Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most amazing true story...Ever!!!
Sure, this book is written in the style of a novell, but Josef Martin Bauer wrote it from tapes that the "Real Clemens Forell" recorded on magnetic tape.
The real Clemens Forell was a man called Cornelius Rost. Other than the book and the film his own Life had not such a happy end. Both the Publisher, Franz Ehrenwirth, who first met Cornelius Rost and the writer...
Published on 5 Jan 2010 by Rasmus K. Weinhardt

versus
16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars As far as my feet will carry me
During the Russian campaign many Germans were captured by the Russians between 1941 and 1945 and many were imprisoned in camps in Siberia. Conditions in the camps were harsh and the treatment of prisoners was cruel (as was the treatment of Russian prisoners of war) and not many survived to return to Germany after the war. This is the story of one of the few Germans to...
Published on 26 Jan 2011 by David Rowland


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most amazing true story...Ever!!!, 5 Jan 2010
By 
Rasmus K. Weinhardt "lastrealhippie" (Kent-England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Sure, this book is written in the style of a novell, but Josef Martin Bauer wrote it from tapes that the "Real Clemens Forell" recorded on magnetic tape.
The real Clemens Forell was a man called Cornelius Rost. Other than the book and the film his own Life had not such a happy end. Both the Publisher, Franz Ehrenwirth, who first met Cornelius Rost and the writer Josef Steinbichler, who also met him, discribed him as a "Broken man who was a physical and mental wreck". He insisted on his anonymity for fear of the KGB who were known for assasinating people worldwide. And after all he had commited a crime, in order to survive, by attacking a man and stealing money... And no that was not an invention by J.M. Bauer!!! Only once Cornelius Rost agreed to talk to three British Experts on Siberia (At the time the english translation was released), who wanted to explore if this man had really been where he claimed and they found out that everything he said was accurate up to the smallest detail!!! Only Life itself can "write" such a story that dwarfs classics like the Oddyseey!
Cornelius Rost died in 1983 colourblind due to the lead poisoning of the mining in the Gulag and constantly paranoid, hiding whenever the doorbell rang. The terrible ordeal of his captivity,escape and travelling 8500 miles(!!!!!!!) through some of the most hostile terrain on earth had taken it's toll.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


84 of 87 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unbelievable Story ! A must to read., 4 Dec 2003
By A Customer
You will not be able to put this book down! It is completely absorbing, at times you feel unbelievable, will make you cry and will make you smile.
The story of a man taking 3 years to escape a siberian labour camp is just incredible. Some of the people he meets along the journey gives you faith in the human race and some sadly turns you the other way. However, it is a great read and the only bit that lets it down, is that at the end you do not get to find out how he integrated back into German society (but then that's not what the story is about!). Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping., 30 Jun 2006
By 
This is a truely gripping book. Describing the sheer hell that was the Gulag in Eastern Kamchatka, Forel realises that NOT to escape was a death sentence - he was being slowly poisoned by the lead mine he was working, living and sleeping in.

His story of his long trek to freedom is a gripping tale of human resolve, and is also a terrible tale of man's inhumanity to man.

Highly recommended - and very humbling to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 12 Jan 2008
A humbling and gripping piece of writing. I think "Booker" might best set to one side his 21st century cynicism about the likely veracity of Forell's story. It was plausible enough for West German TV to have turned it into a major mini series in the 1950's (and it was re-made into a feature film recently too.) Forell himself died in the 1980's in anonymity, and if you will read his story it is not hard to see why he might have withdrawn from public life after three years of desperate survival in the wilderness. Having read inummerable tales of people in dire straights in concentration camps or on expeditions or escaping from captivity, this remains the most inspiring tale of all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bleak and brilliant!, 5 Sep 2010
Wow! Have just finished book last night. It has given me quite an insight into all the non-British stuff post war. I generally am not a reader but I have been absorbed by this book.
Pros-
an amazing tale of survival which really makes you feel you are there.
an excellent description of the different scenery- I almost travelled with him.
a happy ending...

Cons-
as it was written a while ago the language can be a bit flowery which i like and others may not
some more detail at the end would have been a nice touch

Above all though an epic

Read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars As far as my feet will carry me, 26 Jan 2011
By 
David Rowland - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
During the Russian campaign many Germans were captured by the Russians between 1941 and 1945 and many were imprisoned in camps in Siberia. Conditions in the camps were harsh and the treatment of prisoners was cruel (as was the treatment of Russian prisoners of war) and not many survived to return to Germany after the war. This is the story of one of the few Germans to escape and find his way home.

I read "As far as my feet will carry me" soon after reading "The long walk" and found it disappointing in comparison to that book. Most of this book concentrates on the author's journey through Siberia and I would have liked much more about what happened to him between Siberia and western Europe.

There are many minor details mentioned in the book and I found it difficult to grasp how the author managed to remember so much after so long given his state of mind at the time and what he claimed to have gone through. As with the "The long walk" its authenticity has been challenged but as with the "The long walk" there is no sure way or knowing how much of it is true.

I found the book more difficult to read than the "The long walk" and not so involving and although there are some interesting passages I found it less stimulating and not so satisfying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars as far as my feet will carry me, 25 April 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
slow start but after you feel how things were in the lead mines and just be glad you were not there
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Escapism for the mind, 16 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: As Far As My Feet will Carry Me (Kindle Edition)
A fantastic read which kept me enthralled for many a night
For me it even out did Rawicz's "The long walk "
You could clearly tell the last 10% was rushed and glossed over but there was enough material here to last for a second book.

I went straight to Wikipedia to find out more, only to learn that almost certainly the book is a fake
Just like Rawicz book also.
German records already have him repatriated form a Russian POW camp by 1947 a full five years before he said the escape began
Just like Rawicz he probably put together a conglomeration of stories to make a fine novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Starting off amazing !, 13 Jan 2010
By 
The order and delivery were perfect...as usual ! Fast and in perfect condition.

I ahve only just started reading this, but am already captivated by the narrative style. Indeed, one can feel the emotion and the hard conditions through a very descriptive narration.

Can't wait to get back home to read some more !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating and almost unbelievable true story of one mans unbearable hardship in escaping from a Siberian Gulag., 22 Dec 2009
By 
Mr. James R. Gilmour (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This true story starts with a terrible injustice done to a German soldier in Starlins Russia.
After receiving a bullet in the mouth and being sent back to the Eastern Front where he was captured by Cossacks and then was accussed of being a spy and tortured for a confession, he was tried and found guilty. He was sentenced to 25 years in a lead mine labour camp.
He was sent along with a 1,000 others in cattle trucks on a 2,000 mile journey to East Siberia and had to march a further 1,000 miles through snow and ice to the Gulag.
He explains the atrocious conditions vividly and the escape which is an amazing episode which I will not spoil for the reader by attempting a precis. I strongly recommend this to the reader also The Long Walk: The True Story of a Trek to Freedom
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

As Far As My Feet will Carry Me
As Far As My Feet will Carry Me by Josef Martin Bauer
4.79
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews