Customer Reviews


345 Reviews
5 star:
 (196)
4 star:
 (65)
3 star:
 (40)
2 star:
 (23)
1 star:
 (21)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


249 of 261 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A book of two halves
This seems to me to be a book of two halves. In the first half, Ferris gives a step by step action plan for eliminating non-essential work, outsourcing a lot of the remaining work, and giving a detailed blueprint for designing, test-running and developing an 'automated' on-line businesses (or businesses) - that is, a business whereby most of the functions are performed by...
Published on 4 Jun. 2008 by R. Reed

versus
544 of 573 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Directions for Hiding from the Boss, Starting an Automated Internet Business, and Being a Global Vagabond
Did you know that if the trends of the last two centuries hold, everyone's workweek will be four hours by 2407? What will people do with all that free time? It's a good question that this book recommends you consider.

Mr. Ferriss does a favor for those who hate their jobs but cannot find work they like by explaining how you can still draw a salary while working...
Published on 10 Sept. 2007 by Donald Mitchell


‹ Previous | 123 24 2535 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gives you a different perspective on your life... worth it for that alone, 26 Nov. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Take a different look at how you work, then change your life. This book is brilliant. Even if you don't follow everything it suggests, it will help you gain a different perspective on what you do.

Jason Sullock, Author of 555 Quick n Dirty Marketing Tips
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thought provoking and brave, 4 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
When I first opened this book, I wasn't quite sure what to expect, though I was very intrigued. So far, I'm getting a lot out of it, and it's definitely making me think and inspiring me to make some definite changes in my life. Tim's style is occasionally slightly sarcastic, which takes a little getting used to, and some of the suggestions may be morally questionable to some. Also, if you employ the techniques inside, do not expect to become popular in the office. In fact, I suspect quite the opposite will happen, but if you're looking to become more efficient, and question your current priorities, this will definitely deliver some unique, and quite unexpected suggestions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ignore the nay sayers!, 18 Dec. 2010
Forget the negative reviews! I have implemented many of the concepts in this book with great effect and continue to do so. Dont look at it as a "how to" to be followed word for word but as a guide out of the norm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, 6 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Doesn't read well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 2 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good value product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 17 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Whilst some reviews have poo pooed the ideas highlighted in Timothy Ferris' updated book, I think they are missing the point. It provides information and a method for living our lives differently from the norm. This no doubt scares some people. It definitely gives some pause for thought, not just based on theory but with practical examples and up to date resources. The fact there is a thriving community on the 4HWW blog is testament to the fact there are quite a few people who are living the dream. I've already recommended the book to a number of friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I've bought it 3 times, 4 July 2010
Although this book contains some of the "vagueness" inherent in any business/ lifestyle design tome (I'm thinking along the lines of "Think and Grow Rich", "Rich Dad, Poor Dad" etc), Tim Ferriss does give you a very real, logical and do-able blueprint for success. You really have to take your hand off to Ferriss, if he has actually achieved more working his 4-hours than most of us do with a 40-hour week.

Give this book a chance! I've bought it and then sold it three times. Every time I sell it I regret doing so and end up buying it all over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Book would recommend to anyone open to changing their life!, 6 Sept. 2010
I'd been recommended this book by a couple of people and finally got round to purchasing it and it's the best book I've read in quite a while (and I read a lot!!) The style is humorous and very easy-listening, with clear exercises throughout to help you break through some of your barriers.

If you're looking for something new in your life or some inspiration this is a fantastic starting point. I'm now on my 3rd listen and can see it'll definately be one I'll revisit time and time again when I need to re-motivate myself.

Would highly recommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 4 Hour Work Week - Tim Ferriss, 31 Mar. 2011
In the world of self-promotion, Tim Ferriss is a phenomenon and a legend. In the world of working lifestyle change, he is one of the beacons of the alternative working lifestyle movement. Most of us will have heard of his blog and book "The 4-hour Work Week" and thought that there was a catch. And maybe there is. But the catch is that you have to get out of the comfortable rut that we all find ourselves in, and try something new in the hope that it will chance your life.

The book is derived from the successful blog of the same name, and is grouped into four main areas:

Definitition - Where you reset your lifestyle choices, and decide what you really want to do.

Elimination - Where the non-productive aspects of your life are removed so that you can focus on the important stuff.

Automation - Where the boring (but important stuff) is outsourced so that you concentrate on the interesting stuff.

Liberation - Where you finally make the leap into a new lifestyle.

The book is a series of mini-examples which guide you through the process of changing from living to work, to working to live. This is a book that can give you a new lease of life that ultimately benefits you and the people around you. The challenge is not what you need to do to maintain a 4-hour lifestyle, rather the courage you need to make that leap from a comfortable 8-hour/day routine. This is the book that might just change your life and make it happen.

Go on and do it, because you might find it actually works!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Much Ado About Nothing!!!!, 4 Sept. 2013
Mr. Ferriss forgot saying something much more important:

why not to try seriously to make a living with your hobbies / passions?

QUESTION:

Statistically, are there many more people who have managed to set up a successful online Muse (and in so doing they will make enough money to finance their hobbies/passions) or are there many more people who are happy in doing a job that truly satisfies their lives from a personal and financial point of view?

In the U.S., only 20% of the working population makes a living with a job that truly satisfies their lives from a personal and financial point of view!!

On the other hand, it isn't true at all that even 20% of those who start online businesses can create a successful online Muse that becomes a cash cow to finance their passions and / or hobbies!!!!

Hence, the things he wrote in this book are just lies, smoke, sold in industrial quantities to make money!!

In other words, statistics speak for themselves and from a technical point of view, even for a person who is just a bit honest , it is very, very difficult ( almost Mission Impossible! ) to set up those kinds of online businesses that allows you undemanding updates but very consistent yields!!!!

Best regards.

Fab

PS if you want to make money online seriously and honestly, here are the best principles by Seth Godin:

[...]

Totally different in comparison with the big lies told by Tim Ferriss and his fans!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 123 24 2535 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews