Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars13
3.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.97+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 November 2011
This is a show performed in either 2007 or 2008 which consists of material from Russell's penultimate DVD "Doing Life", which has been available for four or five years. The only real difference is that this one was performed in NYC, and in fact this show was available freely online for quite some time.

In short, this DVD is being released as a cash-grab and, assuming you already own "Doing Life", it is really not worth getting.
33 comments|42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2011
it's funny, if you find russell brand funny. which i do. and i enjoyed watching it.

but every joke is from his previous tours. which is a shame. i didn't notice any new material though there may have been the odd bit. so who would this dvd be useful for: It's a christmas dvd so we're talking presents. If you know someone who hasn't discovered russell brand and you think they might like him then this dvd is as good as any. If you are thinking of getting this for someone that's a fan of russell then you'll be wasting your money.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2012
I love Russell Brand but it's exactly the same material (but shorter) as the 'Scandalous' DVD. Yes it was shot before the latter, but misleadingly it was released in late 2011 as something new. And if you're going to buy one of the two go for Scandalous instead. It had a better crowd, better production values, and much better DVD extras.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2015
Dvd it's self was of good quality, as of the show very disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2011
I am only writing this review to counter previous reviews as I felt they were harsh.

Having said that, this really isn't a bad show anyway. More to the point it, isn't a complete rehash of old material; the predominance of the show does indeed concern his VMA appearance and burgeoning Hollywood career, which is extensively covered in 'Scandalous' and 'Doing Life', but it should be said that this came before 'Scandalous' and it is actually better than that show. There is new material, though, and this show is so much better than 'Scandalous' - easily his worst show to date.

This show is good even for existing Russell fans because for once he actually works the audience a little (he has to, because there he's a relatively unknown)
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2012
I reckon it is difficult to adapt your material for an American audience and I think Brand did it excellently. In the back of a comedians mind there must be the thought of that whole 'cracking America' ideology that purveys our telly whenever our most successful comics or musicians decide to try America and I think Russell did his thing and did it with his customary flamboyance.

The material wasn't new to me, but I just wanted to see him do well and he did - so well done Russ.. keep up the good work.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2016
A lot of fun
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2014
Russell is so outrageous, bought for a present, i'm told its a really good DVD, and worth getting, so go on....have a good laugh!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2014
Absolutely dreadful. His act is appalling, his voice is irritating and he is not funny. I have known of more humour at Auschwitz. Wish he would OD and do us all a favour; that would be funny!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2015
I loved this dvd. Buy it or you will be missing out!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)