Customer Reviews


201 Reviews
5 star:
 (99)
4 star:
 (49)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (27)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fifa 12 - It will make you laugh and cry!!
I haven't played a Fifa game for about 4 years (preferring usually the Pro Evolution franchise) but this year I decided to give it a whirl owing to ever more positive reviews for EAs footy installments. When I first started playing I was very happy about a number of things, and, unhappy about some others. This review does not include online play, I am only reviewing what...
Published on 27 Nov 2011 by Pankow27

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Quite possibly the worst FIFA game yet
As the title states, this is the worst game of FIFA I have ever played.
I am sorry I wasted the 30+ in paying for this rubbish.

The AI in this game is obscene.
The AI thinks to itself "Alright, it's time to score", turns into God mode and utterly destroys me.
Amateur in far too easy and semi-pro onwards becomes progressively God-like...
Published on 5 July 2012 by Adrian


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fifa 12 - It will make you laugh and cry!!, 27 Nov 2011
By 
Pankow27 (Berlin, Germany) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: FIFA 12 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I haven't played a Fifa game for about 4 years (preferring usually the Pro Evolution franchise) but this year I decided to give it a whirl owing to ever more positive reviews for EAs footy installments. When I first started playing I was very happy about a number of things, and, unhappy about some others. This review does not include online play, I am only reviewing what you get in the box when you buy it!!

What I love about Fifa 12:

The graphics are fantastic with realistic player animation and some wonderful kit designs. The only let-down in the graphical department is the crowd. They look paper thin and all move together in some strange cult-like motion. But, with that said, its the action on the pitch which attracts all of your attention. The commentary is also very well done and it includes some nice titbits of information about each team to give it all a more realistic feel (for example, playing as Leeds United, the commentators often remind me at the beginning of a match of our spectacular fall from grace in the past ten years etc). The menu screens are easy to navigate and the game contains a long list of tracks which you can listen to while messing around with your formation. The best part though is "Career Mode" where you take over a team of your choosing and try to take them to the top. There is an immense library of players (most of which have their real-life picture in their profile) and the inclusion of a youth academy option allows you to discover and develop the next stars of tomorrow.

What I dislike about Fifa 12:

It's hard! Very hard! That isn't really the thing that bothers me though, because all games should have a learning curve where you progressively improve, but Fifa 12 has a different kind of difficulty. You can be playing the game of your life, but, when the computer decides it's time they scored a goal, that's usually exactly what they do! A lot of other reviewers have mentioned this too, and it can be very frustrating (I have wanted to throw my controller through the television on more than one occasion!). But, the longer you play the better you become at preventing this. It is very realistic which means you have to play like a real-life player. If that means tracking back and cutting off passes without ever getting a touch yourself then that's what you'll have to do. So, although for a hardcore footy fan like me, this is (in the longrun) a good thing, I wouldN't recommend this to anyone who wants to pick up and play without any hassle and score thirty-yard screamers every match!

Overall then:

+ beautiful graphics (stadia, kits, player faces etc.)
+ extremely satisfying to win games (as you have to work hard to do so)
+ nice soundtrack
+ controls are easy to learn, difficult to master (there are dozens of hidden tricks and skills)
+ beautifully animated (extremely realistic player movements and collisions)
+ realistic (a true footy fan's game)

- unexpected shifts in difficulty causes frustration
- crowd look like paper cut-out
- Alan Smith constantly reminding me (as a Leeds fan) that we aren't successful anymore :-(

Great game if not a bit frustrating at times. Highly recommended overall however. If I could I would give it 4.5 stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Quite possibly the worst FIFA game yet, 5 July 2012
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: FIFA 12 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
As the title states, this is the worst game of FIFA I have ever played.
I am sorry I wasted the 30+ in paying for this rubbish.

The AI in this game is obscene.
The AI thinks to itself "Alright, it's time to score", turns into God mode and utterly destroys me.
Amateur in far too easy and semi-pro onwards becomes progressively God-like.

But, you get what you pay for and based on what I have played from FIFA 12, I'll be sticking to Pro Evo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars FIFA 12, 7 Feb 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: FIFA 12 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
FIFA 12 is really a very realistic game. I used to be a PES player but now I think that FIFA as overcome PES in almost every detail. Despite the tactical defense mode is a little bit difficult for newbies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fifa's Back!, 2 Oct 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: FIFA 12 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Im here to review the career mode only as it is the thing I use and have always used most on fifa.

To start with you'll notice the menu's are alot slicker and when you sim to the next match it doesn't take you to a whole new menu and it also doesn't take a long time. You can access alot more information on your team now and the players have a form and morale bar aswell as the usual stamina bar. Players also ask you to rest them, tell you they are unhappy if you haven't played them and thank you if you play them after they complained which boosts their morale which means squad rotation is key to keep everyone happy. It adds to the overall feel to the game and makes it feel alot more real.

Another addition is the transfers and transfer deadline day. People bid for you players now even if you don't transfer list them which is a brilliant new feature but which left me with some headaches when I had to decide whether or not to sell Jones for 16.5m! Also on transfer deadline day it counts down with 10 hours left and goes hourly so you can make sure you get everything you want done.

The scouting system is a BRILLIANT addition, perhaps the best. Its alot more detailed than it was on older fifa's when they used to have it and now I have just bought a 16 year old central midfielder for 25k. He is rated 53 already and has huge potential so now If I play him im hoping he'll turn out good in a few seasons.

I was very critical of fifa 10 and 11's career modes as 10 was full of bugs while 11 didn't offer anything other than game after game. This career mode also gives you the chance to do either praise or unnerve the next team your playing or their manager, you can also comment on one of their players. I have no idea if morale, form, press interviews or any of this make a difference to how they play but it really does add to it and I kind of dont care if it makes no difference because it just makes it alot more fun and worth playing.

There are other small additions to the whole game in general such as players pictures now being on their name, kits being worn by players when you pick them rather than just seeing the t shirt and finally the commentary has been split into two teams so for league games you'll have martin tyler and alan smith then for league cup and fa cup games you'll have clive tysley and andy townsend. This really makes it less one dimensional and gives it a whole fresh feel and makes it stand out that its a cup game which is another nice feel.

Overall the career mode probably couldn't get much better and im so happy with it. Theres so much to do and i've found NO bugs which is a first. Everythings feels slick and the new additions are huge ones, especially the transfers/transfer deadline day and the scouting/youth academy! I recommend it to anyone who has played the demo and enjoyed it as they know they will love the game itself. I recommend it to anyone but alot of people have been complaining about the new defence system, although you shouldnt have to you can turn off the tactical defending in offline modes and use the older defending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Multiplayer excellent, single player frustrating, 4 May 2012
By 
Mr. S. A. Brown "yentilsale1" (Kilmarnock, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: FIFA 12 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
For me, the basic mechanics of the gameplay in FIFA 12 are probably the best they've been in the FIFA series for some time. The passing and movement is a lot sharper, especially if you speed up the gameplay in the settings menu. It's about as close to old school PES as the Xbox has got in my opinion.

While playing friends is great, however, I really find playing the computer more of a chore than anything else. The main problem is the computer AI, which has been designed in such a way that it saps most of the enjoyment out of the game. It's not that it's too difficult, or too easy, it's simply that the way the computer plays is exceptionally tiresome to compete against.

They relentlessly try and keep the ball, but not in a realistic way like Barcelona or Spain would do - instead they run around in circles in such a manner that you can't tackle them. On several occasions I've chased an opposition player all the way back from the halfway line to his own goal line - as if simply running backwards is a legitimate strategy because it allows you to keep hold of the ball.

They also seem to have a perverse love of dribbling along the side of the pitch so that even if you do tackle them it spins out for a throw in. It's neither realistic nor enjoyable to play against this sort of thing because, especially on the more difficult modes, you'll find yourself giving the ball away and then chasing shadows for 2 minutes while the computer potters about without even attempting to threaten your own goal. It's not dominating possession so much as it is time wasting.

For that reason I've given it three stars because it's effectively written off the single player mode for me. As a multiplayer the game is fantastic, though, so if that's your main intention in buying it then I'd recommend it wholeheartedly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Enough is enough, 19 July 2012
By 
K. walton "Lionel Luthor 21" (Leeds England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: FIFA 12 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Having played this title for almost a year now i have to say,it is dawning on me how well EA dupe it's public.There are so many flaws in this game one cannot say it is close to realism.First dynamic passing is as dynamic as a hibernating tortoise,most of the time the ball goes where the game says it is going to go even if you are stood motionless and pointed at the player you wish to pass to it fails to deliver .second weight of pass or cross is a joke you can tap the button or hold it down and power it up the result is the same.Third player runs are about as intelligent as wurzel gummidge.In short this game is just a piece of scripted nonsense which is marketed in a brilliant way but i for one have seen the light.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No Attack Or Defence, 14 July 2012
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: FIFA 12 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
"Defend with creativity" That's what Ea Sports quoted on the release of this game. But can we really defend with creativity, sometimes in this game player bump into each-other and fly across the whole pitch other times a through ball is played from the opposing team and your player will suddenly start jogging and the attacker will just run past you. As we move onto attacking i would just like to mention that they still haven't fixed the fact when you play a pass you player doesn't run towards the he just stands still. sometime when you play a through ball near the opposing goal one of your players, yes one of your own players might block the pass. Goalkeepers are so over powered so you can never score goals and i definetly regret buying this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Multiplayer a joke!, 14 Jun 2012
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: FIFA 12 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Singleplayer isnt too bad but multiplayer is shocking, every team you go against make there attackers unrealisticly migets just so they are able to out run and out manouver anyone else on the pitch, theres been many times when my team have been playing excellently and the last minute the five foot bullet can somehow either out jump a 6'3 or sprint ahead of your whole defence, and it is so glitchy it is ridiculous, ive lost count how many times the refferee has made a awful decision.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 2 Feb 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: FIFA 12 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Fifa 12 is a very good game. It took only some few exhibitions matchs to see that is the most perfect football simulator game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great game but few negatives, 29 Nov 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: FIFA 12 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
When Fifa 12 came out I was really excited and there are some positive steps as well as some negatives. The player impact engine is a real postive step because now players can bounce off stronger players whilst trying to win the ball and there are different injuries such as Lucas Patinho for my team (Sampdoria) is out with ligament damage for another 7 weeks (already spent 3 months out). Dribbiling is alot better as you can now dribble past players with the ball closer to you, even if your player has 70 for ball control and are right on the touchline, whilst before that player would loose the ball or run it out of play. The graphics for players have got better such as Javier Hernandez, which is good, and in Career Mode you can now have more detail information about your players whether they are happy, content or unhappy due to not being played enough, paid enough etc. The new youth system is also brilliant for a more realistic feel.

The negatives are still the same such as the CPU players find it so much easier to win the ball off your players, and yet you struggle to win the ball off them and when you do the majority of the time its a free kick to the other team. The referee still gives ridiculous free kicks and penalties away (example is I am using Sampdoria and Gastadello won the ball from a slide tackle in the box which was clear as day and the ref gave a penalty, I mean what the hell, and to top it off the CPU seems to get more decisions than you which is really unfair in my case). The final thing I find really annoying and is a big negative is that if your winning or drawing your players can pass the ball in really tight spaces, not get in each others way, crosses are really accurate and create good positioning etc but as soon as you are loosing your whole team becomes rubbish and your own players get in your way and the crossing is dreadful and the CPU team becomes amazing with their passing and crossing which is so stupid in my view (even if the passing error is on 70 as I tried that out), and your players sometimes won't move around an opposition player who is blocking you, even if you try and move your player with the joystick, which gets on my nerves.

Overall it's a great game but EA need to sort these little negatives that have been in Fifa for a while and in my view spend a little bit more time on the career mode, and then the game will be even better and a 5 star from me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

FIFA 12 (Xbox 360)
FIFA 12 (Xbox 360) by Electronic Arts (Xbox 360)
4.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews