Customer Reviews


248 Reviews
5 star:
 (133)
4 star:
 (75)
3 star:
 (23)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


49 of 53 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This is why you should watch Ghost Protocol:
After being a big fan of Mission Impossible it seemed only right to delve into the world of Ghost Protocol. I had high hopes for this film as I think many other fans did, but after hearing how impractical some of the plot ideas were I have to admit to being a little put off and avoided watching it until the crowds died down. Now that I've seen it though, I wish I hadn't...
Published on 23 Feb 2012 by N. J. H.

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Blu Ray Quality.
Not a review on the content of the film (although I will say, without Simon Pegg I think this film would have been a real duffer), but more on the quality of the BluRay transfer.
Initial scenes, and those in good light are as crisp as you would expect from bluRay. However, the darker scenes, notably where they are hiding out in the desert scene and also where they...
Published 17 months ago by Chris Morse


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Blu Ray Quality., 4 Feb 2013
By 
Chris Morse "faraway_pictures" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mission Impossible: Ghost Protocol - Triple Play (Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy) (Blu-ray)
Not a review on the content of the film (although I will say, without Simon Pegg I think this film would have been a real duffer), but more on the quality of the BluRay transfer.
Initial scenes, and those in good light are as crisp as you would expect from bluRay. However, the darker scenes, notably where they are hiding out in the desert scene and also where they are in tunnels etc the quality is very bad. There is so much artefacting going on in the back it is very distracting. Fortunately there are not too many scenes like this, but there is enough to make me write this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 53 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This is why you should watch Ghost Protocol:, 23 Feb 2012
By 
N. J. H. (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
After being a big fan of Mission Impossible it seemed only right to delve into the world of Ghost Protocol. I had high hopes for this film as I think many other fans did, but after hearing how impractical some of the plot ideas were I have to admit to being a little put off and avoided watching it until the crowds died down. Now that I've seen it though, I wish I hadn't waited so long - it was brilliant.

So why was it any good? There's no point in me expressing how great it is if I can't tell you why you might think so too. So with that said, the general idea for this movie: The IMF (The team of Ethan Hunt/Tom Cruise and the gang) must attempt to derail plans for a nuclear war between America and Russia. Why the nuclear war? Well IMF have been framed. For bombing the Kremlin. This brings about the "Ghost Protocol" were individuals of the IMF team must go it alone to try and prove their innocence - not to mention tracking down the real baddies.

I was glad to see the return of Benji, Simon Pegg's character, he really did make the film at times for me - nobody likes a serious MI film. The remaining agents, Jane and Brandt are interesting in their own right though with quite big roles to play (and an interesting twist). But what most people notice the most appears to be all the gadgets, or at least that's what I could hear people chatting about during the movie. It's crammed full of cars, some pretty unique gadgets (of questionable practicality) and some jam-packed action sequences; some of which have great impact and are executed really well.

Was it "bum-on-the-edge-of-the-seat" good? Yes! I would urge you to watch this, I was tensed and excited throughout. I'm so relieved I wasn't disappointed and couldn't care less whether the gadgets would actually work or the stunts wouldn't actually kill you - it would have been boring without these features.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Impossibly Exciting, 30 Dec 2011
By 
This review is from: Mission Impossible: Ghost Protocol - Triple Play (Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy) (Blu-ray)
Mission Impossible: Ghost Protocol is one of those movies where you are probably best advised to leave most of your brain at home. Think too much and you'll find plot holes and ludicrous improbabilities. This may taint your enjoyment of what is surely one of the most exciting films ever to hit the big screen. For this is a pulsating, heart-pumping popcorn movie of the highest quality.

The plot revolves around the attempts of IMF, headed by Agent Ethan Hunt (a very cool and unflustered Tom Cruise), to prevent nuclear war between the USA and Russia after the Kremlin is bombed and IMF framed for the attack. The team is disavowed with the `Ghost Protocol', a black ops contingency, forcing the remaining members to continue alone to attempt to prove their innocence and find the real terrorists behind the bombing in a globe-trotting rogue mission. Support for Hunt comes in the form of the remaining 3 agents of IMF; technology nerd Benji (Simon Pegg); Jane Carter (Paula Patton) and Brandt (The Hurt Locker's Jeremy Renner), an analyst hiding a deep secret.

In a move that will surely have the creators of Bond 23 reaching for the smelling salts, director Brad Bird (whose only previous directing credits are animated films) packs the film with fast cars, gadgets (albeit with some dubious science) and audacious stunts. Bird's handling of the action scenes is masterful, bringing the same flair and sophistication that he exhibited in his Pixar features `The Incredibles' and `Ratatouille'. By this evidence he was the perfect man to take the Mission Impossible franchise to a whole different level. Ghost Protocol isn't just better than its three predecessors; it obliterates them, and in terms of its sense of fun and for sheer white-knuckle excitement, its one of the best action films I have ever seen.

In one vertigo inducing scene, Hunt scales several floors of the Burj Khalifa (the world's tallest building) 100 storeys up. This scene is so breathtakingly well filmed that it will surely induce toe curling and gasping from anyone with even a slight fear of heights. One of the scariest five minutes of any film I can remember. In another sequence, Hunt chases a fleeing villain first on foot and then by car through a raging Dubai sandstorm. Before its release to blu-ray and DVD, I would urge you to watch on an IMAX screen if you can.

The frequency and ferocity of the big action set pieces may mask a slight lack of character depth and development. Ethan Hunt is probably not the most interesting or complex of heroes and the villains feel a tad underwritten, though actress Lea Seydoux puts in an eye-catching turn as a sultry French assassin. But it would be churlish of me to suggest that this spoiled my enjoyment of the film one iota. Ghost Protocol may not have great depth or meaning, but it is certainly tense and thrilling and in its finest moments, utterly awesome entertainment. 9/10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars clever but lacking something...., 28 May 2012
This review is from: Mission Impossible: Ghost Protocol - Triple Play (Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy) (Blu-ray)
I really enjoyed this movie and the blu-ray transfer and audio are almost reference quality. So why not 5 stars ? Well for me Cruise was too pedestrian in this movie and some of the action sequences were mis-matched for pace compared to the rest of the movie. The reality button is also too far stretched with this plot... So I was left feeling GREAT but could have been AWESOME. There are a few other reasons why this misses out on 5 stars but they would give the plot away so maybe judge for yourself....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars They went for a comedy sidekick rather than a villian or intelligence, 17 April 2014
By 
Ian Watters "lovingboth" (Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
After the ok MI, and the 'only the action scenes were any good' MI2, MI3 was surprisingly great, so what went wrong here?

Simon Pegg is a lovely person and his cameo in MI3 was fine, but Mission Impossible is not a 'comedy sidekick' franchise. Does anyone believe that as a Brit with a Green Card, he'd be a field agent for a top CIA team?

There is zero interest in the villain. They might as well not had one.

While some of the script is 'knowing nod to the audience' time (Simon's unfulfilled thing about masks) most of the rest is just plain stupid. There's unlikely, and there's insult to the intelligence of the viewer, and when it's given a choice, this goes for the latter.

As with the first two, only the action scenes are worth looking at... and not all of them. Easily the worst of the four.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The countdown isn't helping...., 25 Mar 2014
This review is from: Mission Impossible: Ghost Protocol - Triple Play (Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy) (Blu-ray)
Ethan Hunt and his team are racing against time to track down a dangerous terrorist named Hendricks, who has gained access to Russian nuclear launch codes and is planning a strike on the United States.

An attempt by the team to stop him at the Kremlin ends in a disaster, with an explosion causing severe destruction to the Kremlin and the IMF being implicated in the bombing.

This incident forces the President to invoke Ghost Protocol, under which the IMF is disavowed, and will be offered no help or backup in any form.

Undaunted, Ethan and his team chase Hendricks to Dubai, and from there to Mumbai, they might still be too late to stop a disaster....

No matter what people think about Tom Cruise, he is still one of the biggest movie stars on the planet, and the majority of the time, when he releases a movie, it's often something special.

And this movie is just that, a big slice of special. Taking all the difficult elements from the first three movies (Chimera, the rabbits foot etc) This has no macguffin, just a psycho who believes that nuclear war will bring peace on earth.

So we are threw straight into the action, and the majority of characters in this film have something to do, or are bought in a lot later to help Hunt.

The narrative is lean and easy to digest, and Renner could really do a good job as Cruises replacement, if that ever happens.

Pegg fills in the gap for some very amusing moments, which release the tension a little from the set pieces.

And what set pieces they are! From the prison break, to the sandstorm car chase, to the fight in some strange robotic car park, they excite and make the film what it is.

But nothing prepares you for the scene where Hunt has to access the server in Dubai. It's intense and something that has to be seen. What Cruise did in the second movie on that mountain was special, but this is something more, showing a dedication to a franchise like no one else.

It's easily one of the more fun entries in the series, and easier to understand, but most of all it delivers thrills and delivers them in droves.

It has nice nods to the film series and two great cameos at the end.

Well worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun but could be better, 9 Jan 2012
MI4 is very different from MI1 (can't remember MI2, not seen MI3). That took itself quite seriously and was in the mold of the more 'gritty' action films like Ronin and the latest Bond films. That was great, but maybe by now the formula would have been running thin. The addition of Simon Pegg to the cast of MI4 gave it an unmistakably 'Pegg' humorous feel - he is very much channelling Shaun of the Dead - and there were many genuinely funny moments, solely thanks to him.

What else is good? The opening prison breakout scenes, chases in Moscow, the Kremlin infiltration and the Burj Khalifa hotel action were fantastic, sweaty-palmed bits, quite as good as some of the best Bond. I saw MI4 on the giant Vue Xtreme screen and it definitely benefited from that for some of the most spectacular bits - like familiar national monuments being blown up and assailed.

Ok, now to the 'however'. However... I felt the plot and the baddie were way, way under-developed. The basic idea of a team of 4 people out to prevent nuclear apocalypse on their own is all fine. But somehow I just stopped caring about any of it, and after the first 30-40 minutes the film becomes an excuse for jetting you around the world for an action sequence here or there and a showcase of the new BMW (and iPhone/iPad!).

Unfortunately the action becomes tamer and tamer - I mean, at the end, with nuclear war seconds away, Ethan Hunt is wrestling with an out-of-puff middle-aged man in a car park?? Another big problem is that the baddie is utterly un-convincing. We see very little of him, he is a Swiss academic for God's sake, and about as malevolently evil as a tax inspector. He also only has ONE henchman! What, did SPECTRE have to downsize in the face of the economic crisis? And he is definitely not cool/capable enough to be a lone baddie. The end result is that with seconds left to Armageddon, when it's over, you don't really get the same wave of relief in the face of overwhelming odds as in other films and it's all a bit of an anti-climactic fizzle (despite the fact that the good guys have just about every of their efforts squashed towards the end).

Overall, there is enough action and spectacular set-ups and the four characters are well-acted, to keep you entertained. But I feel that given its massive 2 1/4 hour running time, the baddie's resources and motives should have been given far more attention and for me that seriously weakens a film. Surely a memorable baddie counts for at least 50% of a film like this?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful., 1 May 2012
By 
Dad "Just a DAD" (Bristol) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
I won't be cliche and tell you that your mission, should you choose to accept it... You know the rest.

Without a doubt, this is the best of all the Mission Impossible movies, including the original. Over the years, the MI franchise had become something of a cartoon of itself. So, it seemed appropriate that Brad Bird should be chosen to helm MI4 Ghost Protocol. As the Oscar winning director of the Incredibles, he made animated cartoons seem very real. Now, he's made Mission Impossible real again. He's injected a fresh breathe of confidence, humor and camaraderie into a series that sorely needed it. He's not only re-invigorated the franchise, he's re-invigorated Tom Cruise's career as an action star. With this movie, Tom is back on top.

You'll notice that there is a lot of the Incredibles in MI4 Ghost Protocol. That's not only because of Brad Bird's influence, but because the Incredibles was a humorous homage to action films. You could say it's the IMF meets the Incredibles. That is not a deterrent. It's a tribute to a director who can think outside the proverbial action box. This isn't the same old, same old. The movie is much more upbeat and doesn't take itself too seriously. Which works to its advantage.

Tom Cruise has never been better. This isn't the brooding Ethan Hunt of previous movies. He's a man on a mission. pardon the pun. To make a complicated story short, the IMF has been shut down and disavowed after a massive explosion at the Kremlin. That explosion is blamed on the IMF. But, it was nothing more than a diversion to steal a nuclear detonator by a terrorist hell bent on ensuring peace on Earth by starting a nuclear war between the super powers. It's up to Ethan, and his cobbled together disavowed team, to hunt down the nuclear terrorist and save the world. simple.

Once you have suspended disbelief, sit back and enjoy. The cast is uniformly excellent. Jeremy Renner plays an IMF analyst suit (with more than desk skills at his disposal) reluctantly recruited into the field. Paula Patton is the former team leader of a mission gone bad sent to rescue Hunt. Simon Pegg is back as Benji, the computer/technology genius. While it may seem like he's there just for comic relief, he is an integral part of the team. There are no dull moments. The movie has a quick pace, fun one liners and mind blowing special effects filmed in glorious IMAX. Paula Patton and Jeremy Renner both have sensational action sequences. Tom Cruise isn't the only actor who gets to jump off buildings. And if this movie is any indication, Jeremy Renner is going to make a fantastic Jason Bourne. This wasn't a vehicle for just Tom. Everyone gets a piece of the action. It's a true throw back to the original TV series.

and wait until you see the car. James Bond would trade in his Aston Martin for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars yes Tom is back!!, 18 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My partial UK pal Chris s seems to hate Tom Cruise , but that`s probably cos he is energetic , good looking way beyond his years and not humble i.e confident .Maybe if he has confidence , he may get a job outside care when he`s nearly a grad . Well this movie is awesome and the story and characters rock !! The crazy scenorios with the impossible tasks are mind blowing !! The supporting players seem more than just that this time , although Maggie Q was missed by me . Great BUY !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars mpossible, to be sure, but the most fun since #1, 10 May 2012
By 
rob crawford "Rob Crawford" (Balmette Talloires, France) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Mission Impossible: Ghost Protocol - Triple Play (Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy) (Blu-ray)
II loved the first MI, which warped the TV program with Jim Phelps' true character coming out as a total surprise that kept you guessing till the end and yet can be watched over and over. 2 and 3 essentially made Cruise into a superhero, creating a role he could plod through with as much interest as a clod. While he is still somewhat of a superhero for this one, there is no question that it is best since 1.

Released from prison by a lovely agent, Hunt is immediately entrapped in some kind of web he has to figure out. The entire MI force is disavowed, so he has no resources but those of his immediate team, which includes a new techie, a mysterious diplomat, and the tough chick. It is a rollicking good ride and I will definitely buy it once the price falls. The feats are just believable enough, things keep going wrong, and it is more complicated (yet ever so close) to disaster. I was not bored for a minute, never lapsed into "some guy is just making this up" mode, and wondered what was really going on for most of it. That is success.

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews