Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop Black Friday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Amazon Fire TV Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop Now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars8
4.1 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Format: MP3 DownloadChange
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
on 11 July 2011
It would be really easy to dismiss Washed Out without so much as listening to the album. It seems like yet another internet hyped artist who will almost never deliver. However after Eyes Be Closed crept into my life unexpectedly after repeated plays on 6 Music, I found myself checking out the album stream on American station NPR's website. I have to admit i was more than pleasantly surprised.

Reminiscent of Panda Bear and Animal Collective, who ashamedly I have to admit I only discovered earlier this year, Within and Without is simply beautiful. Shimmery & sublime tunes to the highest standard and a beautiful soundtrack to a summers day, and even more so, owing to it's balaeric sound, an album sure to be played throughout Ibiza and the likes this summer and soundtracking many a sunset / sunrise in beachfront bars.

The single Eyes Be Closed is just a perfect opener to the album and deservedly is still being hammered across radio stations. Other stand out tracks include Echoes & Amor Fati, which both could easily pass as singles. The album flows beautifully and at no point does Washed out fall victim to any 'fillers'. However the truly stand out tune has to be A Dedication, which closes the almost euphoric and dreamlike sounding album in the most beautiful and fragile manor.

Hyped up and too cool for school one might say, but who cares. It lives up to the hype in my opinion and I'd urge all to check it out.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 4 December 2011
Sound is cleaner here than its previous releases, great dreamy atmospheric pop. Amor Fati is a killer song. Love this record
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 3 August 2011
Chillwave seems to be the musical movement at the moment. Influences such as Animal Collective are bandied about a lot but listening to this you are reminded more of Groove Armada's At The River. Thats the sound that Ernest Greene (aka Washed Out) seems to have gone for. It reminds you of the 80's, it reminds you of those chill-out CD's you have seen advertised on TV. The synth's are here as are the breathy vocals and the drums that sound like they have been stolen from Toto's Africa are also here. Ok - maybe I am going a bit far with Toto there but listen to the opening track Eyes Be Closed and tell me that I am wrong.
However, it sounds modern and whilst there might not be the out and out killer track here there is enough to distract you long enough to enjoy this for what it is. A throwback album of relaxing grooves. There are good tracks that being said and Amor Fati, Within and without and A Dedication seem to have impressed the most to this listener. You will be hearing this for some time to come.

Overall it isn't quite as good as it could be. There are some good tunes here but not enough to propel this into album of the year territory. Chillwave has arrived though and this is a good indication of what it can sound like at its best so far.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
on 13 July 2011
Not a complete disaster - there are one or two absolutely gorgeous songs on here after all - but a massive disappointment nonetheless. Rather than pushing the beatific 7am comedown sound of his (literally) awesome Life Of Leisure EP forwards, Ernest Greene has chosen to sidestep into a commercial comfort zone with this underwhelming debut LP. Oddly, much of it sounds like The Beta Band remixed by Röyksopp (a good idea in theory, but...), & the result is one of those records that you've completely forgotten 15 minutes after you've played it. It's getting great reviews in The Guardian, The Independent, etc - says it all really. Rest assured it'll be soundtracking every third rate C4/BBC3 docudrama you flcik past for the rest of the year... (The curse of Domino Records strikes yet again).
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2013
when I first heard this music, I was blown away by it's atmosphere and summery sounds, the only problem is the vocals
initially ok then after a while slightly irritating. Which is a real shame as the music is breath taking at times.
my message to the artist is instead of washed out it should be 'washed in'
a remix album with proper vocals
then you would have a major hit on your hands.
Hope you get the message.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2014
The Vinyl cover looks better than the image here. Text is relief rather than in white. Music is good ofc
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 11 July 2011
checked this album out on the guardian stream and what a wondrous record! i don't buy the `chillwave' tag but this is dream pop of the highest order and set to soundtrack my summer (if we ever get one). highly recommend it!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2014
its good
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Life of Leisure
Life of Leisure by Washed Out

Paracosm by Washed Out

Dive by Tycho

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.