Customer Reviews


262 Reviews
5 star:
 (135)
4 star:
 (43)
3 star:
 (29)
2 star:
 (22)
1 star:
 (33)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars bought as gift
my younger brother is always glued to his screen, bought this a while back tho he already wants the next version!
fast service, not damaged = happy :)
Published 16 months ago by priyanka

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Flawed, Beautiful Game
I'll start with the big (and unfortunately limited) positives:
As an offline football game, the gameplay is fantastic. Passing, shooting and dribbling are smooth and realistic, love it. The characteristics and strengths of players are mirrored well, and overall control of your 11 players is better than ever. I love the fact that it is harder, as i used to be able to...
Published 15 months ago by Burnand


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Flawed, Beautiful Game, 20 Jan 2013
This review is from: FIFA 12 (PS3) (Video Game)
I'll start with the big (and unfortunately limited) positives:
As an offline football game, the gameplay is fantastic. Passing, shooting and dribbling are smooth and realistic, love it. The characteristics and strengths of players are mirrored well, and overall control of your 11 players is better than ever. I love the fact that it is harder, as i used to be able to win a season on Legendary, and I'm far from a great FIFA Player. To top it off the graphics of the actual football gameplay are flawless.
For those reasons, it is hard to rate this game lower then 50% - because it is a decent football game.

Now come the flaws.

1. Online - My main problem with Fifa games is that they are always delayed significantly by poor connection. I have a online wired connection, giving me 100% signal strength. Yet every single online game I have ever played On Fifa 12 has experienced some degree of 'lag'. Games like MW2 and Assassins Creed always run smoothly online, so why doesn't FIFA? Online play is slow and unrealistic, so much different to offline, and I don't pay 40 for half a game.

2. Career mode - Transfers! I bought Fifa 12 in Hope of playing a season similar to the one I was following on TV. But by the time I had reached the end of the first 'Transfer Deadline', David Silva was at Arsenal, Rooney was at FC Bayern, and Higuain + Cambiasso + Sjneider had decided to move to Man Utd? Felt like I was playing a fake season, but that may be just me. And a very small complaint, it rained 4/5 matches all season? I know we have a lot of rain here, and I know Fifa are trying to show off their Graphics, but it completely ruins the football.

3. The Referees - Far, far too sensitive, the number of fouls given per game is huge, for things that would be ignored in real life. Football is a physical game, and despite the 'Divers', true footballers are strong in the tackle, and very often don't give away fouls for physical challenges- it's part of the game.

4. Pace of defenders- In real life, Ronaldo sprinting with a football is faster than Mertesacker sprinting without Ome, without a doubt. On FIFA, apparently this isn't the case. That is just one of many examples where the defenders are given unrealistic pace, giving them the ability to catch the fastest of strikers, even when they hit the offside line perfectly.

There are more, but I won't bore you. At the end of the day I can play Fifa with the flaws, but I won't buy FIFA 13, because I know that the online football will, once again, be a shambles. If you are going to pay top dollar for game, you expect all aspects of that game to work, and FIFA seem to spend a lot of time fixing minor issues, rather than the biggest problem.

Basically, it's okay. But they need to sort out their online football before I consider buying another of their games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Blasphemy!!, 3 Jan 2013
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: FIFA 12 (PS3) (Video Game)
I'm an old PES covert - i started on PES and for years thought it the best. i converted to FIFA through FIFA 11 and thought it alot better and a genuinely more playable (ie fun) game. EA Sports have now decided to ruin their game. they have in effect abolished slide tacking! aah! this is blaspemous whatever your game loyalty. why does arcade football have to replicate the s*** on tele?! this is one of the more rubbish footy games i have ever played. i started on semi-pro and found it far too easy (finishing 1st in league) and so upped a level to pro and found it impossible finishing 10th and quickly going out of all competition. i'm not a rubbish player (honest!!) - whats going on ??? why do they keep messing around with good play-able formulas that people like? LEAVE IT!! likely to now revert back to PES 13 or maybe get a life :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dreadful compared to FIFA 09, 30 Dec 2013
By 
Chung "Panda's King" (Britannia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: FIFA 12 (PS3) (Video Game)
Okay, first off, i want to say i am not much of a football fan, and especially not FIFA games. I never followed the 'hype', in another words, the need to buy a new FIFA every year, when they all are seemingly similar. However, even I have to acknowledge that 09 was getting a little old. I have played FIFA 14 briefly at a pub, and i liked it. However, as it is new, it is very expensive. So to filled the void, I opted for the second option - a dated yet good FIFA: 12 it is.

After reading multiple reviews etc, all of which was average - good, i decided to give it a try. Amongst all the ones I looked at (11 - 13), it was given the highest rating by everyone... so what a shock it was when i played it, and it was completely dreadful!!

First off, the pros:
- The impact engine is a big improvement over 09's, that i will admit. You actually feel like controlling real players, rather than coded stick figures who's repetitive movement makes you feel like playing with physical toys.
- The graphics is a lot better than 09's too. The graininess and texture of the game makes it that much more real, like you're actually watching a game of football!!
- The refs are still bad.. but fairer. At least they won't red card you every time you slide tackle someone.
- The difficulty has certainly improved, which makes it better. After all, no team can win the premier league by 40 points etc in real life.

These 'pros' make the game entirely different. Compared to 09, 12 has certainly got the 'realist' feel to it... and some would argue this is enough to promote the game from 'average' to 'great'. And I would agree, if not for the dreadful cons within the game.

- Although the movement is a lot better (a lot more unique to each player for example), but the realism is taunted by the delay of the command. There is a noticeable 'lag' from moving the joystick to the player actually moving direction, which spoils the fun, because rather than knowing your player will move in that direction in that given you, you have to guess.. and if you guess wrong, you lose the ball.
- The main menu's layout is hideous, it is WAYYY to cluttered with useless information. Usually this wouldn't be a problem, but, the amount of clutter causes considerable lag when operating the menu. And if you're unfortunately enough to enter a wrong place, you'd have to wait 10 min before you can get out again. So unless you have a immortal life, and endless amount of patience, this game WILL cause you stress.
- Penalty is a joke. For some reason, EA decided that is it better for a player to control EVERYTHING during a penalty shootout.. that little bar makes the penalty shootout a dreadful experience. Comparable to a free-online football game!
- The number of 'careers' are unneeded since they all involve you playing the game, so why not just integrate all of it and call it... ultimate manager mode?

Stressfully, these little natters turned 12 from a good game into one of the most frustrating games i have ever played in my life. I know that EA has already rectified most of these issues in 14, which is why, for a lot extra, get that instead. Or, stick with your current one now and wait till 14's price has dropped (usually in 1-2 min given the depreciation rate of EA games).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars bought as gift, 26 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: FIFA 12 (PS3) (Video Game)
my younger brother is always glued to his screen, bought this a while back tho he already wants the next version!
fast service, not damaged = happy :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Piece of trash, 1 May 2012
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: FIFA 12 (PS3) (Video Game)
There are so many stupid little mistakes in this game that just add up to the overall annoyances of it's presentation.

EA are extremely lazy, they create a package that looks well created, but the longer you play the more you realise that they don't care anymore.

For instance, champions league matches start out realistic, but for absolutely no reason at all, the final and 2nd leg of the semi-final both take place at mid-day, which isn't right. This is an easy error to fix, but EA won't fix it, and they haven't since last year - why? Because they are lazt and only care about you being impressed with the presentation of your first season to scam you into buying the game.

Here are some more annoying errors;

Penalties are unfair - I've hit many penalties where i've given the ball the softest possible touch (controls are sensative) only for my expert penalty taker to fall on his arse and boot the ball out of the stadium.

Small touches on the opposition result in freekicks and penalties, on the other hand, I constantly get tackled by the CPU acting like an animal and never win freekicks. It's also impossible for a goalkeeper to give a way a penalty. I mean seriously? Wtf?

Overpowered Liverpool, underpowered United - In my career game as Chelsea, Liverpool are constantly battling for 1st spot whereas man u are extremely easy to beat (I bet them 6-0 on world class mode). Maybe EA should put in some coding to recognise the fact that a) liverpool last won the league about 22 years ago and b) haven't been in the top 4 this season or last. Hell even the commentary used to mention that Liverpool hadn't won the league since 89 in fifa 08, so why do they overpower an overrated team?

Doesn't update commentary - I had never heard the line "none of the london clubs have won the champions league" UNTIL I had actually won it in the game. Talk about consistency

Stupid transfers, stupid rules - Some players in career mode are "un-buyable" because when you try and buy them, the other team tells you that they don't have enough depth to sell the player. Now at first it makes sense, but after about 4 seasons of trying to buy the same player worth 4,000 for 40,000,000 it gets a bit annoying and stupid. After all, why wouldn't they be able to rebuild that position for 40 mil? Why haven't they built their lacking squad over 4 years? what fifa means to do, in very cheap and lazy way, is programme the game to say "you can't ever buy this player". Why? No reason, apparently fifa dont want you to create your dream team in this game, seriously what's the point of this? It's just annoying

On top of this, I bought Neymar, won the champions league, as soon as the season was over he wanted to leave why? Because the mighty Bolton Wanderers who finished the league in 12th position with no european prospect or chances of topping the PL wanted him for 40,000000 (i had paid 55 mil for him). Once a player says they want to leave, that's it, no convincing, no way of changing the rules, the board will sell him for you for whatever price they recieve. So not only did I lose a player to a worse team, I lost him for less than I had paid for him.

There's nothing that triggers this reaction, it just happens randomly, and there should be a way to discuss issues with your player to help him change his mind and add depth, but instead, EA go down the typical lazy route.

Again, this is just a cheap and lazy way of making the game hard, but it doesn't make it hard, just irritating. The whole point of career mode is to take a club and buy the players you want, what's the point if you can't buy some players and lose players for literally no reasons other than the chance that the game decides it wants to be unfair.

Overall I want to love fifa, but the lack of care EA have for their fans sticks out like a sore thumb. It's literally like they're slapping you in the face with your hard earned cash, well not literally, but you know what I mean
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GOOD PRODUCT, 23 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: FIFA 12 (PS3) (Video Game)
THIS FOOTBALL GAME IS ALWAYS POPULAR WITH THE KIDS COMING INTO OUR CHARITY KIDS CLUB. THERE IS ALWAYS A QUEUE TO GET ONTO THIS GAME. WOULD RECOMMEND THE SELLER. CAME ON TIME AND WELL WRAPPED
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish, 26 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: FIFA 12 (PS3) (Video Game)
Just terrible really, long balls are the only way to win a game, single player is a joke. terrible EA
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars OK, 24 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: FIFA 12 (PS3) (Video Game)
I'm not a big fan of sports games but it done the job and was ok. Cannot say any more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Top footy game, 9 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: FIFA 12 (PS3) (Video Game)
Now having moved over to PS3, i must say the game is good. thing is with fifa, its a good game. and you get a lot for your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Great footy game., 7 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: FIFA 12 (PS3) (Video Game)
A good solid football game. Footy games not really my thing but I love coming back to this when I need to. Ticks all the boxes for a fun game. Personally I think there are too many menus and options as I just like to play without all that. But nevertheless a great fotty game with loads of stats, stadiums, players and menus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xadaceeac)

This product

FIFA 12 (PS3)
FIFA 12 (PS3) by Electronic Arts (PlayStation 3)
4.84
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews