Customer Reviews


365 Reviews
5 star:
 (135)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (46)
2 star:
 (50)
1 star:
 (104)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sky remote
my new sky remote arrived quickly and well packaged.you could tell it was a genuine product not some cheap replica have told my friends that if they ever need a new remote at a good price this is where they should look.
Published on 1 July 2012 by jill colley

versus
85 of 86 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish, Not a Genuine Article!
*This is remote is simply not a genuine article. It is not a direct/exact/genuine copy of the one supplied upon purchasing a Sky Box.*

I bought this remote in mid December as my original Sky remote broke after dropping it (several times). So, seeing this alternative for £8.99, considerably cheaper than buying it elsewhere, I dived in. The remote arrived in...
Published on 20 Mar 2012 by LinCas


‹ Previous | 1 237 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

85 of 86 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish, Not a Genuine Article!, 20 Mar 2012
This review is from: Sky+ Plus Remote Control Official Sky Branded Retail Packaging, 2x Duracell Batteries and Manual (Electronics)
*This is remote is simply not a genuine article. It is not a direct/exact/genuine copy of the one supplied upon purchasing a Sky Box.*

I bought this remote in mid December as my original Sky remote broke after dropping it (several times). So, seeing this alternative for £8.99, considerably cheaper than buying it elsewhere, I dived in. The remote arrived in good time for Christmas television. Upon receiving it, my family and I could instantly see this was a generic copy of our old remote - something I didn't have a problem with...until I began using it. Although, it was supplied with batteries and was already tuned for my Sony tv, it was clearly inferior. The buttons would stick in place and would often need to be bashed several times in order to change a channel. It also felt considerably more plastic and cheep, even tacky than the original remote.

Furthermore, after just 3 months of use, it has given up on us. I've tried changing batteries, re-programming it, everything, and yet nothing has worked! It has officially stopped working. I am not a happy customer, £8.99 plus postage I will not get back. This generic, tacky, plastic, and frankly useless piece of rubbish should be avoided like the plague. It is not a genuine article and is therefore clearly not reliable. I have had to shell out another £30 for a real remote from a local electronics retailer. You can instantly feel the difference. Much more weight to it, and the buttons do not stick in place, it is like silk in comparison.

So, in conclusion, please do not be tempted to purchase based on the positive reviews here. We'll see how many of them will still have a working remote in three or four months time. It is not a genuine replacement and will not perform like one. Shame on Amazon for continuing to sell faulty, generic products. Avoid like the plague!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 53 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Unreliable, 1 Dec 2011
This review is from: Sky+ Plus Remote Control Official Sky Branded Retail Packaging, 2x Duracell Batteries and Manual (Electronics)
The product was delivered very quickly after ordering.
No need to say much else as it is is standard Sky+ remote but after few weeks it stopped working. Changed batteries, no joy. Considering sending it back but don't have any information how to return the product or will they pay postage/packing.
Next time will buy from local retailer, at least I can take it back if it stops working within 12 months.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 52 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Genuine? Are you sure?, 28 Dec 2011
This review is from: Sky+ Plus Remote Control Official Sky Branded Retail Packaging, 2x Duracell Batteries and Manual (Electronics)
Seriously, did you get your staff to write all those positive reviews? This is NOT a genuine Sky+ remote. It deleted numerous recorded programmes when the buttons kept sticking, and came very close to being lobbed at the wall when it wouldn't select things properly again because of sticky buttons. Not a happy customer. Just spent another £25 at Curry's on a proper one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not impressed, 6 Mar 2012
This review is from: Sky+ Plus Remote Control Official Sky Branded Retail Packaging, 2x Duracell Batteries and Manual (Electronics)
recieved remote easy to set up .after only 2 days buttons starting sticking
,light kept staying on . then volume control stopped working . i will be buying
an original next time !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars don't buy this product from this supplier it does not work correctly., 12 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sky+ Plus Remote Control Official Sky Branded Retail Packaging, 2x Duracell Batteries and Manual (Electronics)
This product is a good copy of SKY product but it does not work corectly. The supplier even puts a little note in with the package asking you not to write a negative comment but to contact them if the product does not work (thats confident). I through mine in the bin and bought a genuine SKY product from ASDA HOME for £19.99
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't work, 15 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sky+ Plus Remote Control Official Sky Branded Retail Packaging, 2x Duracell Batteries and Manual (Electronics)
Doesn't work - soooooooo frustrating. My partner said this was too cheap to be any good - turned out he was right. Noooooooooooooo
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars sky +, 16 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sky+ Plus Remote Control Official Sky Branded Retail Packaging, 2x Duracell Batteries and Manual (Electronics)
the buttons on the remote do not work properly, they often stick and you have to apply a lot of pressure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Feels cheap, 15 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sky+ Plus Remote Control Official Sky Branded Retail Packaging, 2x Duracell Batteries and Manual (Electronics)
This remote works but when you press the buttons they feel like they are going to get stuck under the casing, some of them are flush with the casing and not raised above it slightly. Its feels like a cheap import hence the price and the possibly the meaning of the word "REVISED".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Only one star, could not give it less !, 8 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sky+ Plus Remote Control Official Sky Branded Retail Packaging, 2x Duracell Batteries and Manual (Electronics)
I had to send the first Remote back because it would not work, as promised. After assistance from the Sony Dealer this was rectified. Then it was intermittent in action and then would not switch off resulting in my losing several recorded programmes on SKY+. This was returned and a fresh one supplied. This also would not work properly and again would not switch off leaving me locked on to the last command.
This also has been returned. No offer of postages has been offered so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Ignored complaint about faulty item., 9 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sky+ Plus Remote Control Official Sky Branded Retail Packaging, 2x Duracell Batteries and Manual (Electronics)
I had to force the battery compartment open to insert the batteries. After putting batteries in the compartment would not close and is held in place with sellotape. I sent an e mail to the supplier but they did not reply. The item had no delivery note or return instructions so I am left with a faulty item which I find most distasteful to say the least. D. Ithell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 237 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews