Customer Reviews


58 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


89 of 95 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars QI board game - some quite interesting fun!
At last, someone has finally produced a board game based on the popular TV show QI.

The game consists of a board marked out with numbered squares, a token for ach player, a klaxon and some 864 questions in four booklets, along with the answers and a lot of quite interesting facts. Starting at the centre of the board, you answer questions moving either forward...
Published on 4 Oct. 2011 by Victor

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Quite dull
If you like the show, don't bother with this game. It doesn't really bear any relation to the show, which in hindsight is to be expected as there are no stand up comedians in my family. The game is a simple multiple choice quiz where it doesn't actually seem to matter if you answer any questions right. Played once and won't bother again. Many much better games out there...
Published on 5 Jan. 2013 by Andrew Lyall


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

89 of 95 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars QI board game - some quite interesting fun!, 4 Oct. 2011
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Paul Lamond QI Board Game (Toy)
At last, someone has finally produced a board game based on the popular TV show QI.

The game consists of a board marked out with numbered squares, a token for ach player, a klaxon and some 864 questions in four booklets, along with the answers and a lot of quite interesting facts. Starting at the centre of the board, you answer questions moving either forward or backwards depending on if you get the answer right wrong, or the `klaxon' answer. The winner is the one to reach the end of the board (either the highest positive OR negative score) first.

The game is simple to understand, and great fun to play. The questions are of a similar level to those seen on the program. The associated factoids are fascinating. It's a great trivia game for those who like games such as trivial pursuits and the like. There is a good range of questions, but I suspect it won't be to many plays before you find yourself repeating them, hopefully there will be more question booklets released in the future. A word of warning, it is really a game for more than two players, more of a party game than an evening entertainment for two people. A most excellent game, five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Quite dull, 5 Jan. 2013
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Paul Lamond QI Board Game (Toy)
If you like the show, don't bother with this game. It doesn't really bear any relation to the show, which in hindsight is to be expected as there are no stand up comedians in my family. The game is a simple multiple choice quiz where it doesn't actually seem to matter if you answer any questions right. Played once and won't bother again. Many much better games out there for less money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Complicated due to Incomplete instructions, 1 Feb. 2012
= Durability:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Paul Lamond QI Board Game (Toy)
This is an appalling board game. The questions are very interesting. However the instructions are very complex and incomplete. Therefore knowing how to progress up or down the board is still a mystery to me! Do not buy this product as it will cause confusion and frustration amongst your family and friends!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing - not much fun, 6 Jan. 2012
By 
miss y smith (dundee, scotland United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Paul Lamond QI Board Game (Toy)
I really enjoy the show and love games like Trivial Pursuits but this game is poorly planned, frankly boring and surprisingly unintelligent from as strong a brand as QI.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not what we should expect!, 12 Dec. 2011
= Durability:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Paul Lamond QI Board Game (Toy)
With Stephen Fry on the cover and knowing and enjoying the show, we expected a high quality item. We didn't expect grammar errors and a quite confusing game. Four of us tried to play but eventually had to change the rules to make it any fun. There isn't any clarity or objective to the game. The quite shocking grammatical errors in the question books are unforgivable and the rules very hard to follow or comply with if you want to have fun. Maybe we just all got it wrong, I don't know, we'll have another go at it but after the first play we are really disappointed. Far too complicated without good reason.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Love the programme but cannot play the game, 31 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paul Lamond QI Board Game (Toy)
I haven't met anyone yet who can work out how to play this game. Very disappointing. We tried but felt we were playing it on too simple a level. The instructions were poor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rules are rubbish, 31 Dec. 2011
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Paul Lamond QI Board Game (Toy)
6 of us (3 degree level educated) find the rules apalling. Just try paragraph 5 for example(!?) If you are in the -ve numbered square does 'advance' mean go more negative or go back towards the start. If the latter you can't get to the 'game over' square. The rules also state first player to game over (-ve or +ve) ends the game, it is not specified if this is by exact score or not. These squares do not have a value so the first person at one of these squares cannot win. Minor quibbles, when you land on a chance (say) after 'advancing' 3 on a correct answer do you pick the chance card up or is that just for a dice roll.

We tried one rule under taking turns as QM and again if one does the questioning and everyone else answers. This is because on the original rules the last player to answer can't challenge (we think). Potential good for this game but it has not been beta-tested sufficiently
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Takes a little while to work out - but fun and rewarding!, 7 Jan. 2013
By 
A. I. McCulloch "Andrea" (Co Durham) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Paul Lamond QI Board Game (Toy)
The lower recommended age range for this game is 12 and it's suitable for adults - though 15 is mentioned in one product description. I played it with another adult and a 10 and 11 year old with very good reading skills and they coped well. A really bright 9 year old could probably handle playing - but not below this age.

A brief basic rules summary:- Each player takes it in turn to be quizmaster - progress around the game board is made by the quizmaster rolling three dice, red, white and blue. The white dice determines how many squares the quizmaster's playing piece moves forward, and the colour of the square landed on determined which of four quiz booklets of 666 questions will be used. Taking the numbers from the red, white and blue dice in that order decides which multi-choice question will be read out by the quizmaster to the other players.

A correct answer advances a player three spaces. Of the incorrect answers, one incurs no penalty, but the other is a 'klaxon' answer, which moves a player back a set number of spaces - rather like the 'klaxon' answers that lose points in the TV panel game.
There is also a rule whereby a player can klaxon an incorrect answer from the previous player before giving a correct answer of their own.
Playing with children we ignored that rule - and the 11 year old won, with her 10 year old brother close behind.

The rules take a little bit of working out, but they aren't too bad compared with some games.
It does need a minimum number of three players to play as described - you'd have to tweak the rules to play with two, but it would be possible.

We also dispensed with the battery powered klaxon as rechargeable batteries aren't recommended and that's all we had. It made no difference to the game.
Adults and children both really enjoyed the game, which took around half an hour to complete - it could have gone on much longer, but an average game wouldn't be much shorter than this.
It would be possible to play this with someone without good reading skills if they are able to spell out challenging words and have no difficulties with comprehending questions.
It doesn't bear much resemblence to the TV show other than in the fact that some of the facts revealed in answers are quite interesting! We spotted no grammatical errors in questions but others have highlighted this - it wouldn't have spoiled our enjoyment.
A good family game for older children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not for me, 26 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paul Lamond QI Board Game (Toy)
I bought this hoping to have hours of fun with it but unfortunately I found the game format rather disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great game., 28 Jan. 2013
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paul Lamond QI Board Game (Toy)
I bought this game as a Christmas present for my wife (she also bought one for me which went back to University with our daughter). It is relatively easy to learn and great fun to play. It is a little like Snakes and Ladders where the pieces are moved by a throw of the dice and you move up or down the board depending on whether you answer the questions correctly, incorrectly or get "claxoned". A battery powered claxon comes with the game and makes a fair bit of noise. Players take it in turns to ask the questions and the other players are given a choice of three possible answers. There are well over two thousand questions. We've played it five or six times and only one question has come up twice (when we asked an adjacent question.) An excellent game to play with friends and family and is suitable for most ages including children who show an interest in the world about them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Paul Lamond QI Board Game
£14.02
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews