Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars fitting tribute to Sir Charles Mackerras
What a terrific opportunity to see this ballet and listen to Sir Charles' masterly arrangement of Sullivans music - Pineapple Poll is full of light-hearted comedy, fully realised by The Royal Ballet, and David Blair is a very suave and nimble footed Captain Belaye. The lady and the Fool is new to me, but again, a lovely mix of Verdis music and superb dancing with...
Published on 28 Nov 2011 by gina grey

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Black and White!
I was surprised to find this was in Black and White as it needs colour to improve the spectacle. Pineapple Poll was amusing but relatively the sound quality was poor.
Published 8 months ago by Seaman


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars fitting tribute to Sir Charles Mackerras, 28 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mackerras/ Cranko (The Lady And The Fool/ Pineapple Poll) [DVD] [2011] [NTSC] (DVD)
What a terrific opportunity to see this ballet and listen to Sir Charles' masterly arrangement of Sullivans music - Pineapple Poll is full of light-hearted comedy, fully realised by The Royal Ballet, and David Blair is a very suave and nimble footed Captain Belaye. The lady and the Fool is new to me, but again, a lovely mix of Verdis music and superb dancing with Beriosova as the lady, a good story, but somehow Crankos choreography is not as vibrant as in Pineapple Poll.
Well done for retrieving this from the BBC archives - a real piece of ballet history - but I have a suspicion the BBC also broadcast Pineapple Poll in later years, this time in colour, again with David Blair as Belaye - shame that could not also be restored and shown.
As this was filmed in 1959 it is in black and white which is disappointing, but it is such a pleasure to see this lovely ballet again one must make the most of it and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Something to treasure, 27 July 2012
This review is from: Mackerras/ Cranko (The Lady And The Fool/ Pineapple Poll) [DVD] [2011] [NTSC] (DVD)
For anyone who saw Svetlana Beriosova dance, or anyone who wants to see what Royal Ballet quality was like in earlier decades, this is a rewarding DVD. In Cranko's trite but effective piece, Beriosova brings warmth, grandeur and poignancy to her role. Her dancing is just luscious! Merle Park, before she became a leading ballerina, is a lot of fun in Pineapple Poll, too. But it's Beriosova in The Lady and the Fool who makes this disc a winner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Black and White!, 26 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mackerras/ Cranko (The Lady And The Fool/ Pineapple Poll) [DVD] [2011] [NTSC] (DVD)
I was surprised to find this was in Black and White as it needs colour to improve the spectacle. Pineapple Poll was amusing but relatively the sound quality was poor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars HIstorical document, 28 Oct 2013
By 
Pobble (Bristol UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mackerras/ Cranko (The Lady And The Fool/ Pineapple Poll) [DVD] [2011] [NTSC] (DVD)
I am delighted to have these two ballets but watching them makes you realise how much things have improved in the last 50 years of so - and I don't just mean the technology. Mackerras's arrangements of Verdi's music and Sullivan's is a joy to listen to but it would be even better with a decent modern recording - but then I doubt that the Royal Ballet would want to consider these gems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars although quite old I enjoyed it, 12 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mackerras/ Cranko (The Lady And The Fool/ Pineapple Poll) [DVD] [2011] [NTSC] (DVD)
It is all Gilbert and Sullivan all put together to a lively ballet.. Wish there was a latter performance by Royal Ballet
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars PIty it's not colouriused., 20 Jan 2012
This review is from: Mackerras/ Cranko (The Lady And The Fool/ Pineapple Poll) [DVD] [2011] [NTSC] (DVD)
I am old enough to have gone to the first night of Pineapple Poll at Sadlers Wells, I may have also gone to the first night of Lady and the Fool so this DVD brings back many happy memories. They both were both such colorful ballets that it is a pity that an attempt was not made to culourise the disk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing., 17 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mackerras/ Cranko (The Lady And The Fool/ Pineapple Poll) [DVD] [2011] [NTSC] (DVD)
Unaware it was in black and white, very disappointing.
Would not have purchased had i known this,
Would not recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Lady & The Fool/Pineapple Poll, 22 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mackerras/ Cranko (The Lady And The Fool/ Pineapple Poll) [DVD] [2011] [NTSC] (DVD)
A superb recording of two brilliant ballets. The music is crystal clear and the recording would make a welcome addition to anyone's collection. Warmly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mackerras/ Cranko (The Lady And The Fool/ Pineapple Poll) [DVD] [2011] [NTSC]
19.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews