Customer Reviews


270 Reviews
5 star:
 (148)
4 star:
 (79)
3 star:
 (25)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


49 of 53 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This is why you should watch Ghost Protocol:
After being a big fan of Mission Impossible it seemed only right to delve into the world of Ghost Protocol. I had high hopes for this film as I think many other fans did, but after hearing how impractical some of the plot ideas were I have to admit to being a little put off and avoided watching it until the crowds died down. Now that I've seen it though, I wish I hadn't...
Published on 23 Feb 2012 by N. J. H.

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Blu Ray Quality.
Not a review on the content of the film (although I will say, without Simon Pegg I think this film would have been a real duffer), but more on the quality of the BluRay transfer.
Initial scenes, and those in good light are as crisp as you would expect from bluRay. However, the darker scenes, notably where they are hiding out in the desert scene and also where they...
Published 19 months ago by Chris Morse


‹ Previous | 1 2 327 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun but could be better, 9 Jan 2012
This review is from: Mission Impossible: Ghost Protocol (DVD + Digital Copy) (DVD)
MI4 is very different from MI1 (can't remember MI2, not seen MI3). That took itself quite seriously and was in the mold of the more 'gritty' action films like Ronin and the latest Bond films. That was great, but maybe by now the formula would have been running thin. The addition of Simon Pegg to the cast of MI4 gave it an unmistakably 'Pegg' humorous feel - he is very much channelling Shaun of the Dead - and there were many genuinely funny moments, solely thanks to him.

What else is good? The opening prison breakout scenes, chases in Moscow, the Kremlin infiltration and the Burj Khalifa hotel action were fantastic, sweaty-palmed bits, quite as good as some of the best Bond. I saw MI4 on the giant Vue Xtreme screen and it definitely benefited from that for some of the most spectacular bits - like familiar national monuments being blown up and assailed.

Ok, now to the 'however'. However... I felt the plot and the baddie were way, way under-developed. The basic idea of a team of 4 people out to prevent nuclear apocalypse on their own is all fine. But somehow I just stopped caring about any of it, and after the first 30-40 minutes the film becomes an excuse for jetting you around the world for an action sequence here or there and a showcase of the new BMW (and iPhone/iPad!).

Unfortunately the action becomes tamer and tamer - I mean, at the end, with nuclear war seconds away, Ethan Hunt is wrestling with an out-of-puff middle-aged man in a car park?? Another big problem is that the baddie is utterly un-convincing. We see very little of him, he is a Swiss academic for God's sake, and about as malevolently evil as a tax inspector. He also only has ONE henchman! What, did SPECTRE have to downsize in the face of the economic crisis? And he is definitely not cool/capable enough to be a lone baddie. The end result is that with seconds left to Armageddon, when it's over, you don't really get the same wave of relief in the face of overwhelming odds as in other films and it's all a bit of an anti-climactic fizzle (despite the fact that the good guys have just about every of their efforts squashed towards the end).

Overall, there is enough action and spectacular set-ups and the four characters are well-acted, to keep you entertained. But I feel that given its massive 2 1/4 hour running time, the baddie's resources and motives should have been given far more attention and for me that seriously weakens a film. Surely a memorable baddie counts for at least 50% of a film like this?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars although the rapport between the characters is good as is the action, 14 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Watchable, if only for the sequence in Dubai. Some of the movie feels a little forced as does the flimsy storyline, although the rapport between the characters is good as is the action. The comedy elements are a little over the top in places. It's better than some of the Missions within the franchise cannon, but it's not the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful., 1 May 2012
By 
Dad "Just a DAD" (Bristol) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Mission Impossible: Ghost Protocol (DVD + Digital Copy) (DVD)
I won't be cliche and tell you that your mission, should you choose to accept it... You know the rest.

Without a doubt, this is the best of all the Mission Impossible movies, including the original. Over the years, the MI franchise had become something of a cartoon of itself. So, it seemed appropriate that Brad Bird should be chosen to helm MI4 Ghost Protocol. As the Oscar winning director of the Incredibles, he made animated cartoons seem very real. Now, he's made Mission Impossible real again. He's injected a fresh breathe of confidence, humor and camaraderie into a series that sorely needed it. He's not only re-invigorated the franchise, he's re-invigorated Tom Cruise's career as an action star. With this movie, Tom is back on top.

You'll notice that there is a lot of the Incredibles in MI4 Ghost Protocol. That's not only because of Brad Bird's influence, but because the Incredibles was a humorous homage to action films. You could say it's the IMF meets the Incredibles. That is not a deterrent. It's a tribute to a director who can think outside the proverbial action box. This isn't the same old, same old. The movie is much more upbeat and doesn't take itself too seriously. Which works to its advantage.

Tom Cruise has never been better. This isn't the brooding Ethan Hunt of previous movies. He's a man on a mission. pardon the pun. To make a complicated story short, the IMF has been shut down and disavowed after a massive explosion at the Kremlin. That explosion is blamed on the IMF. But, it was nothing more than a diversion to steal a nuclear detonator by a terrorist hell bent on ensuring peace on Earth by starting a nuclear war between the super powers. It's up to Ethan, and his cobbled together disavowed team, to hunt down the nuclear terrorist and save the world. simple.

Once you have suspended disbelief, sit back and enjoy. The cast is uniformly excellent. Jeremy Renner plays an IMF analyst suit (with more than desk skills at his disposal) reluctantly recruited into the field. Paula Patton is the former team leader of a mission gone bad sent to rescue Hunt. Simon Pegg is back as Benji, the computer/technology genius. While it may seem like he's there just for comic relief, he is an integral part of the team. There are no dull moments. The movie has a quick pace, fun one liners and mind blowing special effects filmed in glorious IMAX. Paula Patton and Jeremy Renner both have sensational action sequences. Tom Cruise isn't the only actor who gets to jump off buildings. And if this movie is any indication, Jeremy Renner is going to make a fantastic Jason Bourne. This wasn't a vehicle for just Tom. Everyone gets a piece of the action. It's a true throw back to the original TV series.

and wait until you see the car. James Bond would trade in his Aston Martin for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars yes Tom is back!!, 18 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mission Impossible: Ghost Protocol (DVD + Digital Copy) (DVD)
My partial UK pal Chris s seems to hate Tom Cruise , but that`s probably cos he is energetic , good looking way beyond his years and not humble i.e confident .Maybe if he has confidence , he may get a job outside care when he`s nearly a grad . Well this movie is awesome and the story and characters rock !! The crazy scenorios with the impossible tasks are mind blowing !! The supporting players seem more than just that this time , although Maggie Q was missed by me . Great BUY !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars mpossible, to be sure, but the most fun since #1, 10 May 2012
By 
rob crawford "Rob Crawford" (Balmette Talloires, France) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
II loved the first MI, which warped the TV program with Jim Phelps' true character coming out as a total surprise that kept you guessing till the end and yet can be watched over and over. 2 and 3 essentially made Cruise into a superhero, creating a role he could plod through with as much interest as a clod. While he is still somewhat of a superhero for this one, there is no question that it is best since 1.

Released from prison by a lovely agent, Hunt is immediately entrapped in some kind of web he has to figure out. The entire MI force is disavowed, so he has no resources but those of his immediate team, which includes a new techie, a mysterious diplomat, and the tough chick. It is a rollicking good ride and I will definitely buy it once the price falls. The feats are just believable enough, things keep going wrong, and it is more complicated (yet ever so close) to disaster. I was not bored for a minute, never lapsed into "some guy is just making this up" mode, and wondered what was really going on for most of it. That is success.

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mission: Impressive, 10 Jan 2012
By 
Mission Impossible Ghost Protocol is a balls out, lets give it everything we have kind of film.
It is an unbelievably exciting, tense and well made piece of action cinema.
MI is not a franchise I enjoy, the films range from OK (3) to bad (2) but this one throws everything it has at you, as if it knows this is the franchises last chance.

The Good: This film barely stops for a moment to take a breather, action-packed is an overused term but this film really is, with some of the best set pieces I have ever seen.
The film is so well directed by Brad'The Incredibles'Bird, the direction is clear,smooth and never dull making it easy to see the action.

The Bad: Cover your ears during any attempts at character moments, they are cheesy and soap worthy and will cause unintentional giggling. Paula Patton as Jane Carter, part of Cruises team, is so devoid of any likeability its crazy she got the part, she is so incredibly dull she may as well not be there. The plot and the villians motives are a big load of rubbish, but who cares when the film is so slick. Simon Pegg is fast becoming the Jar Jar Binks of actors, he was the cheap comedy character in Star Trek and now this. Simon is a huge film buff, surely he is aware some of his roles are becoming a bit annoying.

Possibly my favourite action film since Con Air, I would recommend this film.
Even if you haven't seen an MI film before it is worth a watch, as it has very little in connection with the previous ones.
See this film on the biggest screen possible and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 11 July 2014
Hi!
A Very big thanks for the great quality. See you in next orders. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars mi4, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great movie,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Boring in the end, 8 July 2014
By 
Ole Bjrsvik "Ole Bjørsvik" (5172 Loddefjord, - Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mission Impossible: Ghost Protocol (DVD + Digital Copy) (DVD)
Boring in the end.
The car chase in the end went on forever. and then it continued.

Long before the car chase had finished the atmosphere in the cinema was dead. -- I wasn't the only one silently asking the scene to be finished five minutes ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cleverly done and a great action film, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fab film. The stunts alone are worth watching the film for. Cleverly done and a great action film. Best of the Mission Impossible films so far. You do have to leave your common sense at home, although it moves at such a pace you only tend to question things afterwards. The gadgets are completely mad but it somehow all pulls together to work really well. My 11 year old who is a huge Bond fan loves this film and considering the amount of action, gadgets, fast cars, stunts but lack of swearing (mild and not often) its a great film for him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 327 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mission Impossible: Ghost Protocol (DVD + Digital Copy)
£6.18
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews