Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simple, well written, comprehensive
This would make a good starting point for anyone wanting to try table-top RPG for the first time, for children, or for anyone that liked D&D but found it too complex.

That said, there is a hella lot of detail here if you want it; some of it not entirely serious. (Psychotic chicken character type?)

Nice work, only marred for me by minor typos and...
Published on 29 April 2012 by shadowfirebird

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hit and Miss
The RPG is relatively simple and with a strong tendency towards the zany. Its ethos is quick, funny action. That said, I can't see myself using challenger's rules over one of the more established RPGs like D&D or GURPS. And, unfortunately, their are quite a few typos and unintelligible turns of phrase.

HOWEVER, the real worth to reading this book is to get...
Published on 18 May 2012 by Jonathon Smith


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hit and Miss, 18 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Challenger RPG a Free Roleplaying Game (Kindle Edition)
The RPG is relatively simple and with a strong tendency towards the zany. Its ethos is quick, funny action. That said, I can't see myself using challenger's rules over one of the more established RPGs like D&D or GURPS. And, unfortunately, their are quite a few typos and unintelligible turns of phrase.

HOWEVER, the real worth to reading this book is to get inspiration for your own adventures - whatever system you use - from the author's rich and hilarious imagination. I've never read a rules manual that has repeatedly made me laugh out loud before. The GM's guide should be COMPULSORY reading for any person trying to write their own adventure. It is better than any 'official' guide I've paid for, and I don't say that lightly.

The last section of the book is a full length novel set in a Terry Pratchett-esque world. The novel was one of the funniest I've ever read (and I've read a lot of Terry Pratchett/Robert Rankin/Douglas Adams), but so badly put together it was painful trying to get from one joke to the next. I can't help but wonder how great this book would be with a decent editor on board.

To sum up: a Five Star resource for any GM, but not a great role-playing system in itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simple, well written, comprehensive, 29 April 2012
This review is from: Challenger RPG a Free Roleplaying Game (Kindle Edition)
This would make a good starting point for anyone wanting to try table-top RPG for the first time, for children, or for anyone that liked D&D but found it too complex.

That said, there is a hella lot of detail here if you want it; some of it not entirely serious. (Psychotic chicken character type?)

Nice work, only marred for me by minor typos and some very odd word choices ("skiller" is not a word).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The challenge., 29 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Challenger RPG a Free Roleplaying Game (Kindle Edition)
Good game book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars POOR, 14 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Challenger RPG a Free Roleplaying Game (Kindle Edition)
Not worth writing about,Don't like the timing aspect and I cant understand how you expect so many words in a review,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rotten game, 5 Dec 2013
By 
Mrs. Margaret Mills "marg5357" (UK England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Challenger RPG a Free Roleplaying Game (Kindle Edition)
Put this on my pad but no way can I get it to work. May be me being dopey but haven't had this problem before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not for me, 16 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Challenger RPG a Free Roleplaying Game (Kindle Edition)
Not my type of book or game but for the right person it would be great. Good price though for what it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT GAME, 8 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Challenger RPG a Free Roleplaying Game (Kindle Edition)
great game bought it for my son, keeps him occupied, quick and secure delivery by the seller thanks very much!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Garbage, 28 Mar 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Challenger RPG a Free Roleplaying Game (Kindle Edition)
This is advertised as a role playing game for the kindle, but it isn't don't bother it is rubbish, I deleted it at once. I only gave it 1 star because it wouldn't let me give it a no star rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Challenger RPG a Free Roleplaying Game
£0.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews