Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, informative and extremely readable., 14 Sep 2011
By 
The latest in Alaric Bond's Fighting Sail series is a slight diversion in that in embraces the Honourable East Endia Company and the plight of the naval officer consigned "to the beach".

We meet some familiar faces and one devious one from the past who causes some unpleasant moments. We are introduced to new characters, some of whom I hope will feature in further books.

There are many twists and turns and incidents in the story which give the author the opportunity to illustrate his vast knowledge of his subject. The story is gripping and compulsive reading right up the last pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent read, 25 Oct 2011
It is as though the writer was there and he took you with him! Action and drama all the way without relinquishing technical and historical accuracy. Alaric Bond is one of the best writers of historical fiction around today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The series gets better, 22 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CUT AND RUN: The Fourth Book in the Fighting Sail Series (Kindle Edition)
Alaric Bond just keeps getting better. The book was both exciting and informative throughout and I can,t wait to read the next in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Journey Continues, 16 Sep 2012
I recently finished reading the fourth book in Mr. Bond's Fighting Sail series. As with the others before this, I found it to be an enjoyable read. Mr. Bond's ability to tell a tale from a wide variety of viewpoints without confusing his reader proves valuable in holding the reader's interest.

What I found surprisingly different about this fourth book in the series is that, although we find ourselves once again with characters from previous books, the setting of the story is not aboard a Royal Navy vessel. Instead the main characters begin the novel outside of the employ of the navy and instead embarking on a journey on an East Indiaman in various capacities. Once aboard we discover that the dubious captain of the Pevensey Castle is a man whom we have met before in the series, and this does not bode well for our "heroes."

While I enjoy reading Age of Sail novels set in the Royal Navy, Cut and Run`s East Indiaman setting was a pleasant departure. So far I have not come across a book in the genre that so closely tackles the subject. I thoroughly enjoyed learning more about the machinations of the East India Company, a business that so dominated the shipping during the era of Mr. Bond's series.

Something I also find refreshing about any of Mr. Bond's books that I have thus far read is his ability to portray realistic female characters. So often authors in the genre seem completely at a loss as to how to not only write a palatable female character but how to give her worth to the story. Too often they seem inserted into the narrative simply to give the main character someone to bed, and then once that happens the author seems to dismiss them. Mr. Bond gives his women spirit within the confines of his era's societal acceptability yet they aren't so outrageously radical that they are unbelievable, nor are they the doormats so often portrayed in novels and non-fiction. And they all have a purpose to the story, a place, a will that helps forward the story. And, just as important, I like reading about them and the balance they give to the male characters. (I admit that I usually prefer to read and write about male characters, for whatever reason.)

Mr. Bond has recently released the fifth book in his series, entitled The Patriot's Fate. I look forward to continuing on the voyage!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sailing Close to the Wind, 29 Jun 2012
By 
Dennis S. Neff (Copenhagen, Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CUT AND RUN: The Fourth Book in the Fighting Sail Series (Kindle Edition)
Alaric Bond is one of the "bright spots" in current "Age of Sails" historical fiction, being informative and entertaining without sacrificing accuracy. His research of the ships, sea customs and sailing skills of the period is excellant.

To be quite honest, he frightened me severly at the start of the book by setting the story in a crank "John Company" ship, with an evil captain, about to depart on a two-plus year cruise to India and China. As the author doesn't set the exact date (Was he looking for a little "sea room" here?), I approximate the starting date to be between Nov. 1797 and Feb. 1798, as Camperdown was Oct. 1797. This would have meant that our heros would have been stuck in a floating hotel while Nelson was "coming to grips" with the French at Aboukir Bay and then the Danes at Copenhagen, thereby missing one of the most exciting periods in Royal Navy history. However, after "sailing close to the wind" on this issue, the author not only extricated himself from this situation quite cleverly, but also managed to eventually pack the story with "rip roaring" sea action. Well done, Alaric Bond!

This is one of only a handful of series where I re-read the previous books each time a new issue in the series is obtained. Like Pope, Reeman, and Forester, they hold my interest every time, with no "dead spots" (bad books) in the series. I sincerely hope that there are many more books in Bond's "Fighting Sails" series "over the horizon".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another excellent read, well-researched, 25 July 2014
By 
Amazon Customer "Bones" (Newcastle-on-Tyne, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CUT AND RUN: The Fourth Book in the Fighting Sail Series (Kindle Edition)
Another excellent read, well-researched, fast-paced and gripping. Characters we know and admire are forced by circumstances into trying their hand at the Merchant Service, but are dismayed when they discover the captain is an old enemy. This raises dilemmas: how to deal with a predatory letcher? Do you submit to a bullying coward? Can the safety of the ship justify mutiny?
Lots of ethical questions are nicely handled, from various viewpoints, while the action is vividly portrayed, setting the scene in the mind's eye which enhances the power of the narrative.
In keeping with the sailor's mindset of the time, casualties are accepted as a fact of life, and well-loved characters are victims of sudden death and disappear over the side... This aspect hones the edge of the sharp attention to detail that Mr Bond delivers, setting him apart from the sometimes maudlin aftermath of an action portrayed by other writers.
I look forward to the next instalment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jaytee, 21 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CUT AND RUN: The Fourth Book in the Fighting Sail Series (Kindle Edition)
Another extremely well-written book with the wealth of authenticity of maritime detail of the period leaping from every enthralling incident.

I would recommend it to anyone who enjoys a gripping sea story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Aye Aye, 18 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CUT AND RUN: The Fourth Book in the Fighting Sail Series (Kindle Edition)
Another enjoyable read , detail Mr Bond gets in his novels is very good.
Well researched, Hope he carries on writing this series as I have been sucked in once again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't wait for the next instalment, 13 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CUT AND RUN: The Fourth Book in the Fighting Sail Series (Kindle Edition)
Very well researched and written historical fiction. You feel you are there and I'm so glad I found this series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not just for guys, 11 Feb 2013
By 
Kindle Customer (On the road, or at sea...) - See all my reviews
This review is from: CUT AND RUN: The Fourth Book in the Fighting Sail Series (Kindle Edition)
The name's Bond. Alaric Bond.

If you are a diehard fan of historic naval fiction you will have heard of Alaric Bond, a British author born in Surrey whose father was also a writer of some renown. If you're not an age-of-sail geek but you like tightly written historical fiction, then let me acquaint you with Alaric Bond's Fighting Sail Series, published by Fireship Press.

You can jump right in with Cut and Run, the fourth book in the loosely related series, in which young lieutenant Tom King is the central character. In this episode Tom is temporarily employed by the East India Company instead of His Majesty's Royal Navy. I found the change of pace welcome, very plausible, and I was glad for a glimpse of life aboard a merchantmen. But don't think you can relax in a deck chair because in this era a merchant ship is prey.

Bond plots well and the pacing is spot-on but what I liked best were the characters themselves and how they dealt with their various situations. Bond peoples his vessels with believable characters, both men and women, from various stations. The female characters are not just whores, vixens or termagant wives, they are real people and the author gives them the full humanity they deserve. Being a female myself, these things matter! Because Bond's characters are convincing, when the chase begins and the shooting starts I actually give a damn about what happens.

Mr. Bond doesn't always keep his good guys alive, which adds to the tension as well as to the sense of reality, yet he is definitely in charge of his story. From page one I knew I was in expert hands.

Cut and Run's well-crafted climactic chase is outstanding; my heart was racing for many pages as I agonized for Tom King and his shipmates. Even if you've never read an age-of-sail book before, you could come aboard on Bond's fourth novel and not be lost (he includes a concise nautical glossary.) In fact, you just might find yourself hooked. This is realistic historical fiction at its best.

Linda Collison, author of the Barbados Bound (Patricia McPherson Nautical Adventure).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews