Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fire & Blood
There might be some minor spoilers if you have yet to see the tv series, so please beware.

First off, I hate it when tv soundtracks are released and they see fit to change the opening title music, either by extending it or re-recording it or whatever. So I'm very happy that Ramin (Clash of the Titans) Djawadi's 'Main Titles' on this cd is exactly the version...
Published on 8 July 2011 by Steve D

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good background music
This is nice to have on in the background if you're reading or concentrating on something. The key musical phrase in the TV programme's intro is repeated throughout every track so it does get very repetitive if you're listening only to the music.
Published 6 months ago by KindleGuy


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fire & Blood, 8 July 2011
By 
Steve D (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There might be some minor spoilers if you have yet to see the tv series, so please beware.

First off, I hate it when tv soundtracks are released and they see fit to change the opening title music, either by extending it or re-recording it or whatever. So I'm very happy that Ramin (Clash of the Titans) Djawadi's 'Main Titles' on this cd is exactly the version heard on the show. HBO have a knack for creating memorable opening title sequences (The Sopranos, The Wire, Band of Brothers etc) and Game of Thrones is right up there with them, and I personally even prefer it to those greats.

After the 'Main Titles' we get another 28 cues from the series. Many of them are quieter, more introspective and atmospheric pieces that reflect the show's character driven, dramatic nature. I was hoping that the music from particular scenes would be included and, happily, all of the ones I wanted are here. Of the recurring themes, my favourite is the one used for the Starks, which is included here as 'Goodbye Brother' and is later reprised as 'Kill Them All', from the highly emotional scene between Catelyn and Robb in the final episode. There are several tracks here from that episode, and the cd ends rather well with a sequence of them, including the episode's double climax of 'The Night's Watch' and 'Fire And Blood', and ending with (surprise!) 'Finale'. It's a fantastic crescendo to the cd, as it was to the first season itself.

Elsewhere, one of my favourite scenes, Arya's first 'dancing' lesson, is represented by 'The Pointy End', and also shows up in 'Things I Do For Love', which so memorably ended the first episode. Away from the quieter pieces we get bombast in the shape of 'The King's Arrival', and some of the action sequences such as 'The Assassin's Dagger'. I won't go through them all!

If you liked the series as much as I did, and if the music from certain scenes stuck in your head to the point where -like me - you had to keep re-watching them, then you will love this.

In short, Djawadi has done a fine job. This is great stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Understated in the show but makes for a great listen on CD, 12 July 2011
By 
L. Hubbard (Cardiff) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
### THIS REVIEW IS FOR THE MUSIC TO SEASON 1 - AMAZON HAVE POOLED TOGETHER THE REVIEWS FOR SEASON 1 AND IT'S APPEARING ON THE PAGE FOR SOUNDTRACK TO SEASON 3. WILL UPDATE THIS FOR SEASON 3 ONCE THE CD IS RELEASED BUT THIS IS JUST A WARNING FOR POTENTIAL BUYERS OF THE SEASON 3 SOUNDTRACK THAT MOST OF THE REVIEWS POSTED CURRENTLY ARE FOR SEASON 1 ###

Ramin Djawadi works in the studios of Hans Zimmer, and is perhaps best well known for his work on Iron Man and Clash of the Titans, neither of which were particularly impressive in their own right. Giving Djawadi the musical reigns for Game of Thrones could be seen as slightly risky, as the Zimmer style of music is arguably not the most suited to the historical fantasy genre. However, based on the quality of this soundtrack, these fears were completely unfounded, with Djawadi composing what is arguably the finest music in his career to date.

The score as heard within the programme itself was relatively minimal, and only key scenes usually contained music. This is probably a good thing, as overscoring a show can be a bad thing.

The only real criticism is that the majority of tracks are fairly short - only 6 tracks out of a total of 29 were over 3 minutes in length, meaning that some of the tracks are quickly over before they have even begun. This is only a minor point though.

I am also undecided on the main theme - the rising three note motif in "Main Title" and "Game of Thrones" does a good job of keeping the pace of the track high, but thematically it seemed a little weak (*EDIT 19/8/11, decided the main theme is great. Simple, but effective*). In "Jon's Honor" and "Kill Them All", the rhythmic and melodic variations on the this 3 note motif did work very well. Aside from that, I also thought the writing for solo violin in Goodbye Brother and "Kill Them All" was outstanding. Special mention should be give to the track "Finale", which contains the best statement of the three note motif and the main theme, with a full orchestral statement and choir to push the epic side up to the max - spine-tingling stuff.

Overall, Djawadi should be commended for this fantastic effort. It has the perfect balance of modern orchestrations, whilst still giving the feel of a mystic far off land. Whilst this is certainly not in the same league as Howard Shore's work on Lord of the Rings, for a fantasy TV show, the quality of the music is high and is definitely worth a purchase if you liked the music in the show or like film/tv scores, as this works brilliantly as a stand alone listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this!, 7 May 2013
By 
J. E. Higginson "book worm" (yorkshire,england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Game of Thrones (Audio CD)
love this soundtrack so much I had it on repeat for days and days after I'd received it!! The cd was really quick to arrive it was great :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars haunting theme music track now in glorious hi fi, 25 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Game of Thrones (Audio CD)
a smashing selection of theme music used in the series , background music is also featured...alll makes an excellent disc full of memorable music.sounds even better tweaked up too high volume on my hi fi. A nice gift for any fan of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Game of Thrones Series 1 Soundtrack, 6 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Game of Thrones (Audio CD)
Mindblowing. Just don't have the words to describe this music. Played constantly alongside The Borgias Soundtrack. Highly recommended to anyone who likes their music powerful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Series tracks, 25 April 2013
By 
I. Morris "Irene" (Shropshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Game of Thrones (Audio CD)
If you know someone who is a fan of the series, this is a great buy. It doesn't just have the main opening theme, it has all the individual themes of the series. We now find ourselves listening for them. Provided a great surprise gift for my husband.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very nice, 7 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Game of Thrones (Audio CD)
Very nice music and excellent recording and mastering. If you are into hifi, you will love this since it sounds amazing. The music is very nice and you get in between of semi-music that sounds awesome if you have a nice big audio system.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great soundtrack to escape into a world of fantasy, 16 Dec 2012
By 
Asphodelia (Brighton, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Game Of Thrones (MP3 Download)
If you are looking at the reviews for this album, the chances are that you have already been enticed by the haunting main theme of the Game of Thrones TV series. I'm a fan of soundtracks in general, and I already own the various Lord of The Rings albums (and am planning to buy The Hobbit's new score too), as well as lesser known but equally great scores to games such as World of Warcraft. So if you like your soundtrack to evoke the worlds of fantasy, dragons, castles and a lot of snow, go for it. You will not regret buying this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GAME OF THRONES, 15 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Game of Thrones (Audio CD)
As an GAME OF THRONES fan I am delighted with this CD. Some of the tracks are not so easily reconised but overall real value for
money

EEDIE, DEVON
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Game of Thrones CD is the jewel in the crown, 28 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Game of Thrones (Audio CD)
The Series "Game of Thrones" has been glorious and I found myself looking forward to the opening sequence for each episode; the sweeping panning of Westeros and the mesmerising music. I bought the CD on the strength of this , and I've been delighted to find that the rest of the music is equally atmospheric, imaginative and captivating. I often find with any new CD that I need to hear the music several times before I can form a real understanding or make a judgement, and this was definitely the case here, as the more times I heard it the more thoroughly I enjoyed it. As with all sound track music the sections are sometimes a bit shorter than you might wish and don't evolve and grow enough to be totally satisfying in themselves, but you have to hear the whole CD together for that, by which time you have absorbed the atmosphere of the story and characters perfectly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Game Of Thrones
Game Of Thrones by Ramin Djawadi
Buy MP3 Album7.59
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews