Customer Reviews


627 Reviews
5 star:
 (457)
4 star:
 (115)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (32)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


113 of 115 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Onwards with USB 3.0
First of all the product picture made me think this hard drive was the same size as the older WD Elements USB 2.0 1 TB hard drive, in actual fact its a similar size to the WD Passport range, much much smaller and a great surprise when it arrived. USB 3.0 is obviously this hard drives main focus point, I use this hard drive with my laptop mainly, as it has native USB 3.0...
Published on 28 Feb. 2012 by Mr. J. White

versus
29 of 33 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Fast USB3 Harddrive
A small fast USB3 Harddrive that just works.
If you own a USB3 laptop / desktop then this is an essential compatible storage accessory.
If you are still on a USB2 laptop / desktop but planning an upgrade then USB3 then the Western Digital still makes a sensible purchase.
If you are stuck with only USB2 with no plans to upgrade then buy a cheaper USB2...
Published on 29 Nov. 2012 by D. BLAIKIE


‹ Previous | 1 263 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

113 of 115 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Onwards with USB 3.0, 28 Feb. 2012
By 
Mr. J. White "James" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
First of all the product picture made me think this hard drive was the same size as the older WD Elements USB 2.0 1 TB hard drive, in actual fact its a similar size to the WD Passport range, much much smaller and a great surprise when it arrived. USB 3.0 is obviously this hard drives main focus point, I use this hard drive with my laptop mainly, as it has native USB 3.0 connectivity, but as always the hard drive is backwards compatible and will work off any USB 2.0 port but of course you won't get the increased transfer rate. Read/Write speeds of the drive are great with USB 3.0 and it can function in pretty much any scenario i.e. Backup, Storage, Portable hard drive for college/work etc.

My only bad point I would mention about this drive is the USB connection on the drive enclosure itself seems a bit flimsy and brittle. When the cable is plugged in, I felt as though I had to be really careful with it. (Not that I'm careless with hard drives in the first place). I think the problem is the USB 3.0 Data cable supplied isn't very long or flexible, so if your not careful the cable is going to put the connector under stress and possibly break.

This could be attributed to some of the negative comments regarding the drive failing, the connector itself seems to be easily damaged if your not careful. This doesn't mean however the drive itself has failed, you can often rescue external hard drives like this one if you were willing to crack open the casing. (Not for the faint of heart, its messy sometimes).

A longer and more flexible USB 3.0 data cable could be a possible workaround to this issue. I personally haven't had any problems and have had the drive for over a year and its working like it was since Day 1 but its something to be aware of.

Overall though the drive is a great performer, nice form factor, solidly built but do take note of the possible issues with the connector/cable above.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


61 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 7 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I had originally planned to buy a desktop external hard drive, but didn't want to be carrying that around with me. I wanted something smaller and lighter, and this is absolutely perfect.

It's much smaller than I expected it to be, which is wonderful. It's not much bigger than an iPod Touch.

It's fast, and took no fuss to get running. A review on a desktop version of this product stated that it was designed for Linux only -- I'm using Windows 7 and it runs just fine. Another stated that it's slow and malfunctions often, but I've encountered no problems at all.

A great product, well worth the money. It also arrived two weeks before the estimated delivery date!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 1 Sept. 2012
By 
A. B. Smith - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I purchased this for my new MacBook Pro. It took seconds to reformat and I purely use it for TimeMachine.
Very quick neat little HDD
Totally recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent hard drive, 24 April 2012
By 
Hemzy (Norfolk, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an excellent little hard drive. I plugged it in and the PC found it straight away. Copying files and drives is very easy.
I like the fact that it gets its power from the USB port so no extra power supply aneeded. The supplied cable isn't very long but it's adequate enough if plugging into a laptop or front port on a desktop PC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does the Job!, 15 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WD Elements 500GB Portable Hard Drive USB 3.0/2.0 - Black (Personal Computers)
Yeap, it does the job, simple, easy to use and value for money from a reliable and respected manafacturer - Start up is just USB and Go, Ive knocked it a couple of times and dropped it once and its absolutely fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 33 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Fast USB3 Harddrive, 29 Nov. 2012
By 
D. BLAIKIE "Apple Mac enthusiast" (Hampshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WD Elements 500GB Portable Hard Drive USB 3.0/2.0 - Black (Personal Computers)
A small fast USB3 Harddrive that just works.
If you own a USB3 laptop / desktop then this is an essential compatible storage accessory.
If you are still on a USB2 laptop / desktop but planning an upgrade then USB3 then the Western Digital still makes a sensible purchase.
If you are stuck with only USB2 with no plans to upgrade then buy a cheaper USB2 Harddrives.
For my new USB3 laptop, this Harddrives works brilliantly.

++++++++++++IMPORTANT UPDATE+++++++++++++++++++
I bought this drive on the 1st of October.
I did my 1st Mac Laptop backup on the 4th of October.
Every 10 days I do an incremental backup.
The drive died today on the 3rd of June!!!!!!!!!!!
9 months life for a drive used once ever 10 days, terrible!
To be fair other similar drives from different manufacturers have similar 4-8% fail rates.
This is the 1st Harddrive failure I've had.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great item, 10 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic mini Hard Drive, use mine for Time Machine.

Sits there and does its job nice and quietly. Also blends in with the rest of the iMac.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars portable(very) hard drive, 2 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
compact and very portable hard drive .4.5"x 3" approx.small enough to fit in a pocket powered via the pc so no need for extra cables for a power supply value for money too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No problems, 30 Jan. 2012
By 
James Heinrichs (Mount Hope, Kansas, US) - See all my reviews
This review is from: WD Elements 500GB Portable Hard Drive USB 3.0/2.0 - Black (Personal Computers)
Hooked it up and it worked! Can't say how easy it was to back up my two computers with this hard drive. All in all I am pleased with this item.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Useless. Do not trust, will suddenly break., 21 Sept. 2014
By 
Miss S. Rudolph (York, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I had given this 5 stars, but spoke too soon. This product is AWFUL. Don't risk saving important files on it.
I've had it for less than two months and it already broke. Started making a ticking noise this evening, and I was suddenly unable to save or open any files. Had somehow corrupted and everything is LOST.
Anyone who's been in that situation (especially like me, a teacher with so many resources and lessons I hadn't backed up - shocking! - in three days) knows how heart-stopping and horrendous it is. Even if the company offered a refund I wouldn't take it, as it wouldn't replace my files.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 263 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

WD Elements 500GB Portable Hard Drive USB 3.0/2.0 - Black
£52.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews