Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very listenable, 3 Mar 2006
By 
David Johnson "El Burrito" (Buenos Aires) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Very Mercenary (Audio CD)
This was crazily undervalued at the time of it´s release mainly because this group sit uncomfortably between the hip-hop scene and the type of music you see on extreme sports programmes. Basically they don´t get much credibility from Hip-Hop fans because, "it just ain´t gangsta."
The fact is that they are brilliant. On this record several young starlets of the U.K. scene appear,"starlight," with Root´s Manuva is one of the most lyrically inventive tracks he has recorded. This recorded ambles excellently between biting realism, check out track two and the music that you see when you see this lot live, pure pure funky rhythms.
I love tracks like,"Who´s the realest," and,"Goldrush." There are no words there but it sounds like a very British landscape of our social reality. "The missing suitcase," sounds like something you might hear in a Bond movie, yet it´s strangely infectious.
If you´ve been to university they will have undoubtedly hit your student union at some point. If you´ve never seen them make it a priorty because they´re one of the UK´s most entertaining live acts. Class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent self styled British hip hop, 16 Jan 2000
This review is from: Very Mercenary (Audio CD)
The Herbaliser have not fallen into the trap of many uk hip hop artists by trying to mimick our stateside cousins sounds and accents. And they have produced a great album of instrumentals to relax with and some excellent tracks featuring the very best of british hip hop including the established Balde and the new kid on the scene Roots Manuva. I was at their Glastonbury set as well and therefore vouch for their live credentials, in essence this is a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great from start to finish, 27 July 2006
This review is from: Very Mercenary (Audio CD)
this album is the best the herbaliser has offered me to date, i like every track on it, some more than others, but still it plays from start to finish quite happily , no skipping.

nailed... buy this cd or miss out on something quite brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classy,Jazzanova beatmeisters, 13 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Very Mercenary (Audio CD)
The first time I heard The Herbaliser it happened to be in the u.k. a few years ago and they were seriously good. And when I first heard this album I was not disappointed in the slightest the beats and the rapping are well matched and the beats are chilled with sounds intermingled with Jazziness. With the new album already launched I would rank very mercenary on a par with the new one. I cant wait to see them live again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this now!, 27 Jan 2000
This review is from: Very Mercenary (Audio CD)
Blow your headphones was superb and this release maintains the high standard of material these guys produce. Probably the UK's finest beat contortionists. From pure hip hop originality to laid back jazz breaks, with no lapse in form. Nice!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, hiphop breakbeat and chillin' all in one, 24 Nov 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Very Mercenary (Audio CD)
A great album, backed up by a great session at Glastonbury '99. If you like breaking, scratching and rappin', you WILL love it.
Not too sure about their next one though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chilled blend of hip-hop, funk, jazz and trip-hop?, 14 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Very Mercenary [VINYL] (Vinyl)
I'd bought this after hearing "8-point agenda" expecting more of the same, but this is different. A pleasant surprise you might say! Featuring Mc's and Dj's from all over, such as Roots Manuva in 'Starlight'. There's a useful track for all you ladies out there ('The Sensual Woman') as well as some of the most chilled noises to come out of my stereo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A worthwhile addition to the collection, 2 Feb 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Very Mercenary (Audio CD)
The name of Blade drew me to buy this thinking it would be hardcore, I was in for a pleasant suprise and a wonderful evening chilling out in front of my Hi-Fi. This album is poetry to the ears. The only critism ins it's not long enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BYE IT, 13 Aug 2003
This review is from: Very Mercenary (Audio CD)
Amazing these beats funk and groove will just wonna make u boogie all night. In particular track two is the best and thirteen has the best begining to any rap song i have ever heard Amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Very Mercenary
Very Mercenary by The Herbaliser
Buy MP3 Album7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews