Customer Reviews


209 Reviews
5 star:
 (118)
4 star:
 (44)
3 star:
 (31)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bad for Pixar, but decent overall
It's credit to Pixar that Cars 2 is considered a bad film. Had any other studio made this (and the first Cars, for that matter), they would have been recevied a lot better, I think. But, by Pixar standards, this is one of their weakest, for sure.

But that doesn't mean it's a bad film overall. Don't be put off by the negativity you may read: this is a GOOD...
Published on 25 Nov 2011 by Paul Everdark

versus
30 of 38 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mater's Tall Tales: the Movie
The 4-star rating above composes 3 stars for the story and 5 for the animation - I err on the side of generosity as, of course, Cars 2 is not as bad as the critics said. They didn't particularly like the original Cars, so they were unlikely to welcome a sequel with open arms, especially one with Mater as the main character! But this isn't a straightforward sequel that...
Published on 29 July 2011 by bayman15


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bad for Pixar, but decent overall, 25 Nov 2011
By 
This review is from: Cars 2 [DVD] (DVD)
It's credit to Pixar that Cars 2 is considered a bad film. Had any other studio made this (and the first Cars, for that matter), they would have been recevied a lot better, I think. But, by Pixar standards, this is one of their weakest, for sure.

But that doesn't mean it's a bad film overall. Don't be put off by the negativity you may read: this is a GOOD film. Not great, and certainly not one of their best, but still enjoyable and satisfying.

Trouble is, Cars 2 is the polar opposite of the first one, which isn't exactly a good thing. There was plenty to like about the first Cars: relaxed pace, heartwarming story, meaningful characters...still, Lasseter seems to have taken the poor reception to the first film to heart, and swung right in the other direction with Cars 2. What we end up with is fast, slick and action-packed, but lacks a soul.

It starts well, and the globetrotting theme seemed like a great idea - the Tokyo segment is excellent. But it quickly gets tedious, and just as you settle in one place, off we go to the next destination. Do we get exciting, dazzling locations? Yes. But it feels like they chose the places they wanted to take Lightning and friends first, then decided how they were going to fit the story around it after. So it feels very stretched.

The plot itself is very complicated. I wouldn't worry about little kids being confused, as there's plenty of dazzle and vroom-vrooms to keep them entertained, but don't be surpried if you have to stop and answer a few questions for them - and answer some of your own too.

So as the whole thing tangles itself in knots to keep the spy-plot, racing-plot and jetsetting tied together, by the time you reach the climax don't be surprised if you have no idea who's doing what and why.

But that all being said, Cars 2 is still a fun film. In a way, its kind of a relief that Pixar made a film like this. Sinces the last Cars film we've had Ratatouille, Wall-E, Up and Toy Story 3. They were all adult-heavy and quite serious, so it's nice to see Pixar going to back to making something light and fizzy that won't shred your emotions when you watch it.

Cars 2 is worth a look, for sure. It's by no means a bad film, but don't go expecting anything amazing. No wheels are re-invented here, only spun and skidded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 38 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mater's Tall Tales: the Movie, 29 July 2011
By 
bayman15 (Milton Keynes, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Cars 2 [DVD] (DVD)
The 4-star rating above composes 3 stars for the story and 5 for the animation - I err on the side of generosity as, of course, Cars 2 is not as bad as the critics said. They didn't particularly like the original Cars, so they were unlikely to welcome a sequel with open arms, especially one with Mater as the main character! But this isn't a straightforward sequel that leaves the spirit of the original intact. I found it surprisingly violent. Other reviewers commented on the torture scene - and that's not the only nasty moment. It definitely should have got the PG rating mysteriously allocated to its predecessor which was really a U. The set pieces are spectacular, but as this film sets off doggedly down the action movie route there is little counterbalancing character development or emotional buy-in that distinguish Pixar at its best. Given that the original file has cult status among under-10 boys, I felt that the plot is quite complex for younger children to grasp, even if they're not bothered by the violence. At least this will make it watchable for a repeat viewing.

Following the success of "Mater's Tall Tales", Mater has obviously emerged as the most popular (or marketable, or John Lasseter's favourite) Cars character, so Pixar decided to make him the central character in Cars 2. Having closed the loop on Radiator Springs in the original film they needed a McGuffin to make "Mater's Tall Tales the Movie" work. Unfortunately the vehicle (no pun) chosen is a spy film, a rather dated genre which sends the film off down a violent action path with very limited opportunity for character development (think: when did you last care about anyone in a James Bond film?) It also sidelines the racing theme - surely the unique selling point of a film about anthropomorphic cars - along with most of the strong characters from the first film. Even Lightning McQueen plays second fiddle to Mater.

The original Cars was criticised, unfairly, for its long slow middle section. But, this did give time for character development so sorely lacking here. Cars 2 over compensates by accelerating into rocket speed in the middle after a fast start and not slowing up until the end.

On the positive side the animation is truly amazing (and will be equally amazing in 2D). If only it had a better story to tell! As a digitially animated London whisked past at rocket speed towards the end I felt that a lot of talent - and money (it cost $200 million to make!) had been splurged in making a film that's not the sum of what went into it. I left the cinema dazzled, slightly disappointed but hoping that there will be a successor. Like Shrek the Third, Cars 2 really isn't a bad film, but it has let down its predecessor and needs a final chapter to redeem the franchise. But please, Pixar, don't make Mater's Tall Tales 2!

** Update after rewatching on DVD - In my heart of hearts I can't justify this film being any higher than 3 stars so have downgraded my review rating. There are many fine vignettes and details in this film (yes, that is Gusteau's Restaurant from Ratatouille renamed as Gastow's, plus watch out for "British Wheeland" references and the car with headlight eyes in the Paris market scene). Also the plot is much more understandable a second time. But for all cleverness the film lacks the warmth of the original Cars: a definite 5-star film, or indeed virtually everything else in Pixar's back catalogue. The paucity of bonuses on the DVD tells its own story: "Air Mater" (a new Mater's Tall Tales - advertising the forthcoming "Planes") and the Toy Story toon which accompanied the cinema release. No making-of documentary, studio stories or director's commentary. Plus the biggest give way of the lot: the word "Classic" on back of the DVD box. Last time I saw this was on Chicken Little - need I say more! Even the technical expertise of the animation screams vanity project. I think Pixar realise that they've produced a 24-carat misfire and this film will sink faster than Finn McMissile when he abandons the oil rig in the opening sequence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 65 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good news - Lightning McQueen and Mater are back; bad news - the movie is not as excellent as the first one, 11 July 2011
By 
Maciej "Darth Maciek" (Darth Maciek is out there...) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Cars 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Both me and my 10 y.o. daughter we liked this movie and we spend mostly pleasant cinema moment - but exactly as in the case of "Kung Fu Panda 2" earlier during the year we both agreed that this sequel was for many reasons inferior to the original. This is also the first Pixar movie ever that I did not totally adore - I liked it, but no more. Below you will find the reasons why - in my personal opinion - "Cars 2" is weaker than the original.

1. The story, part 1 - producers wanted a car/spy movie referring to James Bond franchise and they got it, but the price for it is a plot both complicated and - for the first time in Pixar's movies - simply stupid! Also, I am certain that smaller children who never watched any James Bond movies (or any spy movies for that matter) will not get the story and get confused. Which is more, all the shooting, crashing, exploding and bombing are in my modest opinion out of place in a kid's movie. And to complete the picture, there is even a quite scary scene of TORTURE and MURDER of a spy car by the bad guys!

2. The story, part 2 - I personally found that some elements of plot are quasi racist! The bad guys (or rather the bad cars) are all the obsolescent marks from countries of former East block (Zigoulis, Zastavas, Yugos, Trabants, etc.), who are ugly, cheap, frequently disfunctionning, leaking oil, etc. They are in fact the lowest proletariat in "Cars" world. Frankly it could be a good idea to make the movie about renovation of those old and rather pathetic cars (like converting them to more ecologic fuels) which could give them some kind of a future and a place in society - but instead they are presented as murderous villains! Now that is a great idea to show your little kids - if somebody is poor and down on his luck, speaks with foreign accent, looks foreign, wear used clothes and obviously suffers, he/she is obviously dangerous and must be destroyed by classy people!

3. Mater - he was an absolute delight in the first movie, as a simple (OK, really simple) village guy, amateur of simple pleasures, but who could at the right moment deliver a piece of deep wisdom coming not from his brain but from his genuinely good, honest heart; in this movie first he appears as a completely babbling idiot with bad manners - before turning into a super hero in the last five minutes as if he has been touched by a magic wand... That is a real let down for such a lovely and successful character...

4. All the wonderful and colourful four wheeled "people" from Radiator Springs appear just in cameos - the whole movie turns around Lightning McQueen, Mater, the two good spies, one Italian racing car and a horde of evil doers. Doc Hudson obviously couldn't be around anymore - but Sally, Red, Sarge, Fillmore, Luigi, Sheriff, Flo and others are almost inexistent.

5. More generally, the heart warming gentle message of the first movie is totally missing in action and the whole ending and plot solution seem totally artificial.

That being said, most kids should like this film, with all the racing and shooting appealing may be slightly more to the little boys than girls. Still, I think that children between 4 and 7 years will not understand much, they will probably get scared in some moments and I am afraid they will really not like the scene of torture and execution of car by the bad guys.

I felt a little bit sad leaving the cinema. Until now, Pixar managed to make a perfect run - from the first "Toy Story" to the "Toy Story 3" their movies brought something new, beautiful and precious in kids movies, to such point that even the grownups could enjoy them fully and learn some life lessons from them. "Cars 2" however is something different, made hastily, of lesser quality and even a little bit ugly in some moments - and it seems to me that it was made first and before all to help sell "Cars" merchandise... and it shows on the screen... I really hope that with "Brave" which is due for opening next year Pixar will come back to its former great shape.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cars 2 [DVD] (DVD)
GREAT DVD FOR 6 YEAR OLD BOYS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cars 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Boy loves this one also
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 1 May 2014
By 
H. Newell - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cars 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Loved this film as my little one was too small to see it at the cinema but loved the first film.
It is a bit long and the plot takes a while to get going but, now a firm family favourite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Mixed reviews from the kids, 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cars 2 [DVD] (DVD)
My Daughter loves it my son hates it.
Just as well we have two tellies in the house.
I'm of the same opinion as my son.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very entertaining, 23 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cars 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Attractive DVD kept two toddlers entertained many times and encouraged the two year old to act out and speak the actions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Film, 16 April 2014
By 
wicket2005 (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cars 2 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Not my favourite Pixar movie but entertaining. Based on the characters from the first movie and their further exploits as spies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good service, 15 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
However... the film is no where near as good as the original Cars and is quite violent for a 3 year old. Lots of shooting of guns Not a U imho
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cars 2 [DVD] [2011] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
20.23
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews