get an intensely personal look into these two characters. Tony Lambrianou opens up spectacularly, his true feelings and opinions on his sacrifice for the Kray firm coming to the fore in an emotionally-charged section. Freddie also lets us in to his emotions too when he relates his experience at the deathbed of Reggie Kray and the moment when Reg passed away. This throws up many previously untold details about the tensions caused at that time.
Their conversation threw up some previously unrecorded events and actions too. Some I found shocking. I won't spoil the book by relating them, but you will be surprised! Both also comment on the fan culture that has sprung up around sixties gang members and the way they are imitated today.
A must-read for the student of sixties gangland culture as it adds so much to the books already published by many of those people, and a must-read for true crime fans too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Freddie Speaks, 29 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Getting it Straight: Villains Talking (Kindle Edition)
Great book of the two villains nattering about their side of their experiences. Great book if you understand the lingo
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Getting it straight, 5 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Getting it Straight: Villains Talking (Kindle Edition)
My first kindle book just finished , interesting gangster book, told in there own words , Tony seams in awe of Freddie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book, 10 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My grandad was around in the days this book was written about and having heardhis stories is was great to read more. very insightful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars NICE READ, 7 May 2014
By 
Jr Hyams (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Getting it Straight: Villains Talking (Kindle Edition)
WELL I HAVE READ LOADS OF BOOKS ON THE KRAYS AS I WORKED IN A MINI CAB OFFICE THEY RUN IN KINGS X AND I AM ALWAYS AMAZED ABOUT THE THINGS THAT COMES OUT ABOUT THEM THIS SEEMS TO BE ONE OF THE MOST TRUTHFULL BOOKS I HAVE READ
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Straight?, 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Getting it Straight: Villains Talking (Kindle Edition)
Yes! I suppose they did, between them, get a few things straight. The conversations were, mainly, interesting but sometimes repetitive and perhaps boring.

These two gentlemen are very different types of criminals, oops, sorry, ex-criminals. Whilst Tony--having read his book, 'Inside The Firm'-- made his money through fear, intimidation and violence, Freddie--loved his book, 'The Godfather of British Crime'-- didn't.

However, I don't think that Freddie really needed so many 'F's and 'C's and that, in a way spoiled it a bit for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kindle book., 16 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Getting it Straight: Villains Talking (Kindle Edition)
Husband loves reading about this era. Fins it interesting and informative. Enjoyed it very much and will read it again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 7 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very open account of a bygone age, old school gentleman gangsters,a bit of an eye opener.well worth the read,great value on here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Getting it straight:Villains talking, 11 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Getting it Straight: Villains Talking (Kindle Edition)
A really good read,makes you understand even the hardest villains sometimes have a good side although we only ever hear the bad side of them

Christine Chapman
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars getting it straight, 28 Sep 2012
This review is from: Getting it Straight: Villains Talking (Kindle Edition)
This was an interesting read, the style was in the form of freddie and tony recounting events conversationally, it made you feel like you were sitting in the room listening to their conversation. Some of the events the reader would be familiar with if they had read other books in this genre. Some of the recounted events were new, not shocking but descriptively surprising.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Getting it Straight: Villains Talking
2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews