Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gene Vincent - The Capitol Years
6 Albums + A's & B's singles on 4 CD's from the great Gene Vincent. What more could you ask for. The albums from Capitol from 1956-1960 are Bluejean Bop, Gene Vincent & The Blue Caps, Gene Vincent Record Date, Gene Vincent Rocks & The Blue Caps Roll, Crazy Times, Sounds Like Gene Vincent. There also bonus tracks from live TV shows including Alan Freed. Add to this 34...
Published on 7 Nov 2012 by R. Shaw

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars it;s ok
it's ok but a little one dimensional, a lot of mediocre stuff mixed in with the classics
Published 3 months ago by skanking Joe


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gene Vincent - The Capitol Years, 7 Nov 2012
By 
R. Shaw "Ronboy" (Leicester UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Capitol Years (Audio CD)
6 Albums + A's & B's singles on 4 CD's from the great Gene Vincent. What more could you ask for. The albums from Capitol from 1956-1960 are Bluejean Bop, Gene Vincent & The Blue Caps, Gene Vincent Record Date, Gene Vincent Rocks & The Blue Caps Roll, Crazy Times, Sounds Like Gene Vincent. There also bonus tracks from live TV shows including Alan Freed. Add to this 34 single's tracks and a nice booklet and you have a great package. Gene at his very best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great box but something is missing..., 17 Mar 2014
By 
J. Rusi "zraisin" (Finland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Capitol Years (Audio CD)
This one is finely crafted set with Alan Clayson's well- striving liner notes and sound quality is excellent but what I've found inexcusable is that both Teenage Partner and Five Feet Of Lovin' - 56 versions does not include here. Missing are also some of Los Angeles, Hollywood -61 and London, Abbey Road sessions. Only released singles from those sessions are included here. On disc two Well I Knocked Bim Bam from -56 is laid there as a last track after few The Town Hall Party - live tracks. Why not include those two missing ones there instead of Town Hall - tracks... ?
Too bad all of this because it's not question of too many tracks which could and should have been there, specially Teenage Partner and Five Feet Of Lovin' from 1956- sessions.
If you could find EMI "green" 6-cd box Complete Capitol and Columbia Recordings from 1990 I suggest buy that. Grandious Bear Family lp- sized box might be too expensive for casual fan but then again sets like this just does not offer all what it's title stands for, that's my opinion and Gene Vincent earns our respects to be heard completely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Late great, 22 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Capitol Years (Audio CD)
the one and only tortured soul that was Gene Vincent, I have all of these pretty much but all in one place GREAT. well worth the purchase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive, 21 Mar 2014
By 
Angus Stuart "Jack on the beach" (Western shores) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Capitol Years (Audio CD)
I have long wanted a comprehensive collection of Gene Vincent's classic years on CD... and here it is! There is a lot here, and it is very good value for money. Most of the music is wonderful - all the classics are here, plus some rare hidden gems. A few items that don't quite work out, but they can easily be edited from the playlist! I love this set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Capitol Years, 5 July 2012
By 
Boris Cherniak "Boris" (rossia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Capitol Years (Audio CD)
I am very glad that ordered these disks in Amazon. Record very pure. Fine and beautiful booklet. In boxing the first six number albums are presented. In the fourth disk to contain all parties And and Century. I have other boxes of this remarkable singer. I consider this position of the most successful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars it;s ok, 12 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Capitol Years (Audio CD)
it's ok but a little one dimensional, a lot of mediocre stuff mixed in with the classics
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best and most genuine of them all, 25 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Capitol Years (Audio CD)
real real rebel,the best and most genuine of them all,forget the poncey little Richard chuck berry,oh what classics idiots.so acceptable don't you know?vincent was the real deal,no pansy ed Sullivan suits for gene.listen to the most rebellious pure rockabilly/rock,nroll ever made.this set is all you need.Gene and eddie were the true legends anybody who listens to this will agree.then go onto genes home page run by tina his sister.the day the world turned blue indeed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Capitol Years
The Capitol Years by Gene Vincent
Buy MP3 Album£10.39
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews