Customer Reviews


97 Reviews
5 star:
 (73)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magic!
This concert exceeds my expectations by far. The line-up of star guests is impressive, the orchestra is fabulous and Bocelli himself simply stunning. Condidering that the concert was aimed at a 60,000-strong audience, the balance between opera and non-classical material is just right.

Andrea's rendition of 'Amazing Grace' is just that - amazing. All the opera...
Published on 29 Nov 2011 by Annie

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars a little disappointing
I don't like the fact that his management seem to want to turn him into a "pop" star, not,who he is
Published 8 months ago by expat


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magic!, 29 Nov 2011
This concert exceeds my expectations by far. The line-up of star guests is impressive, the orchestra is fabulous and Bocelli himself simply stunning. Condidering that the concert was aimed at a 60,000-strong audience, the balance between opera and non-classical material is just right.

Andrea's rendition of 'Amazing Grace' is just that - amazing. All the opera arias and duets are sung with great passion and style by both Andrea and his guests, and Andrea sounds better than ever. Another wonderful performance is 'Aranjuez'. The mix of old favourites and new surprises is spot on. Beautifully done, yet again, Andrea!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


61 of 63 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ANDREA BOCELLI & FRIENDS SOAR OVER CENTRAL PARK!, 15 Nov 2011
By 
RSProds "rbsprods" (Deep in the heart of Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Concerto: One Night In Central Park (Audio CD)
Five ENCHANTING Stars! What a night of marvelous music by Andrea Bocelli & friends on the Great Lawn in Central Park before an enthusiastic audience! On this 2011 recording, the 53 year old master tenor virtuoso, the biggest selling artist in classical music history, sings many of his most famous and marvelous operatic arias and once again demonstrates his ability to 'cross over' with ease, with an all-star international cast of individual guests, supported by maestro Alan Gilbert and the New York Philharmonic with the Westminster Symphonic Choir. All performances are uniformly excellent and range from tour de force arias from well-known operas by the likes of Verde and Pucinni to inspired familiar religious favorites ("Amazing Grace" and "Ave Maria"), jaunty popular English and Italian hits, songs from movie soundtracks, and a movement from Joaquin Rodrigo's masterwork concierto. Indeed, the operatic arias "La donna è mobile", "Di quella pira", "O soave fanciulia", "O Sole Mio", a fabulous "Vicino A Te S'acqueta" with Grammy-winning Puerto Rican soprano Ana Maria Martinez; and the showstopper of Act 1 "Libiamo Ne' Lieti Calici" (with the trio of South Africa's Zulu soprano phenom Pretty Yende, Ana Maria again, and Welsh bass-baritone Bryn Terfel) are sublime performances. In addition, there are other performances of note: the soaring version of the Golden Globe-winning duet with Celine Dion of "The Prayer", and Andrea singing the English lyric to the haunting Ennio Morricone love theme from Sergio Leone's epic spaghetti western "Once Upon A Time in the West". Other favorites are the lively, but bumpy duet with Tony Bennett on "New York, New York", Chris Botti on trumpet and David Foster's piano on "More" (the theme from the movie "Mondo Cane"), and Scottish violin star Nicola Benedetti's blazing passages on "En Aranjuez Con Tu Amor" from Rodrigo's "Concierto de Aranjuez". And perhaps best of all, Andrea's true solo 'goose bump' show stopper "Nessun dorma" which elicits screams from the audience on the altissimo passages as the choir joins in later. What a great night of music! Bravo, Andrea and friends! My Highest Recommendation. Five MARVELOUS Stars! (17 tracks; Time ~ 73m:10s)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent entertainment, 10 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought as a present for my wife, we both thoroughly enjoyed the dvd Bocelli as usual an excellent relaxed performer supported by super entertainment stars, it all captures what must have been a fantastic atmosphere in NY. Will watch and enjoy many times. Cd is now stored in my wifes car Cd player, no chance of borrowing that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best album to date, 4 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Concerto: One Night In Central Park (Audio CD)
I could listen to this CD all day every day as the music is beautiful and has many special artists featured.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely old job!, 6 Jan 2012
By 
Sean Reilly (London, UK.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My dad loves bocelli, his smooth tones help to ease the ache of his bones! Arrived in good time from Switzerland and must recommend because of that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars so good, 18 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Concerto: One Night In Central Park (Audio CD)
yes got this for mother in law she loves this man he is a great singer so proud of him
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Andrea Bocelli CD - Concerto - One Night in Central Park., 23 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Concerto: One Night In Central Park (Audio CD)
This CD is Excellent. The CD was a birthday present for a family member who was Highly Delighted with it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great recording of one of my favourite singers, 15 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Concerto: One Night In Central Park (Audio CD)
Again, after ordering this item, the confirmation came, and it was delivered promptly and efficiently. It is a wonderful concert, with many of my favourite songs by a great artist and other contributors which I love. I have most of Andrea's CDs and they never disappoint, there is always something new and fresh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magic!!, 15 Nov 2011
This review is from: Concerto: One Night In Central Park (Audio CD)
This album exceeds my expectations! It features a great cast of star guests, and Bocelli himself is simply stunning, both in his operatic arias and his non-classical performances. I can never understand why he is treated with such venom by some classical music critics. Perhaps they just cannot accept an artist who has a style and sound all his own. Fortunately, most of us don't need the critics to make up our minds for us!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Concerto: One Night In Central Park (Audio CD)
GOOD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Concerto: One Night In Central Park
Concerto: One Night In Central Park by Andrea Bocelli (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews