Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality and outstanding value
I wouldn't normally be moved to write a review about a piece of moulded plastic costing about £3.50 delivered, but in this case I think an exception is justified. I have just bought a Canon SX40HS and thought that a lens hood would be a wise accessory. There are several on offer from Amazon. This was the cheapest I saw. The genuine Canon part is £27.00! The genuine Canon...
Published on 8 Jan. 2012 by Tim Harbour

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Dont bother
It just doesnt do what you want and find that it cuts out the light altogether. Fits ok but messy when you have the lens cover on.
Published on 26 Dec. 2012 by kandyman


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality and outstanding value, 8 Jan. 2012
By 
Tim Harbour (Bedford, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Neewer® Camera Lens Hood for Canon PowerShot SX30 IS,SX10, SX20, SX30, SX40, SX50 Digital Camera -Replacement for Canon LH-DC60 (Electronics)
I wouldn't normally be moved to write a review about a piece of moulded plastic costing about £3.50 delivered, but in this case I think an exception is justified. I have just bought a Canon SX40HS and thought that a lens hood would be a wise accessory. There are several on offer from Amazon. This was the cheapest I saw. The genuine Canon part is £27.00! The genuine Canon camera case was less than that! I thought for that money its worth a punt. The hood fits onto the lens perfectly. does not need to be forced on but once fitted is firm and doesn't rattle or move. The finish on the black plastic is a god match to other parts of the camera and the silver writing on it is a very close match to that on the lens when extended making it look 100% part of the camera. put this on a table at a camera fair next to the Canon product and only a very sad "label Mabel" would buy the Canon. You cannot go wrong with this baby.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It does what it says on the tin, and costs a fraction of Canon's, 14 Dec. 2011
By 
Mr. A. D. Sloan (Otley, W Yorks, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Neewer® Camera Lens Hood for Canon PowerShot SX30 IS,SX10, SX20, SX30, SX40, SX50 Digital Camera -Replacement for Canon LH-DC60 (Electronics)
I bought this for the SX40, which it fits perfectly. The cost is less than 20% of the Canon's and it looks & works identically. It was also delivered very promptly - well done!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fits well if you do not have any filter attached, 30 May 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Neewer® Camera Lens Hood for Canon PowerShot SX30 IS,SX10, SX20, SX30, SX40, SX50 Digital Camera -Replacement for Canon LH-DC60 (Electronics)
Got this on the back of other reviews here for my new Canon SX40HS digi camera. It fits like a glove and for the price represents outstanding value. I assume however that the protruding front shade protection bits are the same as the Canon brand as in the picture they appear to be larger than they actually are when the hood arrived. That is a minor matter I suppose because my main grouse with this hood is that it will not fit with any sort of filter attached to the camera lens. Be that a 52mm Hoya AV lens screw in type of protection filter, which I have, or the the larger 58mm filter which fits with an adapter. Wish I had known that sooner. If others had mentioned this point previously then my hood, whilst very cheap and practical, would not have been required. Anyway I hope that this fact now highlighted will be a help to others. All IMHO of coarse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 July 2014
Fits beautifully and at a fraction of the Canon price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Works, 31 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Neewer® Camera Lens Hood for Canon PowerShot SX30 IS,SX10, SX20, SX30, SX40, SX50 Digital Camera -Replacement for Canon LH-DC60 (Electronics)
Does what it says it should. Used it on safari several times on my SX40 and old SX20. Be careful to check its rotated correctly otherwise you'll end up with a darker 'zone' at the bottom of the image!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Works well, 22 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Does the job, and looks pretty sweet on this lens. Would recommend it. Much cheaper than the official canon version too. It's made of a tough plastic, which I'm not worried about breaking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Like the real thing, 3 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Neewer® Camera Lens Hood for Canon PowerShot SX30 IS,SX10, SX20, SX30, SX40, SX50 Digital Camera -Replacement for Canon LH-DC60 (Electronics)
Bang On Does the Job.I Thought this would be flimsy,but is solid and does the job really well.Very Pleased Indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Dont bother, 26 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Neewer® Camera Lens Hood for Canon PowerShot SX30 IS,SX10, SX20, SX30, SX40, SX50 Digital Camera -Replacement for Canon LH-DC60 (Electronics)
It just doesnt do what you want and find that it cuts out the light altogether. Fits ok but messy when you have the lens cover on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It fits, 1 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Neewer® Camera Lens Hood for Canon PowerShot SX30 IS,SX10, SX20, SX30, SX40, SX50 Digital Camera -Replacement for Canon LH-DC60 (Electronics)
What can one say about a piece of plastic? It fits snugly on the lens of my Canon SX50HS. However it uses the same thread that you would use to mount filters and stuff, so it's one or the other.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good quality, just the job IF you only want a hood., 8 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Neewer® Camera Lens Hood for Canon PowerShot SX30 IS,SX10, SX20, SX30, SX40, SX50 Digital Camera -Replacement for Canon LH-DC60 (Electronics)
Canon have done a 'sneaky', not incorporating a filter/hood thread on the inside of the lens on certain compacts. They can supply a BIG filter/hood holder - at silly cost - but then all the additional fittings you require are uncomfortably large and, again, at silly cost. If it's a (petal) hood only that you require then this does the job nicely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews