Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
brilliant
Published 5 months ago by zootman

versus
40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This is an OLD show - DVD released as a cash-grab
This is a show performed in either 2007 or 2008 which consists of material from Russell's penultimate DVD "Doing Life", which has been available for four or five years. The only real difference is that this one was performed in NYC, and in fact this show was available freely online for quite some time.

In short, this DVD is being released as a cash-grab and,...
Published on 11 Nov 2011 by MyAssIsOnFire


Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This is an OLD show - DVD released as a cash-grab, 11 Nov 2011
This review is from: Russell Brand: Live in New York City [DVD] (DVD)
This is a show performed in either 2007 or 2008 which consists of material from Russell's penultimate DVD "Doing Life", which has been available for four or five years. The only real difference is that this one was performed in NYC, and in fact this show was available freely online for quite some time.

In short, this DVD is being released as a cash-grab and, assuming you already own "Doing Life", it is really not worth getting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Funny - But Russell fans have heard every joke before., 21 Nov 2011
By 
Mr Flagpole (london, england) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Russell Brand: Live in New York City [DVD] (DVD)
it's funny, if you find russell brand funny. which i do. and i enjoyed watching it.

but every joke is from his previous tours. which is a shame. i didn't notice any new material though there may have been the odd bit. so who would this dvd be useful for: It's a christmas dvd so we're talking presents. If you know someone who hasn't discovered russell brand and you think they might like him then this dvd is as good as any. If you are thinking of getting this for someone that's a fan of russell then you'll be wasting your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Same old, 7 Jan 2012
This review is from: Russell Brand: Live in New York City [DVD] (DVD)
I love Russell Brand but it's exactly the same material (but shorter) as the 'Scandalous' DVD. Yes it was shot before the latter, but misleadingly it was released in late 2011 as something new. And if you're going to buy one of the two go for Scandalous instead. It had a better crowd, better production values, and much better DVD extras.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 July 2014
By 
zootman (middle england) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Russell Brand: Live in New York City [DVD] (DVD)
brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very funny, 15 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Russell Brand: Live in New York City [DVD] (DVD)
Russell is so outrageous, bought for a present, i'm told its a really good DVD, and worth getting, so go on....have a good laugh!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent DVD, 2 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Russell Brand: Live in New York City [DVD] (DVD)
If your a Russell fan you'll like this! It is very funny, it conatins some of his old material but I still liked it and the bonus bits are really funny. Excellent delivery service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good On Him, 7 Dec 2012
By 
S. Weston (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Russell Brand: Live in New York City [DVD] (DVD)
I reckon it is difficult to adapt your material for an American audience and I think Brand did it excellently. In the back of a comedians mind there must be the thought of that whole 'cracking America' ideology that purveys our telly whenever our most successful comics or musicians decide to try America and I think Russell did his thing and did it with his customary flamboyance.

The material wasn't new to me, but I just wanted to see him do well and he did - so well done Russ.. keep up the good work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Countering previous reviews, 28 Nov 2011
This review is from: Russell Brand: Live in New York City [DVD] (DVD)
I am only writing this review to counter previous reviews as I felt they were harsh.

Having said that, this really isn't a bad show anyway. More to the point it, isn't a complete rehash of old material; the predominance of the show does indeed concern his VMA appearance and burgeoning Hollywood career, which is extensively covered in 'Scandalous' and 'Doing Life', but it should be said that this came before 'Scandalous' and it is actually better than that show. There is new material, though, and this show is so much better than 'Scandalous' - easily his worst show to date.

This show is good even for existing Russell fans because for once he actually works the audience a little (he has to, because there he's a relatively unknown)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Schinder's List is funnier than this, 25 Aug 2014
This review is from: Russell Brand: Live in New York City [DVD] (DVD)
Absolutely dreadful. His act is appalling, his voice is irritating and he is not funny. I have known of more humour at Auschwitz. Wish he would OD and do us all a favour; that would be funny!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Russell Brand: Live in New York City [DVD]
Russell Brand: Live in New York City [DVD] by Russell Brand (DVD - 2011)
£3.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews