Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film!
People say this is a French 'Taken' which isn't really accurate. Sure, a man's pregnant wife gets kidnapped but the husband is not ex CIA and just a normal run of the mill person.
I thought it was extremely good though, it was fast paced throughout with good twists through the film that didn't need a lot of brainpower to stick with.
World cinema is where it's at...
Published 15 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars French 'Die Hard' that could have tried harder
This is a French crime thriller which has borrowed a bit from the `Die Hard' franchise. It tells the story of trainee nurse Samuel Pierret (Gilles Lellouche), whose wife is very heavily pregnant. One night a man is taken into the Hospital after he has suffered a stomach laceration and been run over by a (quite fast) motorbike. He is on a ventilator, and not in a good way...
Published on 2 Nov 2011 by Tommy Dooley


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film!, 31 May 2013
This review is from: Point Blank [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
People say this is a French 'Taken' which isn't really accurate. Sure, a man's pregnant wife gets kidnapped but the husband is not ex CIA and just a normal run of the mill person.
I thought it was extremely good though, it was fast paced throughout with good twists through the film that didn't need a lot of brainpower to stick with.
World cinema is where it's at lately with a lot of good films being made that don't have to bow down to the clichéd Hollywood stereotypes which in turn opens doors to good inventive films like this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Great Purchase!!, 27 Nov 2013
By 
P. Hulme - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Point Blank [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
I did see this film on TV and thought it was really good. I was sorry I had not recorded it. I went on "Amazon" my trusty site and there it was . So I quickly bought it. Great film! Really exciting. I do so like these foreign films, I have got used to the sub titles, I do not even notice them now. There is so much more about these films than ours. (Sorry don't want to offend)
I must add, whilst on the subject, I thought "Spiral" was the best ever, and I am very impatiently waiting for Series five. I really like "The Protectors" and of course, do not forget "inspector Montalbano" that is a MUST.
My seller was "Brill" arrived nearly before I ordered it and in great condition.
Regards "Pam.
Thank You Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Routine but exciting and well-made action movie, 14 Aug 2013
By 
still searching (MK UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Point Blank [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
This has nothing to do with the classic Lee Marvin movie of the same name: there is nothing enigmatic or deep about it at all. Basically, it's the story of a home and (very pregnant) wife loving everyman who happens to be in the wrong place at the wrong time as all hell breaks loose about him! How he tries to extricate himself from this `unfortunate' situation forms the basis of the plot, which is full of criminal nasties and crooked cops so it's a job for him and us to know exactly who can be trusted!

Despite being slightly cliched, it's a brilliantly made thrill a minute movie which manages to be engaging, entertaining and oddly humorous - in parts!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unusual, all action, 19 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Point Blank [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Really getting to like Roschdy Zem films. This film was a little like 'Taken' but you can take away the Hollywood rubbish of a guy who just happens to be a CIA agent. Put in his shoes a normal guy that will do anything to get back the woman he loves after she gets kidnapped.
The film is non stop action, the only possible criticism would be that the film was just too short!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars French 'Die Hard' that could have tried harder, 2 Nov 2011
By 
Tommy Dooley (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Point Blank [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
This is a French crime thriller which has borrowed a bit from the `Die Hard' franchise. It tells the story of trainee nurse Samuel Pierret (Gilles Lellouche), whose wife is very heavily pregnant. One night a man is taken into the Hospital after he has suffered a stomach laceration and been run over by a (quite fast) motorbike. He is on a ventilator, and not in a good way. Someone cuts the life saving tube and he starts to suffocate. Samuel spots it just in time and saves the mans life.

That was a big mistake; this guy is a wanted high calibre thief - Hugo Sartet (Roscidy Zem). His compatriots have followed Samuel home and then decide to take his wife hostage and force him to `spring' their boss (who has made a miraculous recovery). Samuels wife has been told she is in danger of losing the baby and has to spend the rest of her pregnancy lying down, so this brutal interruption sends Sam a bit desperate. It turns out the docs were wrong as she is able to do all sorts of derring do. He then decides to do all it takes to get her back.

He goes back into work (after a night shift) and puts a rather crude plan into operation, meanwhile the Gendarmes have taken fingerprints from the unknown guy and are heading back to ask some pesky questions. The cops are also investigating the murder of an uber rich business guy, but are the matters linked?

Well this tries to avoid formulaic plot developments, and has some brilliant touches. I liked the French police driving Alfa Romeos. There is an however, and that is the number of plot holes. If you just go with the flow, then this is an excellent action movie, with full throttle action, double crosses and plot twists, but the contrivances just took something away for me.

I am a big fan of World Cinema and especially love European Cinema and I think Director Fred Cavaye has done an above average job, but some of the artifice he uses means that this is hard to take that seriously. If you want to suspend belief for 84 mins, with full on action, some blood and guts and some really rather good performances from all involved, then this will tick your boxes, if you thought `Anything For Her'Anything For Her [DVD] [2008] was a bit of a stretch, then best to avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 9 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Point Blank [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
Very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Thrills and spills, 27 May 2014
By 
Mr. S. Storey "eats beans" (not at work) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Point Blank [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
Familiar characters carry this gritty, fast paced action thriller and the unfamiliar French locations lend a stark urban setting to the proceedings. Giles Lellouche plays an everyman hero, forcefully coerced into a dark criminal underworld where greed blurs the line between good and bad. I found him an appealing lead, very easy to route for when the chips are down. Despite being a run of the mill thriller, there is some creative flair on show, an exciting foot chase in the underground is rather good and a pivotal scene which is given to the viewer out of sequence are the kind of touches I especially like. Roshidi Zem again carries himself with leading man gravitas, his worldly face and ice cold eyes belie something of a quiet rage; I hope to see him in more weighty fare in time to come. I can forgive action thrillers most things and did so again during the final reel when the screenplay, althought exciting, veered towards the outrageous!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Besson should take notes...., 1 Feb 2014
This review is from: Point Blank [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Samuel Pierret is a nursing assistant who saves the wrong guy -- a thief whose henchmen take Samuel's pregnant wife hostage to force him to spring their boss from the hospital.

A race through the subways and streets of Paris ensues, and the body count rises.

Can Samuel evade the cops and the criminal underground and deliver his beloved to safety?......

at just nearly ninety minutes long, this movie doesn't give you time to catch your breath. It's as if someone has been watching those ever increasingly silly Besson produced movies, and made it realistic and plausible.

It's shot well, and the cast are magnificent in their respective roles. It never gets boring, and the short running time time doesn't leave the narrative redundant.

And despite the many plot twists, it's rich in its storytelling.

Forget Taken 2, and see this, you'll thank yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Have you ever wondered..?, 24 Jan 2014
This review is from: Point Blank [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
If you have ever wondered what would happen if a 'normal' person got caught up in an action thriller, then here it is. The film is short at 81 minutes but packs a punch and is thoroughly entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Profondément formulaic., 1 Sep 2013
This review is from: Point Blank [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
French cinema tends to do it better than anything Hollywood can churn out.

In this extremely well put together offering they do it again. Although it appears that many French directors/producers seem to have a penchant for 'bent' police dramas, and there have been many, this one, although in the slightly formulaic genre of innocent on the run, does deliver, although not in the same vein as,say,the superb 'Spiral' it is still very worthy of your time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Point Blank [DVD] [2011]
Point Blank [DVD] [2011] by Fred Cavayé (DVD - 2011)
£2.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews