Customer Reviews


261 Reviews
5 star:
 (141)
4 star:
 (78)
3 star:
 (25)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


49 of 53 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This is why you should watch Ghost Protocol:
After being a big fan of Mission Impossible it seemed only right to delve into the world of Ghost Protocol. I had high hopes for this film as I think many other fans did, but after hearing how impractical some of the plot ideas were I have to admit to being a little put off and avoided watching it until the crowds died down. Now that I've seen it though, I wish I hadn't...
Published on 23 Feb 2012 by N. J. H.

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Blu Ray Quality.
Not a review on the content of the film (although I will say, without Simon Pegg I think this film would have been a real duffer), but more on the quality of the BluRay transfer.
Initial scenes, and those in good light are as crisp as you would expect from bluRay. However, the darker scenes, notably where they are hiding out in the desert scene and also where they...
Published 19 months ago by Chris Morse


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

49 of 53 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This is why you should watch Ghost Protocol:, 23 Feb 2012
By 
N. J. H. (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
After being a big fan of Mission Impossible it seemed only right to delve into the world of Ghost Protocol. I had high hopes for this film as I think many other fans did, but after hearing how impractical some of the plot ideas were I have to admit to being a little put off and avoided watching it until the crowds died down. Now that I've seen it though, I wish I hadn't waited so long - it was brilliant.

So why was it any good? There's no point in me expressing how great it is if I can't tell you why you might think so too. So with that said, the general idea for this movie: The IMF (The team of Ethan Hunt/Tom Cruise and the gang) must attempt to derail plans for a nuclear war between America and Russia. Why the nuclear war? Well IMF have been framed. For bombing the Kremlin. This brings about the "Ghost Protocol" were individuals of the IMF team must go it alone to try and prove their innocence - not to mention tracking down the real baddies.

I was glad to see the return of Benji, Simon Pegg's character, he really did make the film at times for me - nobody likes a serious MI film. The remaining agents, Jane and Brandt are interesting in their own right though with quite big roles to play (and an interesting twist). But what most people notice the most appears to be all the gadgets, or at least that's what I could hear people chatting about during the movie. It's crammed full of cars, some pretty unique gadgets (of questionable practicality) and some jam-packed action sequences; some of which have great impact and are executed really well.

Was it "bum-on-the-edge-of-the-seat" good? Yes! I would urge you to watch this, I was tensed and excited throughout. I'm so relieved I wasn't disappointed and couldn't care less whether the gadgets would actually work or the stunts wouldn't actually kill you - it would have been boring without these features.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Impossible not to like, 17 Sep 2012
By 
T. Cosens (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Mission Impossible continues to push for the most spectacular set pieces in modern action cinema and succeeds on every level. As always Ethan Hunt finds himself facing various "Impossible" tasks and manages to get through them with some wonderfully over the top gadgets and gritted determination. No feat is too big.

In this story the IMF have had to invoke Ghost Protocol, meaning that all their agents need to go into hiding. The story itself is fairly bland and only serves to lead you from one overblown action scene to the next, but this really is a fun ride. Simon peg returns for a bit of comic relief and the new comers add a bit more bite to the hand to hand combat scenes.

Set pieces range from car and foot chases in a sandstorm to espionage and infiltration of some rich tycoon's extravagant party. The usual tricks are used such as the masks which completely change the look of the wearer. There are also regular nods to the other films in the series for the devout follower such as Agent Grant hanging inches from a spinning fan akin to Tom Cruise's scene stealer in the original albeit with a modern twist.

The action is fast frantic and beyond belief and by the time it all comes to an end you will realise you have barely taken a breath for two hours. As with all of the films in the series the ending is a bit flat, with the final confrontation not being as brutal as expected. However when the ride to that point has been as good, you wont care much. If you like your action thick and fast then this is the film for you. A great addition to a great series which shows no signs of running out of steam.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Impossibly Exciting, 30 Dec 2011
By 
This review is from: Mission Impossible: Ghost Protocol - Triple Play (Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy) (Blu-ray)
Mission Impossible: Ghost Protocol is one of those movies where you are probably best advised to leave most of your brain at home. Think too much and you'll find plot holes and ludicrous improbabilities. This may taint your enjoyment of what is surely one of the most exciting films ever to hit the big screen. For this is a pulsating, heart-pumping popcorn movie of the highest quality.

The plot revolves around the attempts of IMF, headed by Agent Ethan Hunt (a very cool and unflustered Tom Cruise), to prevent nuclear war between the USA and Russia after the Kremlin is bombed and IMF framed for the attack. The team is disavowed with the `Ghost Protocol', a black ops contingency, forcing the remaining members to continue alone to attempt to prove their innocence and find the real terrorists behind the bombing in a globe-trotting rogue mission. Support for Hunt comes in the form of the remaining 3 agents of IMF; technology nerd Benji (Simon Pegg); Jane Carter (Paula Patton) and Brandt (The Hurt Locker's Jeremy Renner), an analyst hiding a deep secret.

In a move that will surely have the creators of Bond 23 reaching for the smelling salts, director Brad Bird (whose only previous directing credits are animated films) packs the film with fast cars, gadgets (albeit with some dubious science) and audacious stunts. Bird's handling of the action scenes is masterful, bringing the same flair and sophistication that he exhibited in his Pixar features `The Incredibles' and `Ratatouille'. By this evidence he was the perfect man to take the Mission Impossible franchise to a whole different level. Ghost Protocol isn't just better than its three predecessors; it obliterates them, and in terms of its sense of fun and for sheer white-knuckle excitement, its one of the best action films I have ever seen.

In one vertigo inducing scene, Hunt scales several floors of the Burj Khalifa (the world's tallest building) 100 storeys up. This scene is so breathtakingly well filmed that it will surely induce toe curling and gasping from anyone with even a slight fear of heights. One of the scariest five minutes of any film I can remember. In another sequence, Hunt chases a fleeing villain first on foot and then by car through a raging Dubai sandstorm. Before its release to blu-ray and DVD, I would urge you to watch on an IMAX screen if you can.

The frequency and ferocity of the big action set pieces may mask a slight lack of character depth and development. Ethan Hunt is probably not the most interesting or complex of heroes and the villains feel a tad underwritten, though actress Lea Seydoux puts in an eye-catching turn as a sultry French assassin. But it would be churlish of me to suggest that this spoiled my enjoyment of the film one iota. Ghost Protocol may not have great depth or meaning, but it is certainly tense and thrilling and in its finest moments, utterly awesome entertainment. 9/10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Blu Ray Quality., 4 Feb 2013
By 
Chris Morse "faraway_pictures" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mission Impossible: Ghost Protocol - Triple Play (Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy) (Blu-ray)
Not a review on the content of the film (although I will say, without Simon Pegg I think this film would have been a real duffer), but more on the quality of the BluRay transfer.
Initial scenes, and those in good light are as crisp as you would expect from bluRay. However, the darker scenes, notably where they are hiding out in the desert scene and also where they are in tunnels etc the quality is very bad. There is so much artefacting going on in the back it is very distracting. Fortunately there are not too many scenes like this, but there is enough to make me write this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars clever but lacking something...., 28 May 2012
This review is from: Mission Impossible: Ghost Protocol - Triple Play (Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy) (Blu-ray)
I really enjoyed this movie and the blu-ray transfer and audio are almost reference quality. So why not 5 stars ? Well for me Cruise was too pedestrian in this movie and some of the action sequences were mis-matched for pace compared to the rest of the movie. The reality button is also too far stretched with this plot... So I was left feeling GREAT but could have been AWESOME. There are a few other reasons why this misses out on 5 stars but they would give the plot away so maybe judge for yourself....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pegg's comedy & Cruise's gravitas make it a winner, 8 May 2012
By 
Jules (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Tom Cruise (Top Gun) reprises his role as Ethan Hunt for the 4th time with Ghost Protocol. This time he has a new team, agent Jane Carter (Paula Patton -Precious) with Computer Whiz, Benji Dunn (Simon Pegg -Shaun of The Dead), and a consrcipted agent William Brandt (Jeremy Renner -The Hurt Locker) is taken along for the ride. And their mission, if they choose to accept it, is to prevent terrorist, Hendricks (Michael Nyqvist -The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo) from launching a nuclear missile on the United States.

Overall i thought MI:GP was amazingly great action & with the introduction of Simon Pegg on the team, it's also very funny. This is done to good effect & doesn't come across as too light hearted, as it maintains it's serious edge thanks to the gravitas of Tom Cruise reeling them back. But it's not just Pegg who helps deliver the light hearted moments, as each offer up a bit of levity at times, and the chemistry between them all was some of the best i have seen, it was seamless at times. The main story was standard fare, but made all the more enjoyable by the execution of it. The action sequences were well paced out through the film, so we got a chance to catch our breath before the next encounter & take in the progression of the story, exhilarating stuff.

In conclusion, Mission Impossible: Ghost Protocol combines edge of the seat action with great/subtle humour & maintains its serious edge thanks to Cruise's gravitas. Highly Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars More fun than your average Hollywood summer blockbuster, 28 Aug 2014
By 
K. Gordon - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mission Impossible: Ghost Protocol - Triple Play (Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy) (Blu-ray)
Quite fun, with some very impressive, if improbable action sequences. It's been a while since I saw a climatic
fight sequence go on so long and yet never get boring.

It's a popcorn movie to be sure. The few brief attempts at emotional depth and back-story are probably the least
successful element. The over-all plot feels like a leftover from a 1980's James Bond film. And it's not a film I can
imagine the need to go back to and re-see. I don't think there are extra layers to be uncovered, and the very
nifty stunt and CGI work can't have the same rush of adrenaline the second time around.

But the action is deftly handled, the tension level high, the images are cool, and I got caught up in spite of
myself. At least in a moment to moment way. As long as I didn't start up my bad habit of thinking about the
'big picture'.

And I'll be honest, I'm not a 'summer blockbuster action movie' kinda guy. I'm old compared to the key audience
this is aimed at. I'm more at home with the new Woody Allen movie or some indie drama. So take this review with
the appropriate grain of salt.

But that said, I can't deny I had a good time, and smiled lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars They went for a comedy sidekick rather than a villian or intelligence, 17 April 2014
By 
Ian Watters "lovingboth" (Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
After the ok MI, and the 'only the action scenes were any good' MI2, MI3 was surprisingly great, so what went wrong here?

Simon Pegg is a lovely person and his cameo in MI3 was fine, but Mission Impossible is not a 'comedy sidekick' franchise. Does anyone believe that as a Brit with a Green Card, he'd be a field agent for a top CIA team?

There is zero interest in the villain. They might as well not had one.

While some of the script is 'knowing nod to the audience' time (Simon's unfulfilled thing about masks) most of the rest is just plain stupid. There's unlikely, and there's insult to the intelligence of the viewer, and when it's given a choice, this goes for the latter.

As with the first two, only the action scenes are worth looking at... and not all of them. Easily the worst of the four.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The countdown isn't helping...., 25 Mar 2014
This review is from: Mission Impossible: Ghost Protocol - Triple Play (Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy) (Blu-ray)
Ethan Hunt and his team are racing against time to track down a dangerous terrorist named Hendricks, who has gained access to Russian nuclear launch codes and is planning a strike on the United States.

An attempt by the team to stop him at the Kremlin ends in a disaster, with an explosion causing severe destruction to the Kremlin and the IMF being implicated in the bombing.

This incident forces the President to invoke Ghost Protocol, under which the IMF is disavowed, and will be offered no help or backup in any form.

Undaunted, Ethan and his team chase Hendricks to Dubai, and from there to Mumbai, they might still be too late to stop a disaster....

No matter what people think about Tom Cruise, he is still one of the biggest movie stars on the planet, and the majority of the time, when he releases a movie, it's often something special.

And this movie is just that, a big slice of special. Taking all the difficult elements from the first three movies (Chimera, the rabbits foot etc) This has no macguffin, just a psycho who believes that nuclear war will bring peace on earth.

So we are threw straight into the action, and the majority of characters in this film have something to do, or are bought in a lot later to help Hunt.

The narrative is lean and easy to digest, and Renner could really do a good job as Cruises replacement, if that ever happens.

Pegg fills in the gap for some very amusing moments, which release the tension a little from the set pieces.

And what set pieces they are! From the prison break, to the sandstorm car chase, to the fight in some strange robotic car park, they excite and make the film what it is.

But nothing prepares you for the scene where Hunt has to access the server in Dubai. It's intense and something that has to be seen. What Cruise did in the second movie on that mountain was special, but this is something more, showing a dedication to a franchise like no one else.

It's easily one of the more fun entries in the series, and easier to understand, but most of all it delivers thrills and delivers them in droves.

It has nice nods to the film series and two great cameos at the end.

Well worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun but could be better, 9 Jan 2012
MI4 is very different from MI1 (can't remember MI2, not seen MI3). That took itself quite seriously and was in the mold of the more 'gritty' action films like Ronin and the latest Bond films. That was great, but maybe by now the formula would have been running thin. The addition of Simon Pegg to the cast of MI4 gave it an unmistakably 'Pegg' humorous feel - he is very much channelling Shaun of the Dead - and there were many genuinely funny moments, solely thanks to him.

What else is good? The opening prison breakout scenes, chases in Moscow, the Kremlin infiltration and the Burj Khalifa hotel action were fantastic, sweaty-palmed bits, quite as good as some of the best Bond. I saw MI4 on the giant Vue Xtreme screen and it definitely benefited from that for some of the most spectacular bits - like familiar national monuments being blown up and assailed.

Ok, now to the 'however'. However... I felt the plot and the baddie were way, way under-developed. The basic idea of a team of 4 people out to prevent nuclear apocalypse on their own is all fine. But somehow I just stopped caring about any of it, and after the first 30-40 minutes the film becomes an excuse for jetting you around the world for an action sequence here or there and a showcase of the new BMW (and iPhone/iPad!).

Unfortunately the action becomes tamer and tamer - I mean, at the end, with nuclear war seconds away, Ethan Hunt is wrestling with an out-of-puff middle-aged man in a car park?? Another big problem is that the baddie is utterly un-convincing. We see very little of him, he is a Swiss academic for God's sake, and about as malevolently evil as a tax inspector. He also only has ONE henchman! What, did SPECTRE have to downsize in the face of the economic crisis? And he is definitely not cool/capable enough to be a lone baddie. The end result is that with seconds left to Armageddon, when it's over, you don't really get the same wave of relief in the face of overwhelming odds as in other films and it's all a bit of an anti-climactic fizzle (despite the fact that the good guys have just about every of their efforts squashed towards the end).

Overall, there is enough action and spectacular set-ups and the four characters are well-acted, to keep you entertained. But I feel that given its massive 2 1/4 hour running time, the baddie's resources and motives should have been given far more attention and for me that seriously weakens a film. Surely a memorable baddie counts for at least 50% of a film like this?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews