Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Integrity
Boris Hembry tells the story of life on the rubber plantations of Malaya just as it was before the war. His ongoing account of the activities of the planters and their associates during the ensuing hostilities defies belief. A remarkable book.
Published on 16 Feb 2012 by Umslopogas

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for Malaysian History enthusiasts, but can I suggest some alternative reads!
Good for malaysian History enthusiasts!

Hembry wrote this as a family history record - and the family then later published it. This is both its strength and weakness.

Those in search of the "spymaster" narrative don't want to hear the names of their house, dog, neighbours, car. Equally uninformative are the rubber planting arguments with...
Published 2 months ago by Paul C


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Integrity, 16 Feb 2012
Boris Hembry tells the story of life on the rubber plantations of Malaya just as it was before the war. His ongoing account of the activities of the planters and their associates during the ensuing hostilities defies belief. A remarkable book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Good and the Bad, 26 Oct 2013
By 
J. F. Kantor "Jim" (Mortain, France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Malayan Spymaster: Memoirs of a Rubber Planter, Bandit Fighter and Spy (Kindle Edition)
The author doesn't pull any punches when he talks about the performance of the colonialist institutions. British individuals come out rather better than British institutions and it is a fascinating insight into pre-war and post-war attitudes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Malayan spymaster was an excellent book, 7 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Malayan Spymaster: Memoirs of a Rubber Planter, Bandit Fighter and Spy (Kindle Edition)
This book for anyone who has lived in Malaya is a Must. How a young man did so many things in a lifetime was amazing. He also chose a wife who was willing and capable to share all the hardships, constant moving, danger and endless separations to be his Helpmate in all of these adventures. I could not put it down. Not only is it a multi adventure story, but it is of a life well lived, serviing his country and helping Malaysia to be the success it is. All down to people like Boris Hembry
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spymaster, 23 Oct 2011
This book a first class biography about a little known subject and unsung heros, is written without pretension. A must read for anyone interested in the history of Malaya and the presence of the British. The adventures of Boris Hembry as a Bandit and Spy make exciting reading, his narrow escapes from death are played down with dry humor by the author, Not only a good story by an intelligent and brave man but a part of our history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good for Malaysian History enthusiasts, but can I suggest some alternative reads!, 7 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good for malaysian History enthusiasts!

Hembry wrote this as a family history record - and the family then later published it. This is both its strength and weakness.

Those in search of the "spymaster" narrative don't want to hear the names of their house, dog, neighbours, car. Equally uninformative are the rubber planting arguments with business rivals etc. While for social historians and family memories I can appreciate that these are crucial.

Hembry's witness to the Malaysian occupation in WW2 and subsequent communist emergency is why readers will probably buy this book. So a more forceful editor could have turned this into a greater book.

Don't read this if this is your first search for the story of the occupation and emergency. Instead read the mesmerising account of hiding from the Japanese for 3 years in "The jungle is neutral" by Frederick Spencer Chapman and the page-turning "The War of the Running Dogs: Malaya 1948-1960" by Noel Barber, both six star reads by my rating!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Malayan Spymaster review, 9 May 2014
By 
Mr. P. J. Howarth (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Malayan Spymaster: Memoirs of a Rubber Planter, Bandit Fighter and Spy (Kindle Edition)
A fascinating read, clear and easy to read, a different insight into the troubles of the time, well worth reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read memoir, 20 Mar 2014
This review is from: Malayan Spymaster: Memoirs of a Rubber Planter, Bandit Fighter and Spy (Kindle Edition)
This book is by far the best memoirs I have read on par with the famous book 'The Judgle is Neutral" by Major Spencer Chapman. A must read if one is keen to learn about colonial life, guerilla war in WW 2 and life in the plantation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Malayan Spymaster, 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Malayan Spymaster: Memoirs of a Rubber Planter, Bandit Fighter and Spy (Kindle Edition)
So truthful and evocative of those times. I was there and once met Boris Hembry.
What a man !!

selamat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Malayan Spymaster, 2 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Malayan Spymaster: Memoirs of a Rubber Planter, Bandit Fighter and Spy (Kindle Edition)
This was an excellent book which I read with great interest as my husband had served in Malaya as it was then, and we spent many happy years there. My sister was married to a planter and I know she and he would have enjoyed it greatly especially as he would have known some of the characters mentioned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfully nostalgic and absorbing, well written, 3 Mar 2012
By 
Wilhelm Snyman "Wilhelm Snyman" (Cape Town, W Cape South Africa) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A wonderfully sincere foray into another era, written with a charming, self-effacing dignity. Captures the atmosphere of another time with great tenderness without being sentimental. Gripping as well. Well worth it and very rewarding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews