Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A sublimely beautiful disc of sublimely beautiful music
This disc, first issued in 1984, focusses on a recording of the second of three versions Faure made of his Requiem. The first did not include two of the movements and was written for a smaller orchestra without violins, horns or trumpets. The second version from 1893 and recorded here incorporated these extra instruments in a limited but telling way and also included the...
Published 19 months ago by I. Giles

versus
1 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bad pitch on Sanctus
No, I can't recommend this recording because a violin solo is playing the theme on Sanctus part with a bad pitch.
Published 6 months ago by Ankarbranth Stefan


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A sublimely beautiful disc of sublimely beautiful music, 21 Dec 2012
By 
I. Giles (Argyll, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This disc, first issued in 1984, focusses on a recording of the second of three versions Faure made of his Requiem. The first did not include two of the movements and was written for a smaller orchestra without violins, horns or trumpets. The second version from 1893 and recorded here incorporated these extra instruments in a limited but telling way and also included the Offertoire and Libera Me missing from the first version. The third, and most often performed version was for full orchestra and larger choir.

The performance here uses the small orchestra as required by Faure and this is matched by a small choir of very great purity of tone. The horns have a small but vital role in the climax to the Libera me. This is far more effective than in many more opulent versions simply because of the contrast created between so little and then relatively so much. The important treble solo in the Pie Jesu is taken by solo soprano Caroline Ashton who sings with such a clarity that it is very hard to imagine that she is not a treble of great tonal quality and surety. The baritone soloist, Stephen Varcoe, sings his solo well.

The Cantique de Jean Racine is an early work of Faure written when he was just 20 winning him first prize in a competition. It has justifiably remained popular ever since. The remaining works on the disc are of similar quality but it will be for the Requiem that this disc is chosen.

I would suggest that, like John Rutter believes, this is the finest of the three settings created by Faure. As such it has strong claims on collectors and this is one of the finest performances of that setting made. The recording portrays its ethereal quality perfectly. A sublime disc in every way.

............................................

Some dialogue from the comments section that may offer further help:

I thought that you might like to know that before I buy a recording I now look through all the reviews to see if you have posted one. Your assessments and opinions are invaluable. Thank you. (US review)

I particularly like your format of review. They give the prospective purchaser an idea of the style of the playing and relevant comparisons. They are succinct. Keep up the good work! (UK review)

I'm sure there are many other serious collectors, besides myself, who wait for your synopsis and opinion before spending their hard-earned money on new releases...
Keep up the good work!
Thank you (UK review)

............................................
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great find, 27 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
At last after several tries, I've found a recording of this wonderful work by Faure which does justice to my first introduction to it. Excellent for all the right reasons. The Cambridge Singers are in tune with the mood here, and the other pieces (also Faure) complete the CD in compatible manner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pioneering recording nicely performed, 16 Aug 2012
By 
Bacchus (Greater London - Surrey) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Faure: Requiem - Messe basse (MP3 Download)
I first heard this recording when it first appeared in 1984. It was a pioneering account because it was the first recording of the 1893 chamber orchestra edition which John Rutter had rediscovered in the Biblioteque Nationale in Paris.

The version of the Requiem that most people had hitherto heard was the full orchestral version produced in 1900, that was probably undertaken by Jean Roger-Ducasse, one of Faure's pupils. This final version had 2 flutes, 2 clarinets, 3 trombones and a full complement of violins, which were not in the 1893 version on this recording. Instead of massed violins, there is a solitary violin in the 1893 orchestration.

The effect of listening to this version is a bit like listening to Handel's Messiah on original instruments. There is not the same bassiness of sound or portentous weight but something much more airy and intimate, just listen to the soaring solo violin passage in the Sanctus played an octave higher than in the usual version. There is weightiness in the Libera Me section and gorgeous horn sonorities in the Agnus Dei. It was so relevatory that Gramophone Magazine made it a record of the year when it first came out.

28 years on, how does it stand up? I have enjoyed hearing this recording again but on reflection, I do find it sounds rather too 'English' in presentation and I longed to hear some more bite. I think this is a very correct, very musical performance but I do want to hear more engagement with the material. The soprano soloist Caroline Ashton sounds sweetly choirboyish and the baritone, Stephen Varcoe's voice is a little grey. However, I think it was a very worthwhile venture and I am sure that there are other recordings of this version of the Requiem that have been recorded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful recording, 30 Oct 2010
By 
K. K. Jakubczyk "Sofa King" (Subversive Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this CD on the strength of the recent BBC Magazine recommendation. I am very pleased that I did. This is a beautiful recording of a wonderful piece of music. John Rutter's presence is an added bonus. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Faure:, 24 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Absolutely beautiful music played fabulously. This takes you up and into a spiritual realm and soothes and calms and allows you to release emotions safely. Very moving.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fauré Requiem Cambridge SIngers John Rutter, 8 Nov 2012
By 
Father P. J. Addison (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Faure: Requiem - Messe basse (MP3 Download)
Fauré's Requiem always moves the listener. Cambridge Singers with John Rutter always bring a tonality that takes the listener right inside the music, a profoundly spiritual experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value -, 10 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i
Faure Requiem and other items,

This CD was excellent value and a CD I always wanted, having sung it with a local choir several times. One of my favourite Requiems and I think a lot of other's favourite as well. If not heard before it is well worth listening to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heavenly music, 17 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Heavenly music, heavenly performed! Need one say more? A bargain!
I would recommend this CD to anyone who likes choral music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pleasant, 3 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I do not think that this is the best interpretation or the best quality recording of Faure's fabulous Requiem, but it is still a lovely piece of work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of my eight Desert Island Discs, no question, 3 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the chamber version of the well-known Faure Requiem and in this form the work has a purity and poignancy that is incomparably beautiful. I now find the more familiar full orchestral version somewhat overblown by comparison. This is music I have given on two occasions to bereaved friends, and both found it almost uniquely consoling. The other works on the disc, especially the sublime Cantique de Jean Racine, are equally captivating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews